QUESTION: How much does the report cost and why is there a cost?

The cost for each report is $10.50 (nonrefundable). It is a law enacted by State of
Washington requiring Collision Records to collect this fee. Any information authorized
for release under RCW 46.52.080 and 46.52.083 may be furnished in written form for a
fee sufficient to meet, but not exceed, the costs incurred. All fees received by the
Washington state patrol for such copies shall be deposited in the Motor Vehicle fund.

QUESTION: How do | search for my report?

For best results put the last name and date of collision only. When the search returns
look for your full name and verify that the location and all the information is correct
before adding the report to your chart. You can also search by the report number not a
case number.

QUESTION: What are the different types of reports in WRECR?

e OMVCR (Online Motor Vehicle Collision Report) is a system for citizens to report
collision online when there is no officer at the scene. These reports will either
start with a C or M follow by some numbers. Only entitled parties under RCW
46.52.080 or their attorney or insurance company are entitled.

e SECTOR these are police reports that are filed electronically and will start with
the letter E followed by six numbers.

e PTCR these are hand written officers reports and the report numbers are seven
digits long.

*NOTE: the system does not search by case numbers (example 17-154 or 2017-
154)

QUESTION: What if | don’t recall when the collision occurred or | don’t recall
being in a collision?

Go to Department of Licensing at http://www.dol.wa.gov and get a copy of your Driver’s
Abstract/Record, this will list all collisiosn you have been in and provide a report
number. When searching our system with report number provided leave the W off.

QUESTION: What does involved party mean?

This means what is your involvement in the collision:
e If you select attorney list your clients name
e If you select insurer list your clients name and policy number
e Driver involved: you were the driver at the time of collision (does not mean at
fault)
e Other: you are not involved in the collision


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.52.080
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.52.083
http://www.dol.wa.gov/

The DPPA must be signed and completed by the person requesting the collision report.

QUESTION: Why do | have to sign the DPPA and which box do | choose?

Collision Records Section cannot advise you on which box to choose. The Driver’s
Privacy and Protection ACT (DPPA) is a certification under penalty of perjury that the
information sought for one of the fourteen permissible purposes under the DDPA 18
U.S.C 2721(b). If you select the refuse to sign box a redacted report will be provided.

QUESTION: Why can’t | find my report?

Reports may take up to 2-4 weeks from the date of collision to be available online or in
person. There is a nightly feed, please check the system once a day. At the end of the
4 weeks and no report is found, contact the originating agency that came to the scene
of the collision.

QUESTION: Why is there no witness statements, photos or officers notes in my
report?

Collision Records is the repository for all collision reports in the state of Washington.
We do not maintain any other collision information such as case files, photos, etc. You
will need to forward a Public Disclosure request to the investigating agency for the area
where the collision occurred.



