
COLLISON RECORDS REPORT REQUESTS 
 
QUESTION: How do I get a copy of a collision report? 
You may visit our website below to access Washington Requests for Electronic Collision 
Reports (WRECR) or to obtain an application and mail it with your check or money order 
($10.50 per report) to:  
 

Washington State Patrol 
Collision Records Section 

PO Box 47382 
Tumwater, WA 98501 

 
To access WRECR online, go to http://www.wsp.wa.gov/publications/collision.htm. 
Click the link to request a copy of a collision report online. WRECR will provide the option to pay 
using a Visa or MasterCard, or via the Automated Clearing House (ACH) from your checking 
account.  
 
The $10.50 fee will only be charged to your account if a report is located in the database. Once 
you locate and pay for a copy of the collision report, it will be sent to you in two emails. The first 
email is a receipt with your five digit request identification number. The second email will contain 
the link to print the collision report and overlay which will help explain the codes found on the 
report.  
 
If the collision was recent, you may not be able to locate a report. It can take two to four weeks 
for law enforcement to provide the report to the Collision Records Section.  
 
If you are unable to locate a report, please check back in a few days. If you are still unable to 
retrieve a report, please call the Collision Records Section for assistance at (360) 570-2355 or 
email a customer service representative at collisionrecords@wsp.wa.gov   
 
The Collision Records Section also fills requests at our business counter. You will need to 
complete the application and pay the fee. We accept checks, money orders, or cash. If you 
choose this option please follow these instructions:  

http://www.wsp.wa.gov/publications/collision.htm
mailto:collisionrecords@wsp.wa.gov


QUESTION: Where do I go to get the overlay sheet mentioned above? 
The overlay sheet is a reference tool used to assist in reading and understanding the side code 
numbers on the police traffic collision report form.  You can access the overlay sheet by clicking 
here.   
 
It is also available on our website at www.wsp.wa.gov/publications/collision.htm. Click on 
“Requesting a Collision Report” and then “Overlay Sheet”.  
 
 
QUESTION: Where do I go to get help using the online application WRECR?  
On the WRECR website in the top left of the page you will find a tab that reads HELP. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  
 
 
 
The help screen will provide you with screen shots and lead you through the process of 
requesting and obtaining a report online. Training can also be accessed by clicking here. 
  
QUESTION: What is the definition of involved parties?  
An involved party is any persons who are directly involved or interested in any incident. Below 
are the definitions of each type of involved party:  
Driver Involved: An occupant who is in actual physical control of a transport vehicle. For an out 
of control vehicle, an occupant who was in control until control was lost.  
Legal Guardian: The personal representative of the person or estate of an incompetent or 
disabled person as defined in RCW 11.88.010.  
Parent of a Minor: The mother, father, stepmother, or stepfather of a minor whether or not they 
have lawful custody.  
Injured Passenger: A passenger is any occupant of a vehicle other than its driver. A 
pedalcyclist passenger is any occupant of a pedalcycle. Occupants of other vehicle types who 
are not the operator or driver (i.e. airplane, snowmobile, golf cart etc.).   
Other Person Injured in the Collision: A pedestrian is any person who is not an occupant of a 
vehicle or pedalcyclist.  
Owner of Property Damaged: Property is any physical object, real property, personal property, 
animal (wild or domestic), sign, guardrail, impact attenuator, light post, concert barrier, etc.  
Owner of Vehicle Damaged: Owner(s) of vehicle(s) involved in the collision, including both the 
legal and registered owner.  
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http://www.wsp.wa.gov/publications/forms/ptcr_overlay.pdf
http://www.wsp.wa.gov/publications/collision.htm
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Insurer of Party Involved: Insurer, secondary insurer, as defined in RCW 11.02.005.  
Attorney of Driver or Injured Passenger: Attorney, a person legally appointed by another to 
act as his or her agent in the transaction of business, specifically one qualified and licensed to 
act for plaintiffs and defendants in legal proceedings as defined in RCW 11.02.005.  
Other Authorized Rep: Third party representatives of any authorized party, including attorneys 
and insurance companies, with written authorization signed by the attorney or an authorized 
representative of the insurance company to act as their representative. (To utilize this selection 
requires a contract with WSP).  
Government Agency: Federal, state, and local agencies authorized by statute to obtain 
collision information for their official use. 
 

QUESTION: How do I navigate once I complete the current page I am on in WRECR?  
On the first page you will need to complete the Name/Date Search field first. If you were 
involved in a collision and you need a copy of your collision report (but you do not know your 
collision number) enter your name and the date of your collision. The county is optional; 
however, if you know the county, please complete the field. The search button will start the 
search process for your collision. When you find your report, select the shopping cart. A green 
dot with a check mark will appear in the cart. Select the Continue button at the bottom right 
hand side of the page. This will move you forward to the next step of requesting your report. 
 
Now all pages will have a Continue button to the right side of the page and a Previous button 
to select to return you to the last page. At the top of each page are bread crumbs that highlight 
as you move forward through the process. You can select the completed bread crumb to move 
back to any section you have completed. You cannot move forward in the process. Do not use 
the navigation arrows on your web browser. 
  
QUESTION: Why do I have to pay $10.50?  
The Collision Records Section is directed by RCW 46.52.085 to recover the costs for 
maintenance of the record.  
 


