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This information is for businesses and facilities that must
complete a Pollution Prevention (P2) Plan and pay the Hazardous
Waste Planning Fee. The purpose of the plan is to help
Washington businesses reduce pollution in our state.

Q: What is the P2 Plan and when is it due?

A: Your P2 Plan will describe how you can voluntarily reduce
your hazardous substance use and waste. The plan helps you find
and describe pollution prevention opportunities within your line
of work. It is due September 1 of each year. Ecology will notify
you if you are required to complete a plan.

Q: Who is required to complete a P2 Plan?

A: Anplanis required if your business or facility:
e Generated more than 2,640 pounds of hazardous waste
annually; or
e Reported toxic releases under Section 313 of the
Emergency Planning and Community Right to Know Act.

Q: How do | complete a plan?

A: Ecology experts can provide information and answer
questions to help you develop your plan. You can also use
TurboPlan, a web tool that guides you through preparing a
Pollution Prevention Plan. Find TurboPlan at:
www.ecy.wa.gov/programs/hwtr/p2/p3/TPGateway.html. We can
also visit your site and offer recommendations to reduce your
hazardous substance use and waste.

Q: Who pays the fee?

A: Businesses and facilities that are required to complete a plan
may also be assessed a fee. For the 2016 fee, Ecology reviewed
information from the 2015 Dangerous Waste Annual Reports (or
if this report has not been submitted, the most recent year
available) and the 2014 Toxics Release Inventory. Facilities that
generated more than 2,640 pounds of recurrent hazardous waste
are subject to the fee.
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Pollution prevention
planning benefits
business

Many facilities report benefits

from developing and following

through with their Pollution

Prevention Plans. These

benefits include:

o Improved worker safety.

e Reduced compliance and
liability costs.

e Saving money on chemical
use and waste disposal.

For more information, visit

WWW.ecy.wa.gov/programs/hwt
r/p2/p3

For more information
about planning:

Contact your Ecology region
office (names and phone
numbers provided on the back).

For more information
about fees:

Contact Vanessa O’Daniel
360-407-6731
voda461@ecy.wa.gov

Special accommodations:
Persons with hearing loss, call 711
for Washington Relay Service.
Persons with a speech disability,
call 877-833-6341.
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Q: How much money is collected and
how is it used??

A: In 2016, the total amount collected will be
$2,006,282. Ecology uses the funds from the
planning fee to help facilities:

e Prepare P2 Plans.

e Find ways to avoid or reduce hazardous waste
and the use of hazardous substances.

Q: When is the 2016 fee due?
A: Facilities must pay the fee by August 1, 2016.

Q: How do | pay the fee?

A: You will receive a return envelope with your

invoice. Enclose the tear-off billing coupon with

your payment. Credit cards cannot be used at this
time.

Q: What happens if | pay late?

A: Ecology can charge a one percent interest rate
per month on the amount of the fee according to
RCW43.17.240.

Q: What happens if | do not pay the fee?

A: Ecology can send unpaid accounts to collection
and may assess a 27 percent surcharge of the
delinquent amount. This is to recover the cost of
collection plus the delinquent amount owed.

Q: How is my fee calculated?

A: Chapter 173-305 Washington Administrative
Code (WAC) outlines the formula used to calculate
the planning fee, based on the rate per pound. The
fee is calculated from:

e Your 2014 Toxics Release Inventory Report,
counting only the on-site toxic releases to air,
land, and water (only if your hazardous wastes,
mentioned below, is over 2,640 pounds).

e Your 2015 Dangerous Waste Annual Report
(or if this report has not been submitted, the
most recent year available), counting only the
recurrent manifested waste minus off-site
recycling credits.

Wastes not counted:
= On-site recycled waste
= Exempt wastes
= Treatment by generator wastes
= Permit by rule wastes
= Non-recurrent wastes

In 20186, the fee cannot exceed a cap of $20,063 for
any individual facility or set of interrelated
facilities.

Facilities generating between 2,640 and 4,000
pounds of hazardous waste pay $61.00.

For more information about how the fee is
calculated, see WAC 173-305-220.

Q: What is the rate per pound?

A: This year it is .08092. The rate for Extremely

Hazardous Waste (EHW) is counted at ten times
that rate.

Q: Can the fee amount be adjusted?

A: No. The fee is based on 2015 Dangerous Waste
Annual reports (or if this report has not been
submitted, the most recent year available). The
deadline for amending these reports was April 1,
2016.

However, if you generated hazardous waste that
was recycled off site but didn’t include recycling
credits on your 2015 Dangerous Waste Annual
report (or if this report has not been submitted,
the most recent year available), contact Vanessa
O’Daniel with Ecology at 360-407-6731 or email
her at voda461@ecy.wa.gov.

Ecology Regional Office contacts

Northwest Regional Office  Eastern Regional Office
Jenny Yoo John Blunt
425-649-7166 509-329-3525
Jenny.yoo@ecy.wa.gov John.blunt@ecy.wa.gov

Southwest Regional Central Regional Office
Office Holly Cushman

Hugh O’Neill 509-575-2724
360-407-6354

Holly.cushman@ecy.wa.gov

Hugh.oneill@ecy.wa.gov
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