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Introduction

The purpose of a Concise Explanatory Statement is to:

e Meet the Administrative Procedure Act (APA) requirements for agencies to prepare
a Concise Explanatory Statement (RCW 34.05.325).

e Provide reasons for adopting the rule.

e Describe any differences between the proposed rule and the adopted rule.

e Provide Ecology’s response to public comments.

This Concise Explanatory Statement provides information on The Washington State Department of
Ecology’s (Ecology) rule adoption for:

Title: Agricultural Burning

WAC Chapter(s): Chapter 173-430 WAC

Adopted date: November 10, 2010

Effective date: The effective date is 31 days after Ecology files the rule with the Code

Reviser (December 12, 2010). Ecology will begin charging the new fees on
January 1, 2011.

To see more information related to this rule making or other Ecology rule makings please visit our
web site: www.ecy.wa.gov/lawsandrules

Reasons for Adopting the Rule

¢ SSB 6556 (2010) and RCW 70.94.6528 provide authority for ongoing agricultural burning
fee increases until the fee reaches the $3.75 cap per acre for field burning and $1.00 per ton
for pile burning. According to statute, the Task Force determines fees within these caps.

¢ As aresult, this rule adopts the fees as determined by the Agricultural Burning Practices and
Research Task Force (Task Force) based on the new fee structure established in RCW
70.94.6528.

¢ For pile burning, the rule changes fees to a per ton basis from a per acre fee. Field
burning fees remain on a per acre basis.

¢ For field burning, the rule increases the fee.
¢ The rule adopts a process for adjusting the fees within the caps in the future.
¢ The rule includes some minor changes for consistency.

¢ SSB 6556 (2010) introduced a per-ton fee for pile burns to replace the per-acre fee. The
volume of piled material burned exceeds the volume of crop residue from a field of the same
size. Therefore, this fee structure provides a closer link to the amount of the fee and the
quantity of material burned.

¢ Rasmussen v. Ecology requires Ecology to remove language it found as outside of Ecology’s
regulatory authority.


http://www.ecy.wa.gov/lawsandrules

Differences Between the Proposed Rule and Adopted Rule

RCW 34.05.325(6)(b)(ii) requires Ecology to describe the differences between the text of the
proposed rule as published in the Washington State Register and the text of the rule as adopted,
other than editing changes, stating the reasons for the differences.

There are some differences between the proposed rule filed on August 4, 2010 and the adopted rule
filed on November 17, 2010. Ecology made these changes for all or some of the following reasons:

e Inresponse to comments we received.
e To ensure clarity and consistency.
e To meet the intent of the authorizing statute.

The following content describes the changes and Ecology’s reasons for making them:

We made changes to WAC 173-430-020 (1) in the “General applicability and conditions” section
to clarify references to the silvicultural and outdoor burning rules. We made the following
changes:

e Deleted the word “other” before outdoor burning to clarify that the rule refers to all
outdoor burning rather than the more narrow definition of “other outdoor burning”
in WAC 173-425-030 (15).

e Added a reference to Chapter 332-24 WAC, Forest protection because it contains
the requirements for Silvicultural Burning.

e Formatted the sentence with bullet points to make it easier to read.



Response to Comments

Description of comments:
The Concise Explanatory Statement responds to the identified comments in a question-and-answer
format.

Commenter Index

The table below lists the names of organizations or individuals who submitted a comment on the
rule proposal and where you can find Ecology’s response to the comment(s). In the third column:

e The letter (A-K) groups the responses by category,
e The number (1-33) shows the order in which the responses appear.

Individuals and Organizations Providing Written Comments

Document Number Name and Affiliation Comment Number(s)

1 Kevin Futrell E10

2 Jerry Darnall B4
JJJ Farm

3 Janet Jordan F11

4 Jerald Kent E9

5 Dena Ybarra B2

6 Dennis Schwab B3, D8

7 Mike Cook C6

8 Den Ybarra B5

9 Matt Holmquist G12, G13, G14, G15, H16, H17,

Spokane Regional Clean Air H18, H19, H20, 121, J22, J23, J24
Agency J25, K26, K27, K28, K29, K30,
K31, K32, K33
10 Jay Penner C7

Ecology accepted comments between August 4, 2010 until September 9, 2010. This section
provides verbatim comments that we received during the public comment period and our
responses. (RCW 34.05.325(6)(a)(iii))

A. Which agricultural burning permits will include the pile burning (per/ton) fee?

Comment # 1:
Do the changes in the pile burning include orchard removal?

Ecology Response:
Yes. Ecology will charge the pile burning (per/ton) fee for a permit to burn trees for orchard
removal beginning January 1, 2011.

B. Determining tonnage of piles

Comment# 2:
How do we know how much our trees weigh when we remove them?



Ecology Response:
Ecology is developing guidance that will help you calculate the weight of your trees.
The guidance will include the following two methods:

e A calculation based on the number of acres removed and the age of the trees.
Ecology’s current data suggests a formula of about 0.7 tons per acre per year.

e A determination based on the amount of tons from the volume of the pile size. The
Washington State Department of Natural Resources currently uses this method for
silvicultural burning.

Comment # 3:
Wouldn’t it be better to base the fee on the volume of the pile, which is much easier to
determine, i.e., length, width, and height?

Ecology Response:

SSB 6556 (2010) and RCW 70.94 require us to charge a per ton fee for pile burning. However,
one of the methods Ecology will use to determine the weight of a pile will use the volume
(length, width, and height) of the pile.

Comment # 4:

Just out of curiosity, exactly how is a small farmer supposed to calculate the tonnage of
pruning’s and such for the new Agricultural Burnings fees...Do you have a sample formula?
Or are we now required to weigh all piles before burning? Will state grants be available for
scales?

Ecology Response:
The rule includes an exemption for prunings. Tree prunings do not require a fee or permit.

Ecology is developing guidance that will help you calculate the weight of your piles.
The guidance will include the following two methods:

e A calculation based on the number of acres removed and the age of the trees.
Ecology’s current data suggests a formula of about 0.7 tons per acre per year.

e A determination based on the amount of tons from the volume of the pile size. The
Washington State Department of Natural Resources currently uses this method for
silvicultural burning.

Comment # 5:

I do not agree with changing the charge to pile burning fee (per/ton). If the formula that is
used increases by 0.7 tons per year | think the orchards will be overcharged. The Washington
State Department of Natural Resources currently uses this method for silvicultural burning. |
think the biggest difference is that orchards are pruned every year to keep the orchard to a
manageable size of tree. Once the orchard tree feels it’s space it is maintained at that height for
the rest of the orchards life.



Ecology Response

Although a tree may not get taller every year, it still adds mass and girth. Ecology used data
from the Chipping Grant Program to determine the 0.7 tons per year we used in the formula.
However, we are open to additional data that may suggest we use a different number in the
formula.

C. Support for increasing fees

Comment # 6:
| support increases to burning fees to cover the state’s regulatory costs and to discourage
burning.

Ecology Response:

Thank you for your support. The Agricultural Burning Practices and Research Task Force
(Task Force) determines the fees for agricultural burning. The Task Force includes
representatives from the agricultural community. Additionally, the Task Force set-up a
subcommittee to make recommendations regarding the appropriate fee levels under the new
per ton pile burning structure. The subcommittee included additional non-Task Force members
from the orchardist community.

Comment # 7:
| do support this burn fee increase and here are my reasons why:

1.

You can only burn on designated burn days determined by the department of ecology.
If there’s nobody there to make a burn call you won’t get to burn.

Department of ecology has a premier smoke management program to protect public
health and it allows farmers to burn. This program is constantly being updated with
the latest technology, when it has been proven to be better than the current technology
used.

The environmental clean air community is satisfied with the current program, as it
does protect public health.

Growers are pretty much satisfied with the program, as they are able to get their fields
burnt in a timely manner.

This smoke management program costs money. Some of the money comes from
permit fees. The rest comes out of the General Fund of the State of Washington. With
the state being broke, this program is in jeopardy of losing personnel and possibly
two days a week of making burn calls. This program operates 365 days a year. Losing
weekend burn calls is not an option. Less people, means taking longer to make a burn
call, which means less hours in a day to burn. Less people mean they may push the
envelope to make a burn call and could mean more marginal burn calls which will
impact public health.

The current burn team has worked together for a long time and they know the system,
which works very well. 1t would be a shame to have to break this team up due to
budget restrictions.



7. Yes, the department of ecology has had wrecks once in a while, but so does
everybody else. You look at the problem, fix it, move on and make things better.

These are some of the reasons why | support this burn fee increase. Thank you.

Ecology Response:

Thank you for your support. The Agricultural Burning Practices and Research Task Force
(Task Force) determines the fees for agricultural burning. The Task Force includes
representatives from the agricultural community. Additionally, the Task Force set-up a
subcommittee to make recommendations regarding the appropriate fee levels under the new
per ton pile burning structure. The subcommittee included additional non-Task Force members
from the orchardist community.

D. Health effects of burning

Comment # 8:
Will the money collected from the fees be placed in a special medical fund to help pay for the
medical care of those people affected by breathing in harmful smoke?

Ecology Response:

The increased fees will cover more of the costs of the existing smoke management and permit
programs. Less dependence on state general fund sources will help ensure that Ecology can
continue to provide smoke management services 365 days a year. Smoke from agricultural
burning can harm the health of people who breathe in the smoke’s harmful particles and toxics.
If this smoke is carefully managed, the smoke will go “up and away” and impacts to the public
are limited.

E. Opposed to increasing fees

Comment #9:
We are taxed to the max! No more fees of any kind!

Ecology Response:

Ecology has not increased the fee cap for the past 15 years. Law requires the Agricultural
Burning Practices and Research Task Force (Task Force), to determine fee levels (RCW
70.94.6528 (5)). The Task Force includes industry representatives subject to these fees. The
Task Force decided to increase fees for 2011 to cover more of the costs of existing smoke
management and permit programs. Less dependence on state general fund sources will help
ensure that Ecology can continue to provide smoke management services 365 days a year.

Comment # 10:
Enforcing fines for illegal burning on the weekends would be a better way to fill the revenue
shortfall gap and pay for 365 days a year service. I’m opposed to the new fee setup.

Ecology Response:

Ecology does provide smoke management services on the weekend. This allows agricultural
burning on the weekends when conditions are favorable. Additionally, we do enforcement on
the weekends. However, penalty money does not support the agricultural burning program.
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Law specifies that all air quality penalties go to the air pollution control account (RCW
70.94.431).

F. Biomass Incineration

Comment # 11:

Agricultural burning would seem to be the ideal situation for biomass incineration, or whatever
you might call it -- driving off the volatile gasses from waste material, pulverizing the
resulting bio-char, and distributing it over the fields. Unlike the large processes that the
Federal government is encouraging, a small operation covering a few acres would not be
harmful to the environment since it would not encourage growth for the sake of the burning
itself, and the energy that could be harvested from it. The bio-char is helpful to the fields and,
unlike composting, the process does not produce methane.

Biomass incineration can take place with such small-scale equipment as an old oil barrel that
has been converted to allow separation of the woody mass and the gasses that are being burnt.

Ecology Response:

A portion of the agricultural burning fee goes to research into alternatives to agricultural
burning. Please see http://www.ecy.wa.gov/programs/air/aginfo/research.htm for more
information.

Ecology has a work group that is further exploring the possibility of using biomass incineration
in Washington.

G. Comments on General Applicability and Conditions, Chapter 173-430-020 WAC

Comment # 12:
Restate WAC 173-430-020 to clarify that the reference to “other outdoor burning” isn’t being
made to WAC 173-425-030 (15).

Ecology Response:
Ecology deleted the word “other” in the phrase “outdoor burning.” For more information,
please see the “Differences Between the Proposed Rule and Adopted Rule” section on page 4.

Comment # 13:
In WAC 173-430-020 clarify that silvicultural burning requirements aren’t in Chapter 173-425
WAC.

Ecology Response:

Ecology added a reference to chapter 332-24 WAC, Forest protection. This chapter contains
the silvicultural burning requirements. For more information, please see the “Differences
Between the Proposed Rule and Adopted Rule” section on page 4.

Comment # 14:
Make the following changes to WAC 173-430-020 (5) (a):

e Delete “overly vigorous or nonfruiting tree.”


http://www.ecy.wa.gov/programs/air/aginfo/research.htm

e Add “from tree and “or nut.”
e Replace “and” with “or” after tree canopy training and after disease.
e Delete “and” after plant.

Ecology Response:

In this sentence, Ecology changed “facilitate” to “assist” to simplify language. Additional
changes to this section would fall outside the scope of this rule making. During an earlier rule
making, the Task Force provided input to the specific language in this definition. We consider
a nut tree as a fruit tree.

Comment # 15:
Make the following change to WAC 173-430-020 (5) (a):

Add “in possession of a farmer, or the area which the farmer has a present right of
position,” to clarify that it excludes situations such as organic debris in ditches
along fence lines where the ditches are not under the control of the farmer (e.qg.,
city or county right-of-way.

Ecology Response:
In this section, Ecology only made changes to simplify language. Additional changes to this
section would fall outside the scope of this rule making.

H. Comments on Definition of Terms, Chapter 173-430-030 WAC

Comment # 16:
Be consistent throughout the regulation with “Task Force” or “Task force”

Ecology Response:
The proposed rule language published in the Washington State Register uses “task force”
throughout the rule.

Comment # 17:

The issue seems to pertain to differentiating a “field” from a “pile” as it applies to agricultural
burning. Since pile burning is being defined, might the definition of field burning be omitted?
It seems the definition being proposed is partially redundant of the “agricultural operation”
definition. If it is necessary to define field burning, consider, “field burning: Agricultural
burning which excludes pile burning”

Ecology Response:
Ecology and the rule advisory committee considered the following options:

e omitting a definition for field burning,
e defining field burning as “all burning except pile burning.”

However, we decided to clearly differentiate between pile and field burning so Ecology can
clearly identify which fee (per/acre or per/ton) applies to which permits.
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Comment # 18:
For clarification, does [pile burning] include piles of the following stacked debris: orchard tear-
out, raspberry canes, vineyards, and hay bales? Are there additional common examples?

Ecology Response:

Ecology classifies all of the examples above as piles with the exception of bale burning. Bale
burning is not stacked debris. Ecology will continue to regulate bale burns under a separate
permit and best management practice. You can find additional information about bale burning
at the following links:

e Bale Burn Best Management Practice Guidance
http://www.ecy.wa.gov/programs/air/aginfo/research _pdf files/BaleBurn09-
10.pdf

e Bale Burn Permit Application
http://www.ecy.wa.gov/pubs/ecy07075.pdf

Comment # 19:
Make the following changes to the definition of spot burning (WAC 173-430-030 (14)):

e Change “Spot Burn” to “Spot burning”

e Replace “Agricultural burning of an unforeseen and unpredicted small area where
burning is reasonably necessary and no practical alternative to burning exists.”
with “Field burning a cumulative area not to exceed the acreage published in the
fee schedule which is reasonably necessary as a result of unforeseen and
unpredicted circumstances and where no practical alternative to burning exists.
The cumulative area shall be applied on a per farmer per calendar year basis.

e Delete the word small before weed patches.

Ecology Response:

Ecology and the rule advisory committee decided to use the definition for spot burn from the
spot burn best management practice. You can find the Spot Burn Best Management Practice
Guidance here:

http://www.ecy.wa.gov/programs/air/aginfo/research_pdf files/SpotBurn09-10.pdf

Comment # 20:
Does Ecology want to elaborate on how the acreage for these [spot burns] are calculated?

Ecology Response:

The best management practice contains additional information regarding the implementation
of spot burn permits. You can find the Spot Burn Best Management Practice Guidance here:
http://www.ecy.wa.gov/programs/air/aginfo/research_pdf files/SpotBurn09-10.pdf

I. Comments on Agricultural Burning Requirements, Chapter 173-430-040

Comment # 21:
Make the following changes to WAC 173-430-040 (3) (c):

e Replace “fill out the information requested on” with “complete.”

11
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e Delete “pay the permitting fee” because this requirement is specified in
WAC 173-430-040 (4).

Ecology Response:
In this sentence, Ecology only made changes that simplified and clarified language. These
suggested changes would fall outside the scope of this rule making.

J. Comments on Agricultural Burning Fees, Chapter 173-430-041

Comment # 22:
Remove the (a) after (6) in WAC 173-430-041 (4) (a) (ii) (A).

Ecology Response:
The proposed rule language published in the Washington State Register does not include this
typographical error.

Comment # 23:
Add “if requested in writing within 30 calendar days of the permit expiration date” to WAC
173-430-041 (7).

Ecology Response:

Each permitting authority may develop their own policy regarding timeframes for

requesting refunds. So, Ecology did not include a specific timeframe in the rule. However, the
permitting authority must transfer funds twice a year by January 15" and July 15" (WAC 173-
430-080(7)(a)).

Comment # 24:
Replace “twenty five dollars” with “the minimum fee in WAC 173-430-041 (5)” in WAC 173-
430-041 (7) (b).

Ecology Response:

The intent of WAC 173-430-041 (7) (b) is to prevent permitting authorities from having to
issue refunds for very small amounts such as $0.50 or $10. Ecology felt that $25 provides a
reasonable minimum refund.

Comment # 25:
Check the consistency of capitalization of “Ecology” throughout document.

Ecology Response:
The proposed rule language published in the Washington State Register only capitalizes
ecology at the beginning of a sentence.

K. Comments on Responsibilities of a Permitting Authority, Chapter 173-430-080 WAC

Comment # 26:
Replace “are require to” with “may” in 173-430-080 (2) (a)

12



Ecology Response:

Ecology requires local permitting authorities to use a template so each agency collects the
same data. This helps Ecology prepare emissions inventories. However, the permitting
authority may modify the formatting and look of the template as long as they collect the
required data.

Comment # 27:
Add “of Ecology” after delegated permitting authorities in WAC 173-430-080 (7).

Ecology Response:
In this section, Ecology only made changes to simplify language. Additional changes to this
section would fall outside the scope of this rule making.

Comment # 28:

Add “Delegated permitting authorities of local air authorities must provide the local air
authority or Ecology with copies of all permits and supporting documentation and unless
approved otherwise by the local air authority, transfer the research portion of the fee to
Ecology and the smoke management administration portion of the fee to the local air authority”
as a provision to give the local air authorities flexibility.

Ecology Response:

In this section, Ecology only made changes to simplify language. Additional changes to this
section would fall outside the scope of this rule making. However, we will consider these
changes the next time they open this rule up for rule making.

Comment # 29:
It’s SRCAA'’s understanding that local air authorities may elect to retain the research portion of
the fee.

Ecology Response:

The Task Force determines the fee level and the portion of the fee dedicated to research. Local
air authorities may keep the permitting authority administration and smoke management
portions of the fee. The local air authorities must send Ecology the research portion of the fee
twice a year by January 15" and July 15" (WAC 173-430-080(7)(a)).

Comment # 30:
SRCAA would like the flexibility in allowing the delegated permitting authorities to retain the
smoke management administration portion of the fee.

Ecology Response:
Local Clean Airs can work with their delegated permitting authorities to provide this flexibility
through delegation agreements.

Comment # 31:
Make the following changes to WAC 173-430-080 (7) (c):

e Add “delegated” before “permitting authorities” and “of Ecology” after
“permitting authorities.”
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e Replace “local” with “permitting authority” before administration portion.

e Add “of the fee” after “administration portion

e Add “Delegated permitting authorities of local air authorities may deduct the
permitting authority administration portion of the fee, and if approved by the
local air authority, a portion of the smoke management portion of the fee.
Local air authorities may retain all portions of the agricultural burning fee.”

Ecology Response:
In this section, Ecology only made changes to simplify language. Additional changes to this
section would fall outside the scope of this rule making.

Comment # 32:
Remove “or its delegate” in WAC 173-430-080 (9) because by definition “permitting
authority” includes reference to delegates of Ecology or local air authorities.

Ecology Response:
In this section, Ecology only made changes to simplify language. Additional changes to this
section would fall outside the scope of this rule making.

Comment # 33:
Change “permitting authority” to “Ecology” in 173-430-080(1)

Ecology Response:

In this section, Ecology only made changes to simplify language. Additional changes to this
section would fall outside the scope of this rule making.
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Appendix A: Copies of all written comments
\Joguomne/ ‘

Perez, Richelle (ECY)

From: Kevin Futrell [realpropertyattorney@yahoo.com]

Sent: Wednesday, August 04, 2010 10:24 AM

To: Perez, Richelle (ECY) ‘
Subject: Ecology invites comments on rule for agricultural burning fees

Enforcing fines for illegal burning on the weekends would be a better way to fill the revenue shortfall gap and

pay for 365 days a year service. I'm opposed to the new fee setup. C_OMY\ e Yf\ﬁm 4
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE - Aug. 4, 2010
10-194

Ecology invites comments on rule for agricultural burning fees

OLYMPIA - The Washington Department of Ecology (Ecology) invites the public to review and comment on a
proposed rule related to fees assessed for agricultural burning.

Farmers sometimes burn crop residue such as cereal grain stubble and torn-out orchard trees after harvest.
Smoke from this burning can harm the health of people who breathe in the smoke's harmful particles and toxics.
Ecology regulates agricultural burning to protect public health while keeping burning available as an important -
tool for farmers.

Ecology's Air Quality Program does this through its smoke management system. This system operates seven
days a week, including holidays, to help farmers - a substantial investment in effort and support.

Growers must have permits to burn most types of agricultural residue. The 2010 Washington Legislature
amended the law (RCW '

70.94.6528) that authorizes a permit fee for agricultural burning. The change raises the permit fee cap from
$2.50 per acre to a maximum of

$3.75 per acre. This is the first increase to the fee cap since 1991.

The Legislature also approved a new way to assess fees. Fees can now be assessed for pile burning instead of on
a per-acre basis. This new fee is capped at $1 per ton of material burned.

Current fees cover only about 25 percent of the smoke management program's costs. Increasing fees will help
ensure Ecology can continue to support farmers and citizens 365 days per year. This also will reduce the need to
use the state's scarce general fund money to supplement the smoke management program.

Under the law, the state's Agricultural Burning Practices and Research Task Force determines agricultural
burning fees. The task force proposes these fees to take effect in January 2011:

* Field burning - $30 for the first 10 acres; $3 for each additional acre.

* Spot burning - $30 for 10 acres or less.

* Pile burning - $80 for the first 100 tons; 50 cents for each additional ton.

The public can comment on the proposed rule and fees during two public hearings:

* 7 p.m. Aug. 26, 2010, at Columbia County Rural Library District, 111 S. 3rd St., Dayton

* 6 p.m. Sept. 2 at Wenatchee Public Library, 310 Douglas St.

Ecology will accept comments through Sept. 9. You can submit comments by:

* F.mail to Richelle Perez{@ecy.wa.gov.

* Fax to (360) 407-7534.

* Mail to Richelle Perez, Department of Ecology, P.O. Box 47600, Olympia, WA 98504-7600.

Ecology will review all comments. The agency expects to adopt a final rule in November 2010.

#Hi

Media Contacts: Seth Preston, Ecology communications manager, 360-407-6848; 360-584-5744 cell;
seth.preston@ecy.wa.gov

Richelle Perez, air quality specialist, 360-407-7528; richelle.perez(@ecy.wa.gov

Read more about the rule-making process:
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http://www.ecy.wa.gov/programs/air/rales/agburnrule. html
Check out ECOconnect, Ecology's blog: http.//ecologywa.blogspot.com/
Follow Ecology on Twitter: http://twitter.com/ecologywa

Kevin Futrell, J.D.
UW Business - WU Law




Perez, Richelle (ECY)

From: JADDarnall@aol.com

Sent: Wednesday, August 04, 2010 5:57 PM

To: Perez, Richelle (ECY)

Cc: kitsap-ag-2020@googlegroups.com
Subject: Chapter 173-430 WAC, Agricultural Burning

Dear Ms Perez....

Just out of curiosity, exactly how is a small farmer supposed to calculate the tonnage of pruning's and such for the new

Agricultural Burning fee's... Do you have a sample formula?
Commen

Or are we now required to weigh all piles before burning? Will state grants be available for scales? B q
Why not just outlaw all agricultural enterprises in Washington state?

The bureaucracy seems determined to regulate all small farms & ranches out of business anyway, why not just cut the
chase, and deem them illegal to start with. By deeming the whole of agriculture illegal, think of the money the state could
save, we could lay off all the nit-picking state regulators, and the legisiators wouldn't go into overtime, thinking up new
ways to nickel and dime us to death.

Cheers
Jerry Darnall

JJJ Farm
Kingston, WA
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Perez, Richelle (ECY)

From: Janet Jordan [janetjordan@fastmail.fm]
Sent: Thursday, August 05, 2010 8:31 AM
To: Perez, Richelle (ECY)

Subject: agricultural burning

Comment= 1)
Agricultural burning would seem to be the ideal situation for biomass incineration, or whatever you might call it
-- driving off the volatile gasses from waste material, pulverizing the resulting bio-char, and distributing it over
the fields. Unlike the large processes that the Federal government is encouraging, a small operation covering a
few acres would not be harmful to the environment since it would not encourage growth for the sake of the
burning itself, and the energy that could be harvested from it. The bio-char is helpful to the fields and, unlike
composting, the process does not produce methane.

Biomass incineration can take place with such small-scale equipment as an old oil barrel that has been
converted to allow separation of the woody mass and the gasses that are being burnt.

Janet Jordan

Janet Jordan
Jjanetjordan@fastmail. fm




Comments sought for ag burmng fees

Meetzng set for
Aug 26 in Dayton

OLYMPIA
Washington
Department of Agriculture
asks the public to read and
comment about a proposed
rule concerning agmcultur—
al burning fees.

_Cominents can be given
in person during two pub-
= lie heaungs o

. The

State

The first hearlng is set

360-407- 7534 or mail to

for 7 p.m., Aug. 26, ateRichellePerez, Department

Columbia County Rural
Library . District; 111 S
Third St., Dayton.

The

2, at Wenatchee Pubhc
lerary, 310 Eouglas St.,
Wenatchee.

- Comments can also be
submitted through . Sept
9 by e- mail to Richelle.
Perez@ecy.wa.gov, fax to

second heanng'
starts at 6 p.m., Sept:

of Ecology, PO Box 47600,

Olympia, 98504-7600.

After 1ev1ewmg com-
ments, the state antlclpates
adopting a final rule in
November.

To learn moré about ,;
the rule- makmg process,

visit www.ecy.wa. .gov/pro-
grams/an/wles/agburn-
rule.html.
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Perez, Richelle (ECY)

From: Dena Ybarra [dena@cbnlic.com]
Sent: Tuesday, August 10, 2010 2:24 PM
To: Perez, Richelle (ECY)

Subject: rule changes in agriculture burn
Follow Up Flag: Follow up

Flag Status: Flagged

Hello,

{ am an orchardist in Grant County and was wondering does the changes in the pile burning include orchard removal? Iif

so how do we know how much our trees weigh when we remove them. C,O(‘Y\W\Q(\%A B "a
Thanks,

‘Dena Ybarra
Columbia Basin Nursery,l1c
509-787-4411




DocoMment o

Perez, Richelle (ECY)

From: Dennis Schwab [djschwab@eburg.com]
Sent: Thursday, August 12, 2010 8:04 PM
To: Perez, Richelle (ECY)

Subject: Comments on Burning Fees

Richelle Perez
Department of Ecology

Dear Richelle, C@me

The Department of Ecology's intent to raise the burning fees for agricultural burning raises a few questions. D%

1 If the reason for the fees are because the smoke from agricultural burning can harm the health of people who breath in )
the smoke's harmful particles and toxics, does that mean that the money collected from the fees will be placed in a special
medical fund to help pay for the medical care of those people affected by breathing in the harmful smoke? If not, then it
seems to be just another way to impose a tax on the farmers who are struggling to make a living, and disposing of harmful
weed seeds, and reading the land for the next-crop in the most energy efficient way possible, without the use of harmful
chemicals and its long lasting effects.

2. | don't understand how the weight of a slash pile can be determined. Wouldn't it be better to base the fee on the
volume of the pile, which is much easier to determine, i.e,, length, width, and height? ‘
Commg

Thank you and best regards,

>
W

Dennis Schwab

PO Box 716

Cle Elum, WA, 98922
509-674-5285




Uo coment =

Perez, Richelle (ECY)

From: Mike Cook [mikecook@nwi.net]
Sent: Monday, August 16, 2010 8:37 PM
To: Perez, Richelle (ECY)

Subject: Agricultural burning

| support increases in burning fees to cover the state's regulatory costs and to discourage burning.

. Mike Cook C@mme% (;ﬁ_(@

Wenatchee



Perez, Richelle (ECY) DQC«»OMQ/ HW’ N

From: Dena Ybarra [dena@cbnlic.com]
Sent: Thursday, August 19, 2010 3:33 PM
To: Perez, Richelle (ECY)

Subject: RE: rule changes in agriculture burn

Hello Richelle,
Thank you for answering my questions. | would like to submit a commit.

t am with Columbia Basin Nursery. We have a fruit tree nursery and about 1000 acres of orchard that we are replanting
the older blocks as they are getting less profitable. We farm in Grant County. \8 \
erne =5 D

I do not agree with changing the charge to pile burning free (per/ton). If the formula thatis usedicreases by 0.7 tons
per year | think the orchards will be overcharged. The Washington State Department of Natural Resources currently
uses this method for silvicultural burning. | think the biggest difference is that orchards are pruned every year to keep
. the orchard to a manageable size of tree. Once the orchard tree feels it’s space it is maintained at that height for the
rest of the orchards life.

Thank you for your consideration.

Dena Ybarra
Columbia Basin Nursery,llc
509-787-4411

From: Perez, Richelle (ECY) [mailto:rdeg461@ECY.WA.GOV]
Sent: Wednesday, August 18, 2010 8:43 AM

To: Dena Ybarra :

Subject: RE: rule changes in agriculture burn

Hi Dena,

Thank you for your questions below and during our phone conversation on Tuesday. | apologize for taking a few days to
respond. Please find the answers to your questions below.

Do the changes in the pile burning include orchard removal? _
Yes. Ecology will charge the pile burning fee (per/ton) for a permit to burn trees from an orchard removal
beginning January 1, 2011.

How do we know how much our trees weigh when we remove them?
Ecology is developing guidance that will help you calculate the weight of your trees. The guidance will include
the following two methods:
e A calculation based on the number of acres removed and the age of the trees. Ecology’s
current data suggests a formula of about 0.7 tons per acre per year.




e Determining the amount of tons from the volume of the pile size. The Washington State
Department of Natural Resources currently uses this method for silvicultural burning.

How can [ calculate my pile size if | do not know the size of my piles yet? How do  determine the weight of a pile that |
continuously add material to ensure a more efficient burn?
You will determine the amount of tons you will burn using the formula based on the number of acres removed
and the age of the trees. If you dispose of a portion of the trees using an alternative to burning (such as
chipping) you can subtract those tons before you calculate your fee. Ecology regional staff are available to
answer any questions regarding the permit application.

Please let me know if you have any additional questions or comments.

Thank you,

Washington State Department of Ecology
Air Quality Program

PO Box 47600

Olympia, WA 98504-47600
360-407-7528

Fax 360-407-7534
richelle.perez@ecy.wa.gov

From: Dena Ybarra [mailto:dena@cbnllc.com]
Sent: Tuesday, August 10, 2010 2:24 PM

To: Perez, Richelle (ECY)

Subject: rule changes in agriculture burn

Hello,
I am an orchardist in Grant County and was wondering does the changes in the pile burning include orchard removal? If
so how do we know how much our trees weigh when we remove them.

Thanks,

Dena Ybarra
Columbia Basin Nursery,llc
509-787-4411
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Chapter 173-430 WAC

| AGRICULTURAL BURNING Last Update: 7/26/06WAC

173-430-010 Purpose of the regulation,

173-430-020 General applicability and conditions.

173-430-030 Definition of terms.

173-430-040 Agricultural burning requirements.

173-430-041 Agdcultural burning fees,

173-430-042 Seiting agricultural burning fees,

173-430-044 Requirements for buming fleld or turf grass

173-430-045 Alternatives to burning field and/or turf grasses grown for seed.
173-430-050 Best management practices,

173-430-060 Research into alternatives to agricultural burning.

173-430-070 General agricultural burning permit conditions and criteria.
173-430-080 Responsibilities of a permitting authority.

173-430-090 Receivir{g delegation--Counties, conservation districts, and fire protection agencies.
173-430-100 . Severability.

WAC 173-430-010 Purpose of the regulation. Chapter 70.94
RCW, the Washington Clean Air Act, declares it is the intent of
the state to protect public health and it is the policy of the
state that the responsibilities and costs of protecting the air
resource and operating state and local air pollution control

programs be shared as equitably as possible among all sources

| WAC (8/20/108426/306/25/16 3:05 PMA+08—PM3+49—PM) [ 1 ]




whose emissions cause air pollution. Some of the sources whose
emissions contribute to air pollution in the state include
industrial sources (large and small), mobile sources such as
vehicles, and area sources such as woodstoves, general outdoor
burning, and agricultural burning. A variety of strategies to
control and reduce the impact of emissions are described
throughout chapter 70.94 RCW, including controls on emissions
created from agricultural burning. The act intends that public
health be protected and also allows for agricultural burning
that is reasonably necessary. The act also requires that
burning be restricted and regulated to address the potentially
competing goals of both limiting air pollution and allowing

agricultural burning. Chapter 70.94 RCW authorizes the

agricultural burning. This rule establishes controle strategies

for agricultural burning in the state 4n—erder—to minimize

adverse health and the environmental effects from agricultural
burning in accord with the most reasonable procedures to follow
in safeguarding life and property under all circumstances or is

reasonably necessary to carry out the enterprise or both. These

-eontret—-strategies include:

(1) Establishing a permit program with minimum statewide
requirements and specific burn authorizations.

(2) Providing for implementation of a research program to

explore and identify economical and practical alternatives to

| WAC (8/20/108/20/306/25440 3:05 PMA+08—PM3+49—PM) [ 2 ]




agricultural burning.

(3) Encouraging and developing economically feasible
alternative methods to agricultural burning.

(4) Limiting the scope of the rule to agricultural burning
and distinguishing between agricultural burning and other types
of burning.

(5) Providing for local administration of the permitting
program through delegation.

(6) Assessing air quality within a region and incorporating
this data into an evaluation tailored to emissions from
agriﬁultural burning.

(7) Making use of metering as a component of the
agricultural burning permit program. Metering is a technigue of
limiting emissions from agricultural burning at specific times
and places by taking into account potential emission rates,
forecasted weather (dispersion), and current and projected air
quality.

(8) Using improved and proven technology in evaluating the
conditions under which burning is authorized, including those
related to meteorology, emissions, and air pollution.

(9) Providing for education and communication.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 70.94.650, 70.94.743, and 70.94.745.
06-16-052 (Order 04-10), § 173-430-010, filed 7/26/06, effective
8/26/06. Statutory Authority: RCW 70.94,650. 95-03-083 (Order

94-17), § 173-430-010, filed 1/17/95, effective 2/17/95; 93-14-

| WAC (8/20/108420/4106/25/440 3:05 PM2+08—PM3-+49—PM) [ 3 ]




022 (Order 92-58), § 173-430-010, filed 6/28/93, effective
7/29/93. Statutory Authority: RCW 70.94.331. 90-19-062 (Order
90-10), § 173-430-010, filed 9/17/90, effective 10/18/90; Order
DE 77-20, § 173-430-010, filed 11/9/77. Formerly WAC 18-16-

010.]

WAC 173-430-020 General applicability and conditions. (1)
This regulation applies to burning related to agricultural
activities. It does not apply to silvicultural burning or other—

outdoor burnings=—Refer—te provided for in -chapter 173-425 WACH:
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-l Comment [m1]: Restate to ¢clarify
that: the:reference: to Yother
outdoor-burning’ isn’t:being made: j
LG WAC 1732425-030 (15) [T ===

addition, clarify . that.
silvicultural: 'burning requirements
aren’tiin: Chi:173~425 WAC:

(2) Burning of organic debris.related to agricultural

activities is allowed when it is reasonably necessary to carry
out the enterprise. Agricultural burning is reasonably (: WN{XNV%””
necessary to carry out the enterprise when it meets the criteria } (;; {:Eg

v

of the best management practices and no practical alternative is

1 reasonably available AREW—F0-04--6564-.
(3) Anyone conducting burning related to agricultural
activities must comply with local fire safety laws and
‘ fegﬁ%a%i@ﬁs;gigngand burn when wind takes the smoke away from
roads, homes, population centers, or other public areas.
(4) Burning related to agricultural activities must not
occur during an air ppllution episode or any stage of impaired

alr quality. Definitions of air pollution episode and impaired

| WAC (8/20/108/26/166/25/46 3:05 PM2+08—PM3+49-PM) [ 4 ]




air quality are found in WAC 173-430-030.

(5) Burning of organic debris related to agricultural
activities requires a permit and fee, except for agricultural
burning that is incidental to commercial agricultural activities
(RCW 70.94.752445). An agricultural operation burning under the
incidental agricultural burning exception must still notify the
local fire department within the area and not burn during an air
pollution episode or any stage of impaired air quality. The
specific types of burning that qualify as exceptions to the

permit requirement are:

" { Formatted: Font: Bold

(a) Orchard prunings. An orchard pruning is a routine and -
periodic operation to remove > ly—yigeoreus—er—aenfruiting—tree (;)Cj(Y\C{\{l{\
limbs or branches from trees to improve fruit or nut quality, i (3) \F)\«

. /( Formatted: Font:k Bold
(b) Organic debris along fencelines. A fenceline or_ .

T Cometn- 615

fencerow is the area |in possession of a farmer, or the area
g .- Comment [m2]: clarify that it

which' the farmer has a present right of position, bordering a _#%..|'excludes situations such as organic
- oo debrisiin ditches: along:. féence lines

. . . ., where the: 'ditches are not under the

commercial agricultural field that is or would be unworkable by GoRtroL ot tHe farmer (e.q¢i, city

or’county:right-of~ways}.

equipment used to cultivate the adjacent field;

. { Formatted: Font: Bold
“ N

(c) Organic debris along or in irrigation or drainage -
ditches. An irrigation or drainage ditch is a waterway which
predictably carries water (not necessarily continuously) and is

unworkable by equipment used to cultivate the adjacent field;

. { Formatted: Font: Bold

tumbleweeds.

| WAC (8/20/108/26/406/25/436 3:05 PM2+08—PM3+45-PM) [ 5 ]




[Statutory Authority: RCW 70.94.650, 70.94.743, and 70.94.745,
06-16-052 (Order 04-10), § 173-430-020, filed 7/26/06, effective
8/26/06. Statutory Authority: RCW 70.94.650. 95-03-083 (Order
94-17), § 173-430-020, filed 1/17/95, effective 2/17/95; 93-14-
022 (Order 92-58), § 173-430-020, filed 6/28/93, effective
7/29/93. Statutory Authority: RCW 70.94.331. 90-~19-062 (Order
90-10), § 173-430-020, filed 9/17/90, effective 10/18/90; Oxrder

DE 77-20, § 173-430-020, filed 11/9/77. Formerly WAC 18-16-

020.]

WAC 173-430-030 Definition of terms. The definitions of
terms contaihed in chapter 173-400 WAC are incorporated into
this chapter by reference. Unless a different meaning is
clearly required by context, the.meanings of the following words
and phraées uéed in this chapter are listed below.

(1) Agricultural burning: Means the burning of vegetative
debris from an agricultural operation necessary for disease or

| pest control, necessary for crop propagation andtor crop
rotation, or where identified as a best management practice by
the agricultural burning practices and research task force
on agricultural practices. Propane flaming for the purpose of
vegetative debris removal 1s considered commercial agricultural

burning.

| WAC (8/20/108420/306/25/16 3:05 PM2+OO—PM3+40-—PM) [ 6 ]




(2) Agricultural operation: Means a farmer who can
substantiate that the operation is commercial agriculture by
showing the most receng year's IRS schedule F form or its
corporate equivalent. It also includes burning conducted by
irrigation district or drainage district personnel as part of

water system management.

2 +—Ag—task—Fforee: s : i
practices—and—researeh—task—foree-

(34) Air pollution episode: Means a period when a
forecast, alert, warning, or emergency air pollution stage is

declared as described in RCW 70.94.715.
(45) Best management practice: Means the criteria
established by the agricultural burning practices and research

task force (Ag tTask |fForce]).

(56) Certify: Means to declare in writing, based on belie

after reasonable inquiry, that the statements and information

provided are true, accurate, and complete.

(6) Ecology: Means the Washington Department of Ecology.

(78) Farmer: Means any person engaged in the business of
growing or producing for sale any agricultural product upon
their own lands,‘or upon the land in which they have a present
right of possession, any agricultural product. Farmer does not
mean persons growing or producing suwek products primarily for
their own consumption.

(8) [Field burning: Agricultural burning of vegetative

I WAC (8/20/108/20/4-06+425/40 3:05 PM2+08—PM3+49—PM) [ 7 ]

£

Comment H L

.- Comment [m3]: Be consistent

throughout the regulation with
“Task Force”. or “Task:force”;

‘COW‘\WN\‘ WY

Comment [m4]: The: issue’'seems to
pertain:to differentiating a
Yfield” from.a ‘pile” as: it applies
to:agricultural burning. Since pile
burning.is:being defined, might the
definition of field burning be
omitted? It 'seems the definition
being:.proposed i partially
redundant:‘of* the “agricultural
operdtion” definition.. If it is
necessary: to.define: field burning,
consider; “Field burning:
Agricultural’ burning’ which’excludes

1 pile-burning”.
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the—trigger—tevel

(10) Outdoor burning: Means all forms of burning except
those listed as exempt in WAC 173-425-020.

(11) Permitting authority: Means ecology or its delegate
or a local air autﬁority with jurisdiction or its delegate.
Conservation districts, counties, fire districts, or fire
protection agencies may receive delegation for all or '‘portions
of the agricultural burning permit program as identified in a
delegation agreement. The permitting authority will issue
agricultural burning permits for a given locale.

(12) [piie burning: Agricultural burning of stacked

vegetative residue from an agricultural operation. Burning of

windrows does not qualify as pile burning.

(132) Silvicultural burning: Means burning on any land the
department of natural resources protects per RCW 70.94.030(13),

70.94.653466, 70.94.65490, and purswant—te—under chapter 76.04

RCW.

(14) Spot Bburning: Agriewlbuvral—buraing-of—anunforeseen
Er ek R Heted-—asmall-area—where k\'\,«ruJ_u\j 3 J.x,uuu.uublj NEeCeOHary
and—no—practical—alternative—to-burning—enistslield burning a

cumulative area not to exceed the acreage published in the fee

schedule which is reasonably necessary as a result of unforeseen

and unpredicted circumstances and where no practical alternative

to burning exists. The cumulative area shall be applied on a per

farmer per calendar year basis. Examples of spot burns include

smali-weed patches, spots of heavy residue, lequipment plugs, and

WAC (8/20/108426/106/25/40 3:05 PM2+O8—PM3+49—pM) [ 9 ]

Comment H Y

. -| Comment [m5]: Fox clarification,
dogs: it in¢lude:-piles: of the
following stacked debris:-.orchard
tear-out;. raspberry canes;
vineyards, and hay bales? Are- there
additional’ common examples?

Comment Hi9




harrow dumps. Burning of windrows does not qualify as a spot -7 | elaborate on how the acreage is
T calculated for: these?

. l Comment [m6]: Does Ecology want to

burn. ) ;
- . {
(15) Task force: means the agricultural burning practices (;CDﬂAfYTﬁﬂﬁ— %% 2%65

and research task force.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 70.94.650, 70.94.743, and 70.94.745.
06-16-052 (Order 04-10), § 173-430-030, filed 7/26/06, effective
8/25/06. Statutory Authority: RCW 70.94.656. 98-12-016 (Order
97-45), § 173-430-030, filed 5/26/98, effective 6/26/98.
Statutory Authority: RCW 70.94.650. 95-03-083 (Order 94-17), §
173-430-030, filed 1/17/95, effective 2/17/95; 93-14-022 (Order
92-58), § 173-430-030, filed 6/28/93, effective 7/29/93.
Statutory Authority: RCW 70.94.331. 90-19-062 (Order 90-10), §
173-430—030, filed 9/17/90, effective 10/18/90; Order DE 77;20,

§ 173-430-030, filed 11/9/77. Formerly WAC 18-16-030.]

WAC 173-430-040 Agricultural burning requirements. (1)
Agricultural burning is allowed when it is reasonably necessary
to carry out the enterprise. A farmer can show it is reasonably
necessary when 1t meets the criteria of the best management
practices and no practical alternative is reasonably available.
In certain circumstances, ecology may certify an alternative to
burning. Where the certified alternative is reasonably

available, burning is not allowed. Certified alternatives are

| WAC (8/20/108/20/406/25/+0 3:05 PM2+08—PM3+49-DpM) [ 10 ]




described in WAC 173-430-045,

(2) For allowed agricultural burning, the department—of
eEcology or local air authorities with jurisdiction will make
daily or specific fire burn calls (during times of anticipated
burning) and use metering when necessary to minimize the
potential for adverse air quality impacts. Metering is a
technique of limiting emission from burning at specific times
and places by taking into account potential emission rates,
forecasted weather (dispersion), and current and projected air
guality. The burn decision process will consider: The
potential number of burns and theif expected size(s) and
duration(s); recent and current ambient concentrations of
pollutants; other potential emissions sources; and evaluations
and judgments about how foreseeable meteorological conditions
will affect concentrations of pollutants in the ai? sheds.

(a) For the purposes of this section: The smoke management
index is a set of conditions that guide the production of
certain reports as described in (c¢) of this subsection and
evaluations as described in (d) of this subsection., The smoke
management index is not an air quality standard as defined in
RCW 70.94.030(4) and further identified in RCW 70.94.331. The
smoke management index is not an emission standard as defined in
RCW 70.94.030(9) and further identified in RCW 70.94.331. .The
smoke management index is not an air pollution episode as
described in RCW 70.94.710.

(b} Ecology and local air authorities making daily or

| WAC (8/20/108428/1664254%6 3:05 PM2+08—PM3+49-PM) [ 11 ]




specific fire burn calls in areas where PM2.5 concentrations are

reqgularly monitored will follow the procedures in (c) of this

subsection at—the—time—ef-~when making the burn decision whenever
either of the following smoke management index conditions exist:
(i) A most recent daily average (twenty-four-hour) PM2.5

concentration was equal to or greater than 16 micrograms per

cubic meter. This is based on the division between the "good”

Protection Agency's Air Quality Index (AQI) for (twenty-four

hours average PM2.5) particulate matter.-based-eon—Ehe—National—
Ambieﬂ%ﬂAifoﬂa%i%y~SEaﬁdafd~®£~6%—miefegfams—pefweﬁbie;me%eﬁv

(1i) A two-hour rolling average PM2.5 concentration, during
the most recent twenty-four to thirty hours was equal to or
greater than the regional seasonal average PM2.5 concentration
plus 15 micrograms per cubic meter. |

(c) In authorizing additional burning, a determination will
be documented explaining that the decision to allow additional
burning is not expected to result in a further significant
deterioration of air quality. The determination will be entered
on a standard form noting the date, time, the location of the
additional burning, the size of the burn(s), and a brief
explanation of the opinion as to why the additional burning is
not expected to result in a further, significant reduction of
air quality. The purpose of the determination and recordkeeping
requirements of this section i1s to enhance agency and public

understanding of the effectiveness of the dally burn and

| WAC (8/20/108420/1-064/25/10 3:05 PM2+08—PM3+49—PM) [ 12 ]




metering decision-making process, and to improve its application
over time. A notice of sueh—-the determinations will be made by
ecoldgy or a local air authority with jurisdiction at the time
the daily burn decision is communicated. Ecology or a local air
authority with jurisdiction will also periodically make the
determination forms conveniently available to the public.

(d) Following a determination described in (c) of this
subsection and a deterioration of air quality to levels equal to
or greater than a two-hour rolling average concentration of the
regional seasonal average PM2.5 concentration plus 25 micrograms
per cubic meter in the specific area during the twenty hours
following such determination, ecology or the local air authority
with jurisdiction will evaluate the deterioration and document
any findings and opinions regarding why the deterioration
occurred. Ecology or the local air authority with jurisdiction
will make evaluations under this subsection conveniently
available to the public.

(e) Ecology or a local air authority with jurisdiction may
evaluate emission dispersion impacts in the regular course of
business. In addition, ecology or the local air authority with
jurisdiction will produce an annual report summarizing
determinations and evaluations pursuwant—te—under the smoke
management index.

(f) Pursuvant—teUnder RCW 70.94.473 and 70.94.65217%+%5, no

burning shadti-beis authorized when an air quality alert,

warning, emergency or impaired air quality condition has been

| WAC (8/20/108/20/106/25/30 3:05 PM2+08-PM3+40-pM) [ 13 ]




issued.

(g) For purposes of protecting public health (not
eliminating agricultural burning), 1f an area exceeds or
threatens to exceed unhealthy air pollution levels, the
permitting authority may limit the number of acres, on a pro
rata basis as provided by RCW 70.94.65326 andtor by RCW
70.94.65286.

(3) Except as described in WAC 173-430-020(5), all
agricultural burning requires a permit.

(a) Ecology or local air authorities with jurisdiction will
provide agricultural burning application forms for agricultural
burning. ‘

(b) To qualify for an agricultural burning permit the
farmer must be an agricultural operation or government entity
with specific agricultural burning needs, such as irrigation

districts, drainage districts, and weed control boards.

(c) Application Information, A farmer must &ill -

A
TRE

rrabion-requested-en-conmplete la permit applicationy—pay—the—

permitting—feer— and submit it to the permitting authority ~for

review and approval prier—tebefore burning.

(1) The application must describe the reason for burning
and include at least the following information: Name and
address of the person or corporation responsible for the burn,
the'specific location (county; legal description: Section,
township, range, block and unit number), the crop type, the type

or size of the burn, driving directions to the burn, specific

| WAC (8/20/108420/4306/425430 3:05 PM2+08—PM3+40—PM) [ 14 ]

Conaery LA\

A

Comment [m7]: Fee requirement: is
specified in:WAC:173-430-040(4).

)




reason for the burn, the target date for burning, a map,
signature of the responsible party, and any additional
information required by the permitting authority. Each
permitting authority may require additional information on the
application.

(ii) All applications must comply with other state or local
regulationsrules.

(d) The permitting authority must evaluate the application,

(e) Permit decisions including the issuance, denial, or
conditioning must be based on consideration of air quality
conditions in the area affected by the preoposed burning, the
time of year, meteorological conditions, the size and duration
of the proposed burning activity, the type and amount of
vegetative material to be burned, the applicant's need to carry
out swehthe burning, existence of extreme burning conditions,
risk of escape onto property owned by another, and the public's
interest in the environment.

(f) Ecology or its delegate, or a local air authority with
jurisdiction, or its delegate must approve or deny the permit in
part or in whole based on information in the application.

(g) Ecology and its delegate or a local air agemeyauthority
with jurisdiction or its delegate may issue pefmits for
appropriate agricultural burning activities in nonattainment

areas, malntenance areas, and urban growth areas as described in

WAC (8/20/108/20/106/425440 3:05 PM2+-08-—PM3+49-—pM) [ 15 ]
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(a) A farmer must comply with the conditions on the
agricultural burning permit.

(b) Permits must be conditioned to minimize emissions and
impacts insofar as practical, including denial of permission to
burn during periods of adverse meteorological conditions. When
necessary as determined by ecology or the local air authorities
to ensure compliance with the act, permit conditions will

include at least one of the following:

e the use of a daily burn decisiony.
e permit specific decisions.
o pandfor-metering.

(c) The permitting authority must:

(i) act on.a éomplete application (as determined by the

permitting authorityegeney) within seven days of receipt.

and approve or deny all or part of it.

(iii) The-peemittingavthordity-—must—evaluate the
application to determine if the requested burning is within the
general or crop-specific best management practices.

(#4+iv) If the permitting authority denies the application-

ig—denied, they must state the reason for the denialmust—be—

sEated.

-+

-

-

(ii) ~Phe—permitting—autheority—must—evaluate the application

e

o
5
¢
¢
[}
e}
dr

| WAC (8/20/108/28/106+425436 3:05 PMA+-B8—PM3+49-PM) [ 19 ]

,

-

. [ Formatted: Font: Courier New, 12 pt

o
e ‘{ Formatted: Indent; Left: 0.25"

™ «[ Formatted: Font: Courier New, 12 pt

- P { Formatted: Font: Courier New, 12 pt

e AL

_ - Comment [RP9]: This language was
moved to WAC 173-430-044. We only
made minor editorial ‘changes:




oY

€

[oxey

preo

A

PR
WP Ue At M UIPU DU S By [ G W vy p

4=
e

4
=

Qg o U

(&8

i

VA A eI
OOy

04

o

a0

Iy 13aep =) 1
DU EneCCdns

A
t

1

o ol
1 OWeEt

S
[Eaws e

nrIRkeae £
0

Traihs

ESH
e

et

4

K

At
B iiE o g e

4

H

ehr—

116
T

N
A7

’

Fes—
& 46&,

e

=Y
-
LJJ. LS @ L Wl g
Eyig
36
e
1
L).IL(ALJ o AT

e wi s { Lo i

R
+
gt
vl
means—prattt

3y
i
(SESerere)

Aeldar
oy

Th

EO—oT Xy

3

sEdony———A—farmer—

26t
et bl
Permtt
v =
F—ET

1
(33
7

t o e

om
it
o
BV
eSS
P 1

Pt o v § L
)

1
Tt

"

5y

£

i g v g g e e v

-G

Jya3-9e
TO—POU R Ec

A i i § VAN

O3

£

I3t
R
£
LW s oy
Ay et A
production

4
O

q
.

42l
LW i i ey

[53 & o v sy 574

TTre

=)

4o )y
et

1
TS
|
B
T
e
£
(=

ECSIIPEE 2N
1
£
€
AR OEE
3
EEEETECN 2
Tt
"y
iy
—(~€&%—~t—r’ ]

pagsnsiis

e
COREE
2
LW A e
armk
TR S
.bll
s
{ ol
oS

LR 6 AN
oy anyn

LORL A 200 4 1 & wari by
afry—-pee
1k

th

.

E A AN I

1.1
i
1006

A%

may-regquest—an—exemption—for-extraordinary—eireumstances;—ost

Q.4
Y
sE-the—mimber—of—a
4
T
Yoz
[SF 4 g vre
€

T

70
W—r-
TP T
=1
Aol
t
¥
IS |
E SN S P
IS
Moy 3z
MY
e

(539 asi v S )

RO
T
1als]
[ERAG T G s~y
wrea
%S
e —regalt
“
L A e N
4]
m
TWEO
T
il
WIT

i et
CFrowrng—ant—unaes
D4 ey
el
ox @ NS
MLy
Tt WS
VLAY
O
sz
TSP EOPeETY

£
3 S L A
N
Wb TTY
40

K
73

o
™
7
Aarent
¥

DeCoOme
Y

proeau
oo

EN
S

greowing—and—under—the—control—-of—the—farmer

turf-grasses—grown—

nmere

1006

o5

P P
AZawiwry Ot

n

-

o
I-S3-00

-t

proV

LA
A & iy )

€F

ks
E

frrmmalar
(52

wh
NEY

o3 &1

[y & 25

te)y Ay
Eh-g
droos £
s peet—of
P £

(v

£
(b

13kl
RS pEATRAS SRS R § € 5 RS-

[ 201

&
.
¥

W =y
£ 5
£

oy

- erementTs
)

[Sxdxsusy
[ESSaws

T SN
-0-8—BM3+-49—DM)

o
1006
L aTavy
PMz

e

¥

Iy

=
)
105

H——Under—this—subseetiony

Lyg.ende
AW L 3 e s i
4
Cigy xS o rpt v o
D
ey

T3
O
o /-
5446 3

.L.

.

T O
ey

FS e ar

O

1o

aa
I racade
€

ey
O/

P}

S-S O
QLAN /I N6 LD

s

L

aEreaae
shali—b

a1

AN
F
Fes Sy Sk

LAIE 2 $3° I S S SR e apss i

o
ot

SEEea

Iy

T

PEEES oo
SHEE8eCtTtE

4

| wac (8/20/10



ey
T OO

Ao e gy a1 -cr ek Aot £l ad b
ESASAS L& AT i vy 145 4 ey 4SS S s S A oSS s &2 A S ¥

+ =
MPETHOT

€25

.
7

-ORal

€85

prot

£k

Wbttt

PR

1.0 L VIR e} AL

[ g i

'

o rnid-crdeady k.1 i ol
£

1

£

3}

-7

Lo vy

Ml
Ly $aw

©

Hoaty

OTTOW

t

Lo S g g v

pege yariiy

~-

4= 3o
e

=

£
£

e
TCTTIrOTY

3ksya
AT ®re)

=}

P oy 4
o O T

T

PR gt
FRANCL 5 o o el w0 i e

ke 4
(S & D § N BT e Jou S WD B e )

el
[EE Ly

P I
A7

M
Mt

.y

"o

age—t

W)
I

f ol s cern 4 b
Wit P ermET

L33

"

»«\

q
COMPro-iaite

PN =0 R A
ke g

PR R =N El
plisv ye v Eer s

3

£o5mm

e

TATIRE

Tt

B N e Y, RO N A VAW, WA
PN A S g @

119l

£ ey e R SN 4
OTreTCIrop S

e

ERASAS R0 2 u Sy {{sop § wors)

AT el
WX

L wvan

[E AV L

1O

Al
Py

£4
£4-

£ Y AL |
O raSo-—5Cear

e S PR S
OO GOt

-S5O

£ ey g m
O

e
T

LI OTT

PLeFa A siin ey il

M.
fiy

2
F=

CHe—0a315

PR NP W= W =
TS AR L s it @ )

1

PIC: |
Wit

7.

Togy

Jtm
T

GFESG

ECNEN I SR PRV S
v e

[y

k=
T OIOy

ok, in Yol oy S N AN W/ |
ERNL 4 ey vy

Tz ]

£y iaedd oy
T OO T oo ao— POV e oy

Tr

aeTeritT g --emtS8t

domanen 3o 3 e

4

+thkh
e

Wai—oTt

PR
ets

BN
Tt

T Cr

*

4ot

2N
T O C Tt

4+ P LR -
r—methodts—is—shewn—t

n

K

1
T a ot n

EESE 3

et

14

Pt =

stigate—alternate

4

B A

1
Wi

'3

togy

e
T T

Nl YA TR

T OOy

Lo o £ RO 70 04
P e & W

et

F=lamd=

£l

LOGY

I £

)

¥

4
ne-Caot3y

(o

THaT

i o & A

n
3]

Moy
hay

cre i e 4
tRe—Creertay—+t

+ 1

Arvel.on ES
meets

[S3Eiwy

1

B

3

eSS metheela
TG CTrO G oo pPPIropra-t

4

1

S
& 3% i g v iy 8 R = i O

4=t
ST

1

CCOTOTY—OXE

ot -4

ey

i

FIREY
(A=

ey

By
Y

T OCTr—&3F

T

o

TrCTGEPOIT Tt

ng—the-method—deseribed

T —

S-S

provide—for—trading—ef—permit

N P
TranS et

e

TEC MU C S RO Sy ST 5§ 2 o

TN

(S

™

PR R T =)

|
[SESESAC oy S 3¢ mus 1g r oy o7 § 13

4o

i
Thi-s

e
Ot T

il

“
(v e e e & h)

4

1

g
raatieony

TATY I T
COmP

And
LIS Y AN A L PR s o

-ty

4o e SN
(Vo M e i s i

&

TECTy

o

134t RS
it CtOTITy

= ERETY
E NG AL g M S G i

Frd

z

o

e
CCOLOYYy—OL

h T
Ehy

PE S =
Ok

COMDTRATION

M3

e

The

pe i

p iy

4o

reaineg—a

30

do g o o] £
ot nyg--alte-etr

o

SO

q

D
L
3]
8]

3o
iy

HS

4
S8

™

1

S ¥ 3@ u oy

rela
e

bty

PER N
LT

1
OGS T-at il

N
[P A i wey

3

Loy 2z

1

4 PP =N
Ey e §—ae et -oYy--e oL ogy—or

e

143 3

b Aoy e g v Gy 5 3

My
TS

<l
s

PN A
ey — o Crims-80®xV

™

oS 4
Featety

s reads e ¥
WO ee

|
cratd g3y St

i

h
i e

4
=

RS ot W5
i & 43 et s

v o

L300 e V4B DT
T

ELTAY

1.2
pons ey

ALY
Lhp=yes

R |
“EEEY

SEETY
81t

N
L

-

TETOR

]

-}

2y oy oyt onm
A & e e 2V I G 2 £ 04

35

may—ek

~agdedo 45
(SRS R AT p e ny Sy

Pt ECSE 5 5N 3 | 4
T OCa T E

~

HCOTOOY—OT

i

]

[ 21

05 PMZ+08-pPM3-+-40--pM)

3

[N

| wac (8/20/10



s
permit

¥

IeN

PRV, I
Wit

43 1+

4=

2

£

degas

N

K

"~
SIS

Dl

n
Fr

Sy ans

oy

=
o ban = & g S

CEORS el

LA
L2V

t

Th

HEETRG

aE-—heodd ef—the

PoLERTY
(5 o

4139
SRR o8 i SR S & o

2

A CEFY
[SINE At S te g vt &

=Y

=38 4@ uivr

.
I ol oy

3319090
435 a2 v i iy

-1

P
(=)

-t

-

P S o g g 3y

hen—the—permit—was—tast—

&l
1t

LI O g iy 1

i

ettt

Syat

e
B O T

xx A d-aoeer
AT

i

IDEYY
T

L1213
1

-G

rame—ef—

’

wsed—to—attow—burnring—eof-acreas

a—Jax

STEgTea oy

oy

K

N

i g 5 e e §

4

£l g o e

4

3

by

In

$=1n
[SrS ey

[ e a e

mer
ESS=S PATASAS yupe o By

b
O C

Fe
¥

e

O

+T

e

i BT

4o

Lo A EE
TIPS

“
Ot

1
T

i+

4o )

2 :
Reguiring

n

FAMAY

T

1
04 a Sope

4=
535}

G-

W

[Sryneuer

P

5

a

CYy—Gays

y

1

ycde

t
T g St

o
g w6

A e e £
> S i ¥ 6

Al 4l erm
WG

4

PeTHT

qern s

=

"

oy

2
g

[SESASaame g S e ok

o

IFr

PR
chtelr

P 4

Fp

N i ol o e de e e
[RISRuLE g vy 535 TS —aee

FARNY

T

oY
Tt

]y
Ottty

IS

e

o § 4

oAy

rclaae
Taa ¥

(S

a

1
fiiy i i vt

rye e
[

FN
Eh

g
FREE

per

.
Tine

e e
CEATE S

.

£l
(S

TN LN

S-ght g

R IP
4

\i-‘—/

—the—acres—

s

T3

hedder—mus

r—the—-aeres—

Ce

transferred-may-no—teonger—pbe—bu

35

Eral

4=
THoT

4

£
CraRSTTerret

Aol

)
[£353W 3

aES

Faadennon

[PAE ¥ e

R SN
CRaT

W e

(&)

e

chie—a

Tt e—y

wht-chetl
t1t

mer
WOt

NP

SYv i s FaS

SOV
year

nelaae
S my o 0 o e

33 EER 2N o
(S8

irrned—diiged
DRrred—during

Az
Ay

] 3

o

PRI =

Fac

S—pta

e
i

e

(S WS i e 26 o

PN

sy —aact

+

1) o
[ 1 p i A5 s gy Vgl o o )

o

el 1
TTT O [ e gt vy

1. EPN
[Cysavy

TCOTOGY

g s vy

ek
wWth

£ a3,
o3

O

eV

Fqen =
g e e

PermtTs

Aera

=
i

EVSENEENPNE o
L S 0 3 i i

I
e

3

4
P o1 oy i s e e

-

e e

SR

%

I

k
YyeToetit

e
t=

PN N NN
T a1t

vila
Wit

EET G

5

g
£or

4

onty—-pernits

O

{4 xr)
TV

4o

ey ey e
e (3 A vy t}l/.LJLL_LL,‘

BB ASAS A S B M S %

T

RS I el
= SR M N S A L e

i

e e fregeae
IO g 9 i e I s S i

[ 22 ]

)

v

PMzs

3:05

| WAC (8/20/108/20/10642¢



$=]a
L% & Wy

= O N

Eypiacmsy.
[EACE AR TIE AT Ry VA e g iy ¥ S v ap & 4

o) e
R

Ao g el pEnd.
TGS

2.

4o

= A0 ¥ 1
J AP LI S ¥ Sy § g upe

TOT

Aipamer
(S Sy S a5

Foth 37 B
T enCyear

1
4_

Toyanaa o ans g
oA Ty

WSR2
TIEORY

e
LI S i A B i s S R 3

foan

o
age

13.- £ oo
A Suan'e S 1

™
GICUT

P

31
S P

(B2 w)

fanoy e ooy cnde
T arSaCtdt

EER N
T e

T

kgl

Wit

.

tlod aeegiatea
[eRwy wiv)

£

i

<)
e

EVNENE SUEN

S EAREIMPT

P flad
Seav i

Dt

Loz

T Oh

(V% § g are)

V=T

€

[P S Y@ e

T

7

1,

e ] &F
(S S g i o § 4 puS ap S S22 1)

h
(o § aet

e PN T AP . Py
ES [SASAS RCR T o A S

W

PPN
oy T

P
¥ g

4de s

LIS v s S R & e

1k
ot

i
I

Lard
VT

&

OOy

ESEN ELN PR N
Tw EEY

-EF-

fegm el
Eracing—k

1
o OW

o 4 i
[SE® VL s U)’ OTEEIT TETTCEC L=

AT

1At

to—adfust

4

P

oy et
iUl o oo Tty Ow Ty

ey

erte

3

T OW

a
=)

-aL

K}

13 4

13

Furisdietions

Sy

(e

q s Ty ey ey O |
(SN Iy S Ay i & e

a8t Sty

P2 B ST o8
g = i i

]
T O O—a e

ey o
[N5 RRRNS Pp N iy

fioen
L3

AN ¥y oyt E R A AR T,
Altternate—open—burning—pra

A1
7

2

ey —b

EPS
Sy S aSpi s

ot th
T

Pyl Py
KROWrEagcS

=y,
ot

1Oy

Jal e
=

W

PRSPV
SES

FEHSS

™ 3
3G O0ns

IPEWE

s

Ynaade N TP S
AR

%

SOME—DUITT TNy

P B AN R

Pr

T

p AV o oy

TGO Ve

oot

FENEIEE =

P etTrets

eotegy

-EF-

I

P T SRS
JLgs spSpe L s SV W s ¥ s Y 4 Y

.

o

OPetT

Wz ea

1

In

2N T

orantd£a

ThO5 iz

TOW

oot ary—S

£4

substantd

s
32y

)

«

Kl

Ly 4
DFERg-—-praceiee {89

Iya3acma

4o

1

EREEN
(& s g G o B § 4 i WGy

+h
<

PP R S
CoIrby

PR
pilie

togy

o
©

ree—Ee—

£
7

o

U emeChits—0T

e
IO

el
ERL L g

>/ EM-S S rons

Lan
(&8 &

SN
CTIRDS

ERP P
S-Sy

+

*

.

SR S APEN IR SNE N e B |
S Sy S S S A W T 1L 0y

PoRERE

528 5 ne s s v v W i S0 Srpl B

It

'
t

2 ek
ig—adiugted

PR I
S

Figy .
of—tEhe—pra

Tt

4
apPPr i Catl

B

PaE |
=g

g

TSt

7

£ 4 4
(e [ 194 wr) iy wy OAS

reat e e S 3N 3—5o—as

o)

STV eness—in

i

£F
£

£
e

P
Ehd-5

£
o

4 PR NP SEE EEC=N I = 2
A v 4y Gty e ooy

+raciiet

PRIt N
RSSO TR

med

Tt

EEREN

subsectton—aned

4

PNYENE RV ENeey
EERCAY v o e § Ay )

et
T OTY

*

RS8O

ECS 2N
T

al 1
(o3 ¥ 1 i ngn

a8

T

i

VT

Al Fag

L TV 5 Ay
Cra—Eaat

Py

1
(SRS i S W A S ol o e

e er ey o
P SR

£ 16 P y
[ CELECr LI A i vy \jJ_OLOL) \j.LUVVll

g i n

1N
S ¥ s

¥
i

[ 23]

)

05 PMas

3

AU

5410

106
O

| WAC (8/20/1084204



e e S L) RS TN SO, FP SR
o vy W S "y LT [y fSv oy CTTIRD LRIV B NP0 il WV W SR & Sy
S Ty

. '[ Formatted: Font: Bold

(7) Pther laws. A farmer must obtain any local permits, -~

licenses, or other approvals required by any other laws,

rulesregulations, or ordinances. The farmer must also honor
other agreements entered into with any federal, state, or local

agency.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 70.94.650, 70.94.743, and 70.94.745.
‘06-16-052 (Order 04-10), § 173-430-040, filed 7/26/06, effective
8/26/06. Statutory Buthority: RCW 70.94.656. 98-12-016 (Order
97-45), § 173-430-040, filed 5/26/98, effective 6/26/98.
Statutory Authority: RCW 70.94.656(4). 97-03-021 (Order 96-
05), § 173-430-040, filed 1/7/97, effective 2/7/97. Statutory
Authority: RCW 70.94.650. 95-03-083 (Order 94-17), § 173-430-
040, filed 1/17/95, effective 2/17/95; 93-14-022° (Order 92-58),
§ l73~430-b40, filed 6/28/93, effective 7/29/93. Statutory
Authority: RCW 70.94.331. 90-19-062 (Order 90-10), § 173-430-
040, filed 9/17/90, effective 10/18/90; Order DE 77-20, § 173-

430-040, filed 11/9/77. Formerly WAC 18-16-040.]

. . . : P Commen‘t‘[RPlO]:“we‘ revised language
WAC 173-430~041 Agricultural burning lFees| 7 | moved from WAC 173-430-040 (4} for
T T TS TT o m s s this section. ‘ !

(1) RCW 70.94.6528 provides the following maximum fees for

agricultural burning:

Field burning $3.75 per acre

Pile burning $1.00 per ton

(2) RCW 70.94.6528 (5) authorizes the agricultural burning

| WAC (8/20/108/20/106/25/%0 3:05 PM2+08—PM3+40-—BM) [ 24 ]




practices and research task force

(Task force) to determine the

level of the fee.

(a) 2011 fee schedule.

Fees starting in the calendar vyear

2011 are found in subsection

(5)

of this section.

(b)

Establishing new fee schedules.

Ecology and the Task

force will examine the fee schedule using the process in WAC

173-430-042.

(3) Calculating the fee.

The fee consists of a minimum fee

plus any applicable variable fee.

(a)

Minimum fee,

The minimum fee includes burning of the

base number of ‘acres or tons published in the fee schedule.

(b) Variable fee. Field burning and pile burning permits

allowing the farmer to burn more acres or tons than the base

included in the minimum fee require an additional acre or per

ton fee.

{(c) The following table shows which types of burning have a

variable fee,

Type of Burning

Variable Fee

Field Burning

Fee applied for each additional

acre

Spot Burning

None - Spot burn permits must

not exceed the base amount of

acres published in the fee

schedule.

Pile Burning

Fee applied for each additional

ton

WAC (8/20/1084204106425440 3:05
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(4) Fee components. The permit fee helps off-set the cost

of administering and enforcing the agricultural burning permit

program. The fee consists of three components:

e Permitting program administration;

e Smoke management administration, and;

e Research.

(a) Permitting program administration. The permitting

authority may set the fee as an amount no more than the amount

published in the fee schedule,

(i) The local air authority or delegated permitting

authority must establish this portion of the fee by an

appropriate, public process such as a local rule, oxdinance, or

resolution.

(ii1)In areas of the state where Ecology has permitting

authority and has not delegated that authority, Ecology will

charge the following for local permitting program

administration:

(A) Starting in 2011, the amount listed in subsection

(6)[(a)] of this section.

(B) For subsequent fee changes, the amount published in the

fee schedule. Ecology will publish the fee schedule using the

process in WAC 173-430-042,

(b) Smoke management administration. This portion of the

fee will:

(1) Help off-set the statewide or regionwiedeal costs of the

agricultural burning program.

| WAC (8/20/108/26/466/25/40 3:05 PMR+08—PM3+49-DM) [ 26 ]
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(ii) Help fund the education, and smoke management

activities of Ecology or the local air authority.

(¢) Research fund. The Task Force will determine the

research portion of the fee based on applied research needs,

regional needs and the research fund budget.

(5) Permit fee schedule. Table 1 shows the permit fee

schedule, starting in the calendar vyear 2011. This fee schedule

will remain in place until Ecology and the Task force adjust it

using the process in WAC 173-430-042. Please see

http://wuww.ecy.wa.gov, contact FEcology, or contact your local air

authority for the most current fee schedule or fee distribution.

Table 1. Agricultural burning fee schedule, starting calendar

vear 2011
Fee Minimum Fee Variable Fee
Field Burning 530 for the first 10 |$3.00 for each
acres | - |l additional acre
Spot Burn 530 for 10 acres or None
less
Pile Burning 380 for the first $50.50 for each
100 tons additional ton

(6) Permit fee Distribution. Table 2 shows the permit fee

distribution, starting in the calendar year 2011. This

distribution will remain in place until Ecology and the Task

force adjust it using the process in WAC 173-430-042. Please see

http://www.ecy.wa.gov, contact FEcology, or contact your local air

WAC (8/20/109%29%%96%2%%%@ 3:05 PMZ+08—PM3-+40—-pM) [ 27 ]




authority for the most current fee schedule or fee distribution.

Table 2. Agricultural burning fee distribution

Fee Permitting Research Smoke
Au,t._h_czi;ﬂgfgy_._ Management
Administration

Field Burning 515,00 50 $15.00

Minimum Fee

Field Burning

$1.25 per acre

$0.50 per acre

Variable Fee

Spot Burn Fee

$15.00

Pile Burning

Minimum Fee

Pile Burning

$0.10 per ton

$0.10 per ton

50,30 per ton

Variable Fee

(7) Refunds. The farmer may receive a refund if requested

in writing within 30 calendar days of the permit expiration

date. The farmer may only receive a refund for the portion of

the variable fee paid for the acres or tons not burned.

(a) The permitting authority may keep the minimum fee as

reimbursement for the costs of processing the permit

application.

(b) The permitting authority will not issue refunds of less

than twenty—£d

detlarsthe minimum fee in WAC 173-430-041(5)

due to the cost of processing refunds.

WAC (8/20/108/20/106/25/416 3:05 PMZ+08—PM3+40—DM)
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~ .-} Comment [RP12]: This section i3
WAC 173-430-042 Adjusting agricultural burning Ee@ﬂw-_wm,»*_x*/ completely new. . :

(1) RCW 70.94.6528 provides the following maximum fees for

agricultural burning:

Field burning $3.75 per acre

Pile burning $1.00 per ton

(2) RCW 70.94.6528 (5) authorizes the agricultural burning

practices and research task force (Task force) to determine the

level of the fee,.

(3) Process for adjusting the fee schedule for agricultural

burning. The process for adjusting the fee schedule requires the

following two steps:

®» The Task force must determine the fee schedule using the

process established in subsection (4) of this section,

e If the Task force decides to adjust the fee schedule,

Becology will finalize the new fee schedule through the

pfocess established in subsection (6) of this section.

(4) Task force process to determine agricultural burning

fees. The Task force may examine the agricultural burning fee

schedule once a year using the process outlines in the section.

However, The Task force must examine the agricultural burning

fee schedule at least every two years. The Task force process

for examining the agricultural burning fee schedule must include

the following:

WAC (8/20/108/20/106+425440 3:05 PM2+B8—PM3+49-PM) [ 29 ]




(a) Ecology will submit, to the Task force, a summary of

the costs of the permit and smoke management programs before the

first Task force meeting of the vear.

(b) The agenda for the first Task force meeting of the year

must include examining the current fee schedule.

(¢) Ecology will notify stakeholders and permit

holders of time, date, location, and agenda for the Task force

meeting.

(d) Based on the information provided by Ecology,

under (a) of this subsection, the Task force will decide if they

need to adjust the agricultural burning fee schedule.

(e) If the Task force decides to adjust the

agricultural burning fee schedule, they must determine the new

fee schedule at a regularly scheduled meeting.

(5) Examining the fee schedule more frequently. The Task

force may examine the agricultural burning fee schedule more

frequently than every two years, if all of the following occurs:

(a) The Task force determines the fee schedule during one

of their regularly scheduled meetings.

(b) Bcology finalizes the fee schedule using the process in

subsectioh (6) .

(6) Ecology process to finalize fees set by the Task force.

After the Task force determines a new fee schedule, Ecology

will:

(a) Post the proposed fee schedule on the agency website

WAC (8/20/108420/106/25/10 3:05 PM2+08-PM3+49—-PM) [ 30 ]




for public review and comment.

(b) Publish a notice of a public hearing.

(i) The notice will include all of the following:

° Time;
® Date;

® Tocation;

® Last day Ecology will accept written

Commentr I35

comments., i :
.-| Comment [m13]: Check consistency of
(ii) At a minimum, Ecologyl will publish the notice in _»7i..| capitalization of “Ecology”
§ - throughout: document

the following locations:

(A) Washington State Register

(B) Ecology website

(c) Hold a public hearing at least twenty days after

completing the actions in (a) and (b) of this subsection. -

(d) Accept written comments on the proposed fee schedule.

fcology must receive comments by the time and date specified in

the hearing notice, or a later time and date established at the

hearing.

(e) Consider comments received and provide‘a written

response to comments to the Task force and anyone who commented.

(f) FEcology will finalize the fee schedule by December 1 of

the calendar year before it becomes effective.

(g) Ecology will publish the fee schedule by:

i) Notifying stakeholders and permit holders of the

new fees.

(1i) Posting a response to comments on the Ecology

WAC (8/20/108420/4166/25/446 3:05 PMZ+08—PM3+49—pM) [ 31 ]




website.

(7) Effective date of the new fee schedule. The new fee

schedule becomes effective January 1 of the calendar after it is

finalized.

WAC 173-430-044 Additional requirements for burning field

or turf grasses grown for keed.

(l)Ecology will proceed with the process to certify

alternatives to burning as identified in RCW 70.94.656(3). In

addition to the certification process, ecology is also limiting

the number of acres allowed to be burned as specified in RCW

70.94.656(4) .

(a) Beginning in 1997 and until approved alternatives

become available, each farmer is limited to burning no more than

one-third of the number of acres in grass seed production on May

1, 1996. "In production" means planted, growing and under the

control of the farmer.

Without regard to any previous burn permit history, in

1996, each farmer shall be limited to burning the greater of:

(1) Two-thirds of the number of acres the farmer burned

under a valid permit issued in 1995; or

(ii) Two=-thirds of the number of acres in grass seed

production on May 1, 1996. "In production" means planted,

growing and under the control of the farmer.

(b) Exemptions to the requirements for burning of field and

WAC (8/20/108426/406/25/46 3:05 PM2+08—PM3-+45-PM) [ 32 ]
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turf grasses grown for seed -£(a) of this subsection). A farmer

may request an exemption for extraordinary circumstances, such

as property where a portion(s) of the field is oddly shaped or

where the slope is extremely steep. This provision does not

apply to WAC 173-430-045 Alternatives to burning field or turf

grasses grown for seed. Under this subsection, relief from the

acreage/emissions reduction requirements of (a) of this

subsection is limited to no more than five percent of the

acreage in production on May 1, 1996, and is also subject to the

following provisions:

(i) The exemption request must be certified by an agronomic

professional;

(1i) The farmer must~be able to show full compliance with

the emissions reductions in (a) of this subsection for the

acreage not exempted; and

{(iii) The farmer must be in full compliance with permit

requirements for other crops under WAC 173-430-040.

(c) Measurement for emission reduction for grass seed field

and turf grass. FKcology will use acres as the basis for

determining emission reductions as provided by RCW 70.94.656,

until another method(s) is shown to be better and meets with the

intent of RCW 70.94.656(4). Bcology will investigate alternate

methods, as they become available. If ecology finds that an

alternate method is appropriate and meets the criteria, it may

certify this method using an administrative order,

(d) Ecology or the local air authority may provide for

WAC (8/20/108426/4466/25/16 3:05 PM2:+08—PM3+49—PM) [ 33 ]




trading of permits using the method described in this

subsection. This trading system uses a straight transfer of

acres, a transfer requiring mandatory compensation, or a

combination of both. If ecology or the local air authority

finds that emissions resulting from trading are creating a

health impact, as defined by ecology or the local air authority,

the trading system, once created, may be dissolved. This

provision does not apply to WAC 173-430-045 Alternatives to

burning field or turf grasses grown for seed.

(i) Ecology or the local air authority may develop a system

that allows the trading of permits by:

(A) Adding a signed transfer line to the written permit

that provides for a signature for the current holder of the

permit;

(B) Providing a tracking system that identifies the current

holder of the permit, that identifies when the permit was last

used to allow burning of acreage, and that allows the name of

the holder to be changed if the transfer line i1s signed by the

current holder;

(C) Requiring that the new holder of the permit must turn

in the permit with the signed transfer line at least sixty days

before the new holder plans to burn; and

(D) Assuring that the permits are used only once in a

calendar year.

(ii) By signing the transfer line on the permit the permit

holder must indicate that he or she understands that the acres

WAC (8/20/108420/106/25416 3:05 PMz+08-—PM3-+49—PM) [ 34 ]




transferred may no longer be burned, that a permit for the acres

transferred will not be issued to the signing permit holder in

future years, and that the acres being transferred were not

already burned during the calendar year during which the

transfer takes place.

(iii) FEcology and the local air authorities may add

restrictions to the transfer of permits closer to areas with

higher population densities,

(iv) Only permits for acreage which has not yet been burned

may be transferred or traded. The seller of the permit is

responsible for permanently reducing the acreage burned by the

amount of acreage transferred from January 1 of the year during

which the transaction takes place.

(v) Acreage that is exempted under (e) of this subsection

is not eligible for the trading system.

(vi) The authorities are encouraged to work together to use

the same system and to allow trading between authority

jurisdictions so as to allow the grass seed growers to adjust to

the two-thirds overall reduction in acres permitted for burning

as easily as possible.

(e) Alternate open burning practices for field and turf

grass grown for seed. Ecology acknowledges that there may be

practices that involve some burning, but which produce emissions

quantifiably below those of open field burning. If ecology

finds that a practice involves open burning and still

substantially reduces emissions below open field burning,
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ecology may certify the alternate burning practice(s) by

administrative order. Any certified practice may be used to

satisfy the acreage/emissions reduction requirements of (a) of

this subsection provided:

(i) The acreage application of the practice is adjusted to

reflect effectiveness in reducing emissions so as to meet or

exceed the emissions reduction required by (a) of this

subsection; and

(ii) In no case will theé emission reduction requirement for

the field and turf grass grown for seed be less than that

required in WAC 173-430-044 (1) (a).

WAC 173-430-045 Alternatives to burning field andfor turf
grasses grown for seed. ‘(1) When is open burning of field and
turf grasses grown for seed prohibited?

The Washington Clean Air Act prohibits open burning of
field and turf grasses grown for seed whenever ecology has
concluded, through a process spelled out in the act, that any
procedure, program, technique, or device constitutes a practical
alternate agricultural practice to open burning, and that
alternate is reasonably available.

(2) Has écology certified practical alternatives to open
burning of field or turf grasses grown for seed?

Yes. Ecology concludes that mechanical residue management
constitutes a practical alternate agricultural practice to the

open burning of field and/for turf grasses grown for seed.
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Mechanical residue management means removing, including
arranging for removal of, the residue using nonthermal,
mechanical techniques including, but not limited to: Tilling,
swathing, chopping, baling, flailing, mowing, raking, and other
substantially similar nonthermal, mechanical techniques.
Ecology further concludes that mechanical residue management is
practical throughout all phases of seed production including:

(a) When the field is planted {(establishment);

(b) When the field is producing seed (harvest years);

(c) When the field is prepared for replanting (tear-out).

(3) Are the alternatives to open burning that have been
certified by ecology reasonably available?

Ecology concludes that mechanical residue management is
reasonably available throughout the state wherever baling can be
used. Baling is the process of gathering the residue and moving
it off  the field. Typically, a machine known as a "baler" is
used to gather and bundle residue that is already cut.

éased on this conclusion, the open burning of field awme-tor
turf grasses grown for seed is prohibited except as described in
subsection (4) of this section. This rule does not require the
use of any particular practice or technique. A farmer may use
any alternate practice that does not involve field burning.

(4) Under what circumstances may open burning of field or
turf grasses grown for seed be allowed?

(a) Where a farmer establishes that mechanical residue

management is not reasonably available on specific portions of a
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field under specific production conditions due to slope. In a
request for a waiver, a farmer must certify in writing to
ecology or local air authority the following:

(i) Baling is not reasonably available due to slope. A
farmer must explain why baling is not reasonably available,
referring to specific facts supporting this belief.

Unacceptable facts include, but are not limited to, general
statements about burning as a tool for the routine control of
weed and disease, for seed propagation purposes, or as a less
costly alternative to mechanical residue management. A farmer
may use statements from three separate businesses providing
baling services as part of their commercial operation to support
the belief that baling is not reasonably available due to slope.
In the statements, the businesses must.certify that they are
independent from the farmer and have no financial interest in
the farmer's operation;

(1i) Current harvest practices have not diminished the

ability to use mechanical residue management;

(444 Wl ald d 4 L i el £ n gt Yoo e FEP o
\ LT L pu Ry LL\JLA\AL LT iy [ R Ny o S T JE SO I W o P A I M Yl e g W WO CTTUONTTY
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ana-PrIror—to—tn oY EA—Rarvest—8easony

(iiiw) The ground or portions of the field have not been
burned three years in a row in the three years preceding the
request for a waiver;

| (iv) The ground or portions of the field will remain,
without replanting, in grass production at least through the

next harvest season following burning;
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| (vi) Residue from any neighboring fields or portions of
fields under the control of the farmer will be removed
to prevent fire from spreading to areas where burning is not
allowed; and

[ (vi4) Adjustments in field rotations and locations cannot
be made at any time during the rotational cycle and could not
have been made when planted to allow the use of mechanical
residue management techniques.

(b) Where a farmer establishes that extreme conditions
exist. Ecology or a local air authority, at their discretion,
may grant a réquest for a waiver for extreme conditions. The
farmer must certify in writing the following:

(i) Why mechanical residue management is not reasonably
available, referring to specific facts supporting this belief.
Unacceptable facts include, but are not limited to, general
statements about burning as a tool for the routine control of
Qeed and disease, for seed propagation purposes, or as a less
costly alternative to mechanical residue management;

(ii) He/she did not cause or create the condition to
purposefully avoid using mechanical residue management

techniques;

(iri-in—Field-preduetieon—ds—after—the—f

and—prieor—teo—the—fourth—harvest—seasoni
(iliw) The ground or portions of the field have not been

burned three years in a row in the three years preceding the
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request for a wailver;

| (iv) The field will remain, without replanting, in grass
production at least through the next harvest season following
burning;

‘ (vi) Residue from any neighboring fields or portions of
fields under the control of the farmer will be removed prior to
burning and that reasonable precautions will be taken to prevent
fire from spreading to areas where burning is not allowed; and

l (vi%) Adjustments in field rotations and locations cannot
be made at any time during the rotational cycle, and could not
have been made when planted to allow the use of mechanical
residue management techniques.

(c) Where a farmer demonstrates to ecology or local air
authority that his/her small agricultural operation is eligible
for mitigation. |

For 1998 only, ecology or a local air authority may allow
burning on a small agricultural operation. A small agricultural
operation owner has a gross 1997 revenue from all agricultural
operations of less than $300,000. A farmer must show
information of sufficient quantity and quality to ecology or a
local air authority to establish gross revenue from agricultural
operations. A small farm owner may burn current acreage up to
25% of 1997 acreage burned under a valid permit. Fields taken
out of production after the 1997 harvest season and in 1998
cannot be counted in the determination of 1997 acreage burned

for the purpose of eligible burn acreage.
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(d) Where a request for a waiver is approved under (a),

(b), and (c) of this subsection, the following additional
limitations also apply:

Total burn acreage must not exceed 1/3 of a farmer's
acreage in production on May 1, 1996. Permits issued pursuant—
feunder (a), (b), or (c) éf this subsection are not eligible for
the permit trading program identified in WAC 173-430-040.

(5) What is the process for a farmer to request a waiver
for circumstances described in subsection (4) of this section?

(a) A farmer submits a request for a waiver.

‘ Sixty days prier—tebefore the planned burn date, a farmer
must submit in writing a request to ecology or a local air
authority. In the request, the farmer must identify the
circumstances and meet the specific requirements of subsection

l (4)Xa), (b), andfor (c) of this section. Ecology or the local
air authority may require the request to be submitted on a form
or in a format provided by ecology or the local air authority.

(b) Ecology or local air authority evaluates the request
for a waiver.

Upon receiving a request for a waiver, ecology or the local
air authority will determine if the necessary documents and
information provided is complete enough to evaluate the request.

~If incomplete, ecology or local air authority will advise the
farmer and suspend further evaluation until the request for a
walver is complete. The documents and information identified as

necessary to complete the request must be delivered to ecology
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burning. Once a request for a waiver is deemed complete,
ecology or the local air authority will evaluate the request and
decide whether the burning waiver is appropriate. As part of
the evaluation, ecology or the local air may conduct an on-site
inspection.

If ecology or local air authority denies a request for a
waiver, the reasons will be provided to the farmer in writing.
If approved, ecology or the local air authority will notify the
farmer by convenient means. Ecology will also notify the
appropriate delegated authority.

(c) The farmer applies for an agricultural burning permit.

If ecology or local air authority approves a request for a
waiver; the farmer must complete a permit application and pay
the fee as described in WAC 173-430-040. A delegated authority
must receive written authorization from ecology that a waiver

application.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 70.94.656. 98-12-016 (Order 97-45),

§ 173-430-045, filed 5/26/98, effective 6/26/98.]

WAC 173—430—050 Best management praétices. (1) The Ag
€Task force must identify best management practices for

agricultural burning that are economically feasible and socially
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acceptable. Practical alternative production methods and
controls which would reduce or eliminate agricﬁltural burning
must be used when reasonably available.

(2) The Ag—tTask force may establish an agricultural
burning general best management practice and crop-specific best
management practices as appropriate. The Ag—£Task force will
work in conjunction with conservation districts and extension
agents or other local entities in developing best management
practices. The Ag—tTask force may review and approve crop-
specific best management practices which have been developed or
recommended by an individual or group.

(3) Approved best management practices information will be
available from permitting authorities. The Ag—tTask force, as
it deems necessary, will hold public workshops on best
management practices that have changed or are new and will
periodically review the best management practices starting three
years after approval.

(4) The Ag-tTask force will clarify best management
practices and make interpretative decisions as needed,
considering all authoritative sources on the subject.

(a) An individual or group may request a best management
practice clarification from the +Task force.

(b) The chair of the Ag—+Task force may direct the
questioned practice to a subgroup of +£Task force members,
provided that agricultural, research, and regulatory interests

are included and all +Task force members are notified, or may
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direct it to the whole Ag—+tTask force.
(5) The Ag—tTask force will medifychange best management

practices as necessary to incorporate the latest research.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 70.94.650. 95-03-083 (Order 94-17),
§ 173-430-050, filed 1/17/95, effective 2/17/95. Statutory
Authority: RCW 70.94.331. 90-19-062 (Order 90-10), § 173-430-
050, filed 9/17/90, effective 10/18/90; Order DE 77-20, § 173-
430-050, filed 11/9/77. Formerly WAC 18-16-050.] v

WAC 173-430-060 Research into alternatives to agricultural

burning. (1) The-department—shaldEcology will administer the
research portion of the permit fee to carry out the
recommendations of the &Ag—tTask force. In carrying out the
recommendations, +the-departmentEcology may conduct, cause to be
conducted, or approve of a study or studies to explore and test
economical and practical alternative practices to agricultural
burning. To conduct any—suehthe study, the-departmentEcology
may contract with public or private entities. Any approved
study shadimust provide for the identification of suehthe
alternatives as soon as possible.

(2) No less than every two years, the Ag—tTask force will

review research needs and submitted proposals and make its

recommendations to the—departmentlcology.
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[Statutory Authority: RCW 70.94.650, 70.94.743, and 70.94.745.
06-16-052 (Order 04-10), § 173~430-060, filed 7/26/06, effective
8/26/06. Statutory Authority: RCW 70.94.650. 95-03-083 (Order
94-17), § 173-430-060, filed 1/17/95, effective 2/17/95; 93-14-
022 (Order 92-58), § 173-430-060, filed 6/28/93, effective
7/29/93. Statutory Authority: RCW 70.94.331. 90-19-062 (Order
90-10), § 173-430-060, filed 9/17/90, effective 10/18/90; Order
DE 77-20, § 173-430-060, filed 11/9/77. Formerly WAC 18-16-

060.1

WAC 173-430-070 General agricultural burning permit
conditions and criteria. Permit decisions including the
issuance, denial, or conditioning must be based on consideration
of air quality conditions in the area affectedlby the proposed
burning, the time of year, meteorological conditions, the size
and duration of thé proposed burning activity, the type and
amount of vegetative material to be burned, the applicant's need
to carry out suwepthe burning, existence of extreme burning
conditions, risk of escape onto property owned by another, and
the public's interest in the environment.

(1) Permits must include the following general conditions:

(a) Do not burn at night unless it is specified as a best
management practice;

(b) Comply.with all fire safety regulationsrules of the

local fire protection agency including any no-burn directives it
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may issue;

(c) Call the local air authority burning information line
(if there is one) before lighting the fire;

(d) Burn only during times specified by the permitting
authority;

(e) Burn when wind takes the smoke away from roads, homes,
population centers, or other public areas, to the greatest
extent possible;

(f) Do not burn when adverse meteorological conditions
exist;

(g) Burn only natural vegetation;

(h) Do not burn or add fuel during any stage of an air
pollution episode or local air quality burning ban;

(i) Attend the fire at all times;

(3) Submit a postburn report to the permitting authority.

(2) If the permitting authority determines a specific
sitﬁation will cause a nuisance under chapter 173-400 WAC or RCW

70.94.640, agricultural burning will not be allowed.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 70.94.650, 70.94.743, and 70.94.745;
06-16-052 (Order 04-10), § 173-430-070, filed 7/26/06, effective
8/26/06. Statutory Authority: RCW 70.94.650. 95-03-083 (Order
94-17), § 173-430-070, filed 1/17/95, effective 2/17/95; 93-14~
022 (Order 92-58), § 173-430-070, filed 6/28/93, effective
7/29/93. Statutory Author%ty: RCW 70.94.331. 90-19-062 (Order

90-10), § 173-430-070, filed 9/17/90, effective 10/18/90; Order
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DE 77-20, § 173-430-070, filed 11/9/77. Formerly WAC 18-16-
070.1

WAC 173-430-080 Responsibilities of a permitting
authority. (1) The permitting authority is ecology or its
delegate or a local air authority with Jjurisdiction or its
delegate. The permitting authority must establish and
administer an agricultural burning permit system. The minimum
responsibilities are described in this section.
(2) The permitting authority must act on a complete
application (as determined by ecology or a local air authority
with jurisdiction) within seven days of receipt. : ‘
(a) Local air authorities are—required-—tomay use C,(:_’;)(‘{\\N\Q(\»&Tq \4 B\{f‘?
application templates and permit templates supplied by eEcology.
Ecology delegated authorities are required to use applications

and permits supplied by eFcology.

(b) A map ds~reguired—temust accompany all permit

applications.

(1) The map must accurately depict the topography of the
area where the requested burn would take place and include
roads,_and landmarks,—ete.

(1ii) The map must accurately show affected acreage to be
burned.

(1iii) The map must show the position of the field within

each section the field occupies, down to the 1/4 - 1/4 section.
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All four border lines of each section shatd+must be outlined with
the section number, township, and range clearly marked.

(c) The permitting authority must evaluate the application
and approve or deny all or part of it.

(d) The permitting authority must evaluate the application
to determine if the requested burning is within the general or
crop-specific best management practices.

(e) If the application is denied, the reason must be
stated.

(3) Permitting authorities must issue permits where
appropriate on complete applications. Delegated permitting
authorities may issué permits when égreéd to as part of the
delegation order.

(4) Permitting authorities must determine day-to-day
burning restrictions near populated areas and arrange for
dissemination of the results. Delegated permitting authorities
must arrange for assisting in dissemination of results.

(5) The permitting authority or its delegate is responsible
for responding to agricultural burning complaints.

(6) The permitting authority must collect the fee,
determine the local administration portion of the fee, and issue
refunds.

(a) Permitting'authorities must issue a permit fee refund
for permitted acres not burned on confirmation by the permitting
authority. The refund request deadline must be included on the

permits.
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(b) Local air authorities and delegated permitting

authorities must formally adopt the local administration portion

of the fee through rule, regulation, ordinance, or resolution. Q,OMV“\%(‘%’ \<:>j'

: i . -| Comment [mM15]: This refers to'a
(7) [Delegated permitting -authorities k’)f Ecology must . delegate of Ecology or a local air
: T ToTmoTmo T - authority; 'so-clarify’ that it’s" in

. N , s , reference to: permitting authorities
provide ecology with copies of all permits and supporting delegated by Ecology.

documentation and transfer the research and eeetogy—

administrationsnoke management administration portion of the fee ' K:B.\;Wg
to Ecologythe-department. Delegated permitting authorities of W‘N\Qr\!(

local air authorities must provide the local air authority or

Ecology with copies of all permits and supporting documentation

.- Comment [m16]: provision: to give

and junless approved otherwise by the local air authority, _»7. |:the local air authorities
e flexibility: as: .noted:below.
ltransfer the research portion of the fee to Fcology and the _ - -~ Comment [m17]: Tt's SRCAA's

understandingithat'local adixn
authorities may: elect to retain. the

lsmoke management administration portion of the fee to the local o Yeésearch portion of the' Foe.

Comment [m18]: SRCAR would like the
flexibility din allowing the
delegated permitting authorities to
(a) Local air authorities and delegated permitting retain this:portion of the fee.

air authority.

authorities must transfer funds twice a year by July 15 and ‘ ‘

January 15. . C,JC)T““\QJ{\)( \CBQ\

(b) Local air authorities and delegated permittirig

authorities must provide ecology copies of all permits, %
e | | NS

applications with supporting documentation, maps, and postburn CG\’*N’(\{,

reports. All spring (January-June) permits need to be provided

by July 15th and all fall (July-December) permits by January

15th.

‘ (c) The-departmenthcology must deposit all agricultural
burning permit fees in the air pollution control account.

| Delegated Ppermitting authorities of Ecology may deduct the w*ﬂ\me(\% \4'?)
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Delegated permitting authorities of local air authorities may (V\‘{\éil\

0
“ DN

deduct the permitting authority administration portion of the

fee, and if approved by the local air authority, a portion of

the smoke management portion of the fee. Local air authorities

may retain all portions of the agricultural burning fee.

(8) The permitting authority must coordinate compliance.

Violations are subject to the remedies of chapter 70.94 RCW,

Washington Clean Air Act. Clpﬂ&ﬂﬂﬁﬂf& E<Zi;

. -| Comment [m19]: propose removing
(9) The permitting authority br its delegate hust require a - this ds “permitting authority”, by
""""""""""" definition; includes. reférerice to

postburn report for all permits delegates: of Ecology or:local air

authoritiesy
(10) “The-permitting-authorityEcology or its delegate must
wtilizeuse the web-based data base for issuing all agricultural (;CD{V\YH{Z{\ﬁM_ "i 33:3

burning permits,

(a) Local air authorities and its delegates must make
‘arrangements with ecology to enter information into the web-
based data base.

(b) Ecology-delegated permitting authorities must attend a
minimum of one data base training per calendar year or as

provided by ecology.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 70.94.650, 70.94.743, and 70.94.745.
06-16-052 (Order 04-10), § 173-430-080, filed 7/26/06, effective
8/26/06. Statutory Authority: RCW 70.94.650. 95~03-083 (Order

94-17), § 173-430-080, filed 1/17/95, effective 2/17/95; 93-14-
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022 {(Order 92*58); § 173-430-080, filed 6/28/93, effective
7/29/93. Statutory Buthority: RCW 70.94.331. 90-19-062 (Order
90-10), § 173-430-080, filed 9/17/90, effective 10/18/90; Order
DE 77-20, § 173-430-080, filed 11/9/77. Formerly WAC 18-16-
080.]

WAC 173-430-090 Receiving delegation--Counties,
conservation districts, and fire protection agencies. (1) The
permitting authority is ecology or its delegate or a local air
authority with jurisdiction or its delegate. The permitting
authority is responsible for administering the agricultural
burning permit program. The agricultural burning permit program
may be delegated to conservation districts, counties, or fire
protection agencies.

(2) When ecology or a local air authority with Jjurisdiction
-finds that a county, fire protection agency or conservation
district is capable of administering the permit program and
desires to do so, it may delegate by administrative order the
administration,—andfor enforcement authority of the program, or
both. The delegated permitting authority must, at a minimum,
meet all of the following criteria:

(a) Demonstrating that the responsibilities listed under
permitting authority responsibilities section can be fulfilled;

(b) Employing, contracting with, or otherwise accessing

someone educated and trained in agronomics;
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(c) Providing a copy of the ordinance adopting the local
administration portion of the fee; -

(d) Providing a copy of agreements between counties, fire
districts, and conservation districts when more than one agency
will have responsibilities for the agricultural burning program;
and

(e) Agreeing to periodic audits and performance reviews.

(3) Delegation may be withdrawn if the-departmentEcology or
the local air authority with Jjurisdiction finds that the
agricultural burning program is not effectively being
administered andtor enforced. Before withdrawing delegation,
the delegated agency shallmust be given a written statement of
the deficiencies in the program and a compliance schedule to
correct program deficiencies. If the delegated agency fails to
correct the deficiencies according to the compliance schedule,

" then the—deparetmentEcology or the local air authority may
withdraw delegation.

(4) Permitting authorities must work through agreement with
counties (if the county is not the permitting authority) and
cities to provide convenient methods for evaluating
applications, issuing permits and granting permission to burn.

Once a delegation order has been issued, ecology or the

local air authority with Jjurisdiction must approve of any

[Statutory Authority: RCW 70.94.650, 70.94.743, and 70.94.745,
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06-16-052 (Order 04-10), § 173-430-090, filed 7/26/06, effective
8/26/06. Statutory Authority: RCW 70.94.650. 95-03-083 (Order

94-17), § 173-430-090, filed 1/17/95, effective 2/17/95.]

WAC 173-430-100 Severability. The provisions of this
regulation are severable. If any provision is held invalid, the
application of suehthe provision to other circumstances and the

remainder of the regulation will not be affected.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 70.94.650. v95—03—083 (Order 94-17),

§ 173-430-100, filed 1/17/95, effective 2/17/95.]
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August 26, 2010

Dayton Horary Comment CH
Burn fee increase

| support the burn fee increase and here are my reasons why:

1. You can only burn on designated burn days determined by the department of ecology.

2. Department of ecology has a Premier smoke management program to protect public health and

allows farmers to burn. This program is constantly being updated with the latest technology, when it

" has been proven to be better than the current technology used.

3. The environmental community is satisfied with the current program, as it does protect public health.

4. Growers are pretty much satisfied with the program, as they are able to get their fields burnt ina

timely manner.

5. This smoke management program costs money. Some of the money comes from the permit fees.

The rest comes out of the General Fund of the State of Washington.

With the state being broke, this program is in jeopardy of losing personel and possibly two days of week
of making burn calls. This program operates 365 days a year. Losing weekend burn calls is not an
option. Less people means taking longer to make a burn call, which means less hours in a day to burn.
Less people means they may push the envelope to make a burn call and could mean more marginal burn
calls which will impact public health.

6. The current burn team has worked together for a long time and knows the system, which works very

well. It would be a shame to have to break this team up due to budget restrictions.



7. Yes, department of ecology has wrecks once in a while, but so does everybody else. You look at the

problem, fix it, move on and make things better.

These are some of the reasons | support the burn fee increase.

Thank you.

Jay Penner




Appendix B: Transcripts from public hearings

Hearing Officer

So, my name is Anne Knapp and I’'m the hearing officer for tonight’s hearing: the proposed
amendments to Chapter 173-430 of the Washington Administrative Code. We have introduced
staff and staff has already made a presentation. We do not have very many people here to
speak tonight and so you will just be able, both of you, to speak for as long as you want to. And
we will let you speak first. In case you decide, you would like to say something. As Richelle said,
if you have any written comments you want to submit, they should be submitted by September
9™ with the information to the address, email address she provided for you.

Let the record show that it is about 7:40, August 26, 2010, and this hearing is being held at the
Columbia County Rural Library District, 111 S 3" St in Dayton, WA.

Legal notices of this hearing were published in the Washington State Register on August 4th,
2010 with this code WSR 10-15-071. Paid advertising was published in:
e The Walla Walla Union-Daily Bulletin on July 26, 2010,
The Spokesman-Review on July 26, 2010,
The Wenatchee World on July 26, 2010,
The Yakima Herald Republic, July 26, 2010, and
The Daily Journal of Commerce on July 26, 2010.

In addition, notices of the hearing were:

placed in the Walla Walla County Conservation District newsletter,
placed in the offices where burn per.. where burn permits are issued,
and sent via email to 627 interested people,

and a news release was issued on August 4th, 2010.

So, please step up to the microphone and give us your name and address for the record. And
you can have as long as you’d like to speak. You can stand or you can sit in the chair, whatever
you feel comfortable with.

Jay Penner
421 Fields Gulch Grove
Waitsburg, WA

| want that to go in the record as that is in Columbia County not Walla Walla County. | am going to speak
in favor.

| do support this burn fee increase and here are my reasons why:

1. Youcanonly burn on designated burn days determined by the department of ecology. If
there’s nobody there to make a burn call you won’t get to burn.
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2. Department of ecology has a premier smoke management program to protect public health
and it allows farmers to burn. This program is constantly being updated with the latest
technology, when it has been proven to be better than the current technology used.

3. The environmental clean air community is satisfied with the current program, as it does
protect public health.

4. Growers are pretty much satisfied with the program, as they are able to get their fields
burnt in a timely manner.

5. This smoke management program costs money. Some of the money comes from permit
fees. The rest comes out of the General Fund of the State of Washington. With the state
being broke, this program is in jeopardy of losing personnel and possibly two days a week of
making burn calls. This program operates 365 days a year. Losing weekend burn calls is not
an option. Less people, means taking longer to make a burn call, which means less hours in a
day to burn. Less people mean they may push the envelope to make a burn call and could
mean more marginal burn calls which will impact public health.

6. The current burn team has worked together for a long time and they know the system,
which works very well. It would be a shame to have to break this team up due to budget

restrictions.

7. Yes, the department of ecology has had wrecks once in a while, but so does everybody else.
You look at the problem, fix it, move on and make things better.

These are some of the reasons why | support this burn fee increase. Thank you.

Hearing Officer
Thank you. Are you going to give us a copy for...Thank you very much.

Would you like to say anything, sir? Ok.
Um, then, for the closing remarks. All testimony received at this hearing as well as at the second hearing
scheduled for September 2™, 2010 in Wenatchee, along with all written comments received by
September 9", 2010 will be part of the official hearing record for this proposal.
Ecology will send notice about the Concise Explanatory Statement publication to:

e Everyone that provided written comments or oral testimony on this rule proposal,

e Everyone that signed-in today for today’s hearing and provided an email address,
e And other interested parties on the agency’s mailing list for this rule.

So, I'm assuming that both of you will get copies of this. Ok.

Uh, the CES will, among other things, contain the agencies response to questions or issues of concern
that were raised during the public comment period.

Our next step is adoption. Ecology Director Ted Sturdevant will look at the public comments, the CES,
other rule documentation, and staff recommendations and will make a decision about adopting the
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proposal. Adoption is currently for November 10, 2010. If the proposed rule should be adopted that
date and filed with the code reviser, it will go into effect 31 days later.

If we can be of further help, please do not hesitate to ask or contact Richelle if you have other
guestions. And | want to thank you on behalf of the Department of Ecology for coming.

And let the record show this was adjourned at about 7:45.
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Hearing Officer
This is Clynda Case, hearing officer for this evening’s hearing: the proposed amendments to
Chapter 173-430 for the Washington Administrative Code, Agricultural Burning.

Let the record show that it is 6:30 on September 2nd, 2010. And no public has shown up to
Wenatchee Public Library Downstairs Conference Room at 310 Douglas St. Wenatchee, WA.

Legal notices of this hearing were published in Washington State Register, August 4th, 2010
WSR 10-15-071. Legal notices of this hearing were published in the Washington State Register,
August 4™ 2010, WSR 10-15-071. Paid advertising was published in:

e The Walla Walla Union-Daily Bulletin on July 26, 2010,

e The Spokesman-Review on July 26, 2010,

e Wenatchee World on July 26, 2010, and.

In addition, notices of the hearing were:
e placed in the Walla Walla Conserv...Walla Walla County Conservation District
newsletter,
e via email sent to 627 interested persons,
e and a news release was issued on August 4th, 2010.

Since there is no public we are not having any testimony. We are now going to close the
hearing and its 6:33.
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