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WHY IT MATTERS 

  Increasing the exemption 
threshold to $19,500 means 
approximately 700 additional very 
small businesses will not have to 
pay the Hazardous Waste 
Generation fee each year. 

  Adjusting the exemption 
threshold each year for inflation 
keeps the size of businesses 
paying the Generation fee steady 
each year. 

  Clarifying how Ecology calculates 
inflation helps businesses 
understand how their hazardous 
waste fees are calculated each 
year.  This increases 
transparency, which is crucial to 
good government. 

  Amending the fee statute (RCW 
70.95E) does not affect other 
hazardous waste laws.  
Companies will still need to follow 
all existing rules about handling 
their waste in a safe manner. 

 
 

Contact Information: 
 

John Ridgway 
(360) 407-6713 
john.ridgway@ecy.wa.gov 
 
Kimberly Goetz 
(360) 407-6754 
kimberly.goetz@ecy.wa.gov 

 
 

Special accommodations: 

To ask about the availability of this 
document in a format for the 
visually impaired, call the 
Hazardous Waste and Toxics 
Reduction Program at 360-407-
6700.  Persons with hearing loss 
can call 711 for Washington Relay 
Service.  Persons with a speech 
disability can call 877-833-6341. 

 

 

 

Relief from Hazardous Waste 

Fees for Very Small Businesses 

In challenging economic times, the smallest businesses can 
have the toughest time surviving.  Companies struggling to 
make ends meet can find even a tiny government fee difficult 
to pay.  For the 2010 Legislative session, the Department of 
Ecology (Ecology) proposes updating current law to help ease 
some of the financial burden on approximately 700 of the 
smallest companies in Washington. 
 

The problem 

One of the fees businesses pay in Washington is the 
“Hazardous Waste Generation” fee.  All companies in the state 
that create hazardous waste pay this small fee unless they 
qualify for an exemption.  Unfortunately, the law governing 
this fee and its exemption has become outdated: 

 Exemption Threshold.  To qualify for the fee exemption, a 
business cannot make more than $12,000 a year.  This 
$12,000 income limit has not been increased since the 
Legislature created the fee in 1990.  Because of inflation, this 
means the fee applies to more very small businesses every 
year. 

 Lack of Ecology Authority to Increase Threshold.  The 
statute requires Ecology to adjust all hazardous waste fees 
for inflation (including the Generation fee).  However, the 
statute does not give Ecology the authority to increase the 
exemption threshold by the same inflation factor.  We 
believe it would be fairer to small businesses to increase the 
threshold each year by the same inflation rate as the fee. 

 Need for Technical Correction.  The law requires Ecology 
to calculate inflation using the “Gross National Product” for 
state government.  Unfortunately, the federal government 
no longer publishes this number.  Instead, they publish the 
“Gross Domestic Product” for state government.  The 
statute needs to be updated to reflect this minor change. 
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The Solution 

Ecology believes it can make the Generation fee more fair to small businesses while still 
protecting our environment.  Ecology’s proposal solves three problems: 

 Updates the exemption threshold to $19,500. This amount represents an increase of the 
original $12,000 threshold for inflation through 2009. 

 Allows Ecology to update the threshold each year for inflation.  This yearly adjustment 
keeps the size of the business paying the Generation fee in line with the Legislature’s 
original intent. 

 Updates the fee statute to replace references to “Gross National Product” to “Gross Domestic 
Product” for “state and local government.” 

 

The proposed legislation does not make any changes to laws about safety, reporting, or proper 
disposal of hazardous wastes.  The revised law would also not apply to bigger companies that 
generate large amounts of toxic and other dangerous wastes.  Our proposal would simply give 
the smallest of Washington’s businesses a needed financial break. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


