Skip Navigation

Home : Reports, data & tools : Distressed areas list

Map of washington showing up and down arrows
Distressed areas list

Distressed areas are counties where the three-year unemployment rate is at least 20 percent higher than the statewide average.

The yearly list of distressed areas (Washington state counties) is compiled by averaging the employment and unemployment numbers for the prior 3 years. We create the distressed-areas list in cooperation with the federal Bureau of Labor Statistics. It is updated annually, usually in the spring.

For more information about distressed areas, see Chapter 43.168 of the Revised Code of Washington

2013 distressed areas1

Three-year average unemployment rate
(Jan 11 -Dec 13)
(not seasonally adjusted)
Distressed area: unemployment rate greater than or equal to
Washington State
8.1% 9.7%
Adams County
Asotin County
Benton County 8.3%
Chelan County 7.9%
Clallam County 9.9% Clallam
Clark County 10.8% Clark
Columbia County 10.7% Columbia
Cowlitz County 11.0% Cowlitz
Douglas County 7.5%
Ferry County 13.1% Ferry
Franklin County 9.1%
Garfield County 7.6%
Grant County 9.5%
Grays Harbor County 12.5% Grays Harbor
Island County 8.4%
Jefferson County 9.5%
King County 6.6%
Kitsap County 7.4%
Kittitas County 8.2%
Klickitat County 10.0% Klickitat
Lewis County 13.2% Lewis
Lincoln County 8.0%
Mason County 10.5% Mason
Okanogan County 9.4%
Pacific County 11.5% Pacific
Pend Oreille County 11.9% Pend Oreille
Pierce County 8.9%
San Juan County 6.4%
Skagit County 9.2%
Skamania County 11.4% Skamania
Snohomish County 7.6%
Spokane County 8.6%
Stevens County 11.6% Stevens
Thurston County 7.7%
Wahkiakum County 12.1% Wahkiakum
Walla Walla County 7.3%
Whatcom County 7.6%
Whitman County 6.5%
Yakima County 9.7% Yakima

¹ Prepared in cooperation with the federal Bureau of Labor Statistics