' STATE OF WASHINGTON
DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL AND HEALTH SERVICES

Aging and Long-Term Support Administration
PO Box 45600, Olympia, WA 98504-5600

April 26,2016
CERTIFIED MAIL 7007 1490 0003 4196 2102

Administrator

Kadie Glen Assisted Living
451 North Baker Avenue
East Wenatchee, WA 98802

Assisted Living Facility License #2304
Licensee: East Wenatchee Assisted Living, LLC.

IMPOSITION OF CIVIL FINES

Dear Administrator:

On April 12, 2016, the Department of Social and Health Services (DSHS), Residential Care
Services completed an inspection/investigation at your facility. This letter constitutes formal
notice of civil fines on the license for your assisted living facility, also known as Kadie Glen
Assisted Living, located at 451 North Baker Avenue, East Wenatchee, by the State of
Washington, Department of Social and Health Services. These actions are taken under the
authority granted pursuant to Laws of 1998, Chapter 272 and RCW 18.20.190.

The civil fines are based on the following violations of the RCW and/or WAC as described in the
attached Statement of Deficiencies (SOD) report dated April 12, 2016.

WAC 388-78A-2468(2)(4)(5) — Backeround checks—Employment—Conditional hire—
Pending results of Washington state name and date of birth background check.
$100.00
X Thirty-Six Work Days (Staff A) = $3.600.00
(January 7, 2016 through March 16, 2016)

The licensee failed to ensure one new staff (A), with a disqualifying crime, did not have
unsupervised access to residents.

NOTE: These are the violations which resulted in the fines; see the attached Statement of
Deficiencies for any additional violations.

Attestation (Plan of Correction):
Return the enclosed SOD within 10 calendar days with the following:

e The date you have or will have each deficiency corrected;
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e A signature and date attesting that you are taking actions to correct and maintain
correction for each cited deficiency.

Return the signed and dated SOD to:

Chana White, Field Manager
Region 1, Unit C
3611 River Road, Suite 200
Yakima, WA 98902
Phone: (509) 225-2823 / Fax: (509) 574-5597 or (509) 454-7890

Appeal Rights:

You have two appeal rights: Informal Dispute Resolution (IDR) and an Administrative
Hearing. Each has a different request timeline.

Informal Dispute Resolution [RCW 18.20.195]

You have an opportunity to challenge the deficiencies and/or enforcement actions through the
state's IDR process. All IDR requests must be in writing and include:

e The deficiencies you are disputing; and
e The method of review you prefer (face-to-face, telephone conference or
documentation review).

The written request must be received by the 10 working day from receipt of this letter.

During the IDR process you will have the opportunity to present written and/or oral evidence
to dispute the deficiencies.

Send your written request to:

Informal Dispute Resolution Program Manager
Residential Care Services
PO Box 45600
Olympia, Washington 98504-5600
Fax (360) 725-3225

Formal Administrative Hearing

You may contest the civil fines by requesting a formal administrative hearing to challenge the
deficiencies which resulted in the civil fines) All hearing requests must be in writing and
include:

e A copy of this letter; and
e A copy of the Statement of Deficiencies.
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The written request must be received within twenty-eight (28) calendar days of receipt
of this letter.

Send your written request to:

Office of Administrative Hearings
PO Box 42489
Olympia, Washington 98504-2489

Payment:

If you do not request a formal administrative hearing, the civil fines are due to the Office of
Financial Recovery twenty-eight (28) calendar days after receipt of this letter.

Mail a check for $3,600.00 payable to the ‘Department of Social and Health Services’ at:

DSHS Office of Financial Recovery
PO Box 9501
Olympia, Washington 98507-9501

If the Office of Financial Recovery has not received your payment within twenty-eight (28)
days after receipt of this letter, interest will begin to accrue immediately on the balance, at the
rate of one percent per month. If you do not submit a hearing request or make payment within
twenty-eight (28) days, the balance due will be recovered.

If you have any questions, please contact Chana White, Field Manager at (509) 225-2823.

Sincerely,

~ 2 g «. o
f\f%’m - g@f’%ﬁ’mﬁz RN, Mf?’“?
Dina Loné%;n—Grimes, RN, MSN
Compliance Specialist

Residential Care Services

Enclosure

cc: Field Manager, Region 1, Unit C
RCS Regional Administrator, Region 1
HCS Regional Administrator, Region 1
DDA Regional Administrator, Region 1
WA LTC Ombuds
Office of Financial Recovery, Vendor Program Unit
HQ Central Files
ndl
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