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Three state costs you may pay if you spill oil or other
hazardous substance to state waters

If you are responsible for a spill of oil or hazardous substances to state
waters, in addition to paying for cleanup costs and claims from third
parties, Washington State may require you or your company to pay:
1. Anatural resource damage assessment.
2. Reimbursement of the state’s expenses to respond, assess, and
investigate the incident.
3. A penalty for violation of the state’s law or rule.

A party responsible for a threat of a spill may still be required to
reimburse the state for the cost of responding to the threat. The
responsible party’s full and rapid response to contain and clean up a spill,
and cooperation in investigation of the spill, can reduce the amount of a
resource damage assessment, or a penalty, or both.

If you receive a notice to pay one or all of the three costs, pay attention to
the deadlines explained in the notice to contest the notice or pay.

Natural Resource Damage Assessment (NRDA)

Natural resources refer to fish, wildlife, habitat, and other natural and
cultural resources of the state. Assessment is compensation for injuries to
natural resources is based on the type of oil, how much is spilled to water,
the time of year and the sensitivity of the environment the oil entered.
Most often compensation is determined by a formula called the
compensation schedule. The schedule will set compensation within a
range of $1 to $100 per gallon. Except for very small spills, Ecology will
issue a NRDA for damages to natural resources.

Determination of a damage assessment begins when Ecology sends you a
letter inviting you to a meeting of the Resource Damage Assessment

Committee. At this meeting, the Committee will conduct a “pre-assessment

screening” to determine whether compensation will be assessed either
through use of the compensation table or by studying and evaluating the
specific resources harmed. The committee will also apply credit for oil
recovered within the first 24 hours for non-persistent oil, or 48 hours for
persistent oil, after the spill.

Damage assessments are set by the committee but are issued by the
Washington State Attorney General’s Office. Payments for oil spill damages

WHY IT MATTERS
Oil spills are costly to clean
up and can cause long term
damage to the environment.
Although the risk of a
catastrophic spill is slight,
cumulatively spills of all sizes
degrade the quality of state
waters.

CONTACTS

Natural Resource Damage
Assessment (NRDA)

NRDA Team
360-407-7114
Alison.Meyers@ecy.wa.gov

Enforcement
Enforcement Coordinator
360-407-7504
Jeff.Fishel@ecy.wa.gov

State Costs Incurred to
Respond, Assess, and
Investigate the Incident

Finance Officer
360-407-6970
Tra.Thai@ecy.wa.gov

Spills Web Page:
http://www.ecy.wa.gov/progra
ms/spills/spills.html

Special accommodations:

If you need this publication in
an alternative format, call the
Spills Program at 360-407-
7455. Persons with hearing
loss, call 711 for Washington
Relay Service. Persons with
a speech disability, call 877-
833-6341.

go into the state's Coastal Protection Fund which can only be used for environmental restoration projects, oil
spill studies, and habitat mapping systems. In fact, the spiller is always welcome to propose restoration
projects instead of paying monetary damages. Reference: RCW 90.48.364 to 90.48.368, and

Chapter 173-183 WAC.
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Order for Reimbursement of State Expenses (ORE)

A party found responsible for a spill, or threat of a spill, must reimburse the state for its expenses in
responding. Spills often require the services of cleanup contractors. If you act promptly by hiring a
contractor yourself or use your own spill response equipment, outside response costs are usually minimal.
However, if the state on scene coordinator believes the cleanup is being delayed or mishandled, or there is an
environmental threat that is not controlled, Washington State may hire a contractor or use state equipment.

You are liable for reimbursing the State for the costs of contractors hired and any cleanup supplies they use.
You may also be responsible for the:

1. Response costs of the Department of Ecology and other state agencies.

2. Investigation costs.

3. Costsrelated to determining the impact to natural resources.

4. Costs associated with the capture and rehabilitation of oiled wildlife.

If you are determined responsible for the spill, Ecology will invoice you for the state’s costs in the form of an
order called an order for reimbursement of expenses. Reference: RCW 90.56.350 and 90.56.400.

Penalty for Violation of Law or Rule

Ecology may issue a penalty for violation of a state law or rule. Penalties are issued for spills to waters of the
state, failures to notify the Washington State Emergency Management Division of a spill, failures to clean up a
spill, failures to comply with an approved oil spill contingency plan, and other laws and rules. Whether we
issue a penalty and how large the penalty is depends on a number of factors. Those factors include the spill
size, type of material, impact to the environment, impact to public health and safety, effectiveness of cleanup,
and history of past violations. Other types of enforcement Ecology may use include an order, notice of
correction, or notice of violation. You can find out more about enforcement in Ecology’s FAQs on
Enforcement.

Ecology may issue a penalty for each day of a violation. For example, if there is a discharge that continues
over multiple days, each day of discharge is a violation. For oil spills, if Ecology determines that negligence,
recklessness, or intent to spill is involved, an additional penalty may be assessed for each day oil threatens
the environment. Reference: RCW 88.46.090, 90.48.140 and 90.56.330.
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