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MORE INFORMATION 

Summary of major changes: 
 The cap on agricultural 

burning fees increases from 
$2.50 to a maximum of 
$3.75 per acre. This allows 
the Agricultural Burning 
Practices and Research 
Task Force to set fees at or 
below the cap and adjust 
them up to the cap in future 
years. This provides on-
going support for Ecology’s 
smoke management system, 
now and in the future.  

 Instead of charging all 
agricultural burning fees on 
a “per-acre” basis, the 
change adds a “per-ton” fee 
for materials collected and 
burned in piles. The law 
caps the “per-ton” fee for 
pile burning at $1.  

 The Task Force still has fee-
setting authority. Ecology 
will establish fees in rule 
after the Task Force sets the 
amounts.  

 
Contact information: 
Karen Wood 
509-329-3469 
karen.wood@ecy.wa.gov 
 
Special accommodations: 
If you need this publication in 
an alternate format, call the Air 
Quality Program at 360-407-
6800. Persons with hearing 
loss, call 711 for Washington 
Relay Service. Persons with a 
speech disability, call 877-833-
6341. 

 
 
 

Fees help pay to support state’s 
farmers, protect air and health 
Ecology regulates agricultural burning to protect public health 
while keeping burning available as an important tool for 
farmers. Ecology’s Air Quality Program does this through its 
smoke management system. This system operates seven days a 
week, including holidays, to help farmers – a substantial 
investment in effort and support.  This focus sheet explains 
recent changes to fees charged to farmers for agricultural 
burning permits. 

The issue 

Farmers sometimes burn crop residue after harvest.  Some 
examples of residue are cereal grain stubble and cut-down 
orchard trees. Smoke from this burning can harm the health of 
people who breathe in the smoke’s harmful particles and 
toxics. If this smoke is carefully managed, impacts to the public 
are limited and burning remains a valuable tool for farmers. If 
the smoke is not managed well, people can be exposed to 
harmful levels of smoke.   

Permits and fees for burning 

Growers must have permits to burn most types of agricultural 
residue. The 2010 Washington Legislature amended the law 
(RCW 70.94.6528) that authorizes a permit fee for agricultural 
burning. The change raises the permit fee cap from $2.25 per 
acre to a maximum of $3.75 per acre. This is the first increase to 
the fee cap since 1991.  

The Legislature also approved a new way to assess fees. Fees 
can now be assessed for pile burning instead of on a per-acre 
basis. This new fee is capped at $1 per ton of material burned. 
The Agricultural Burning Practices and Research Task Force 
(Task Force) will set the amount of the fees under the new 
caps. The current fee for agricultural burning is $2.25 per acre.   
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How the new fees will work 

In May and June 2010, the Task Force will meet to discuss both the amount of the new fee for 
the per-acre fee cap, and the amount of the fee per ton of material burned.  After the Task Force 
sets the fees, Ecology will establish them in rule (WAC 173-430). Ecology expects the new fees 
will take effect for the January 2011 burning season.    

How this will benefit Washington 

Increasing fees will help ensure Ecology can continue to provide needed, quality smoke 
management support for farmers and citizens 365 days per year. This will help limit the effects 
of smoke on public health.  

More information 
See the Air Quality Program’s agricultural burning page: 
http://www.ecy.wa.gov/programs/air/aginfo/agricultural_homepage.htm 

http://www.ecy.wa.gov/programs/air/aginfo/agricultural_homepage.htm
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