STATE OF WASHINGTON
DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL AND HEALTH SERVICES
Aging and Long-Term Support Administration
PO Box 45600, Olympia, WA 98504-5600

November 6, 2017

CERTIFIED MAIL # 7007 1490 0003 4199 7272

Administrator, Jeffrey Jackson
LOUISA PLACE

2240 MAIN STREET
FERNDALE, WA 98248

Assisted Living Facility License #2191
Licensee: Louisa Aid Opco LLC

IMPOSITION OF CIVIL FINES

Dear Administrator:

On October 26, 2017, the Department of Social and Health Services (DSHS), Residential
Care Services completed an inspection at your facility. This letter constitutes formal notice of
imposition of civil fines on the license for your assisted living facility, also known as
LOUISA PLACE, located at 2240 Main St, Ferndale, by the State of Washington,
Department of Social and Health Services. These actions are taken under the authority granted
pursuant to Laws of 1998, Chapter 272 and RCW 18.20.190.

The civil fines are based on the following violations of the RCW and/or WAC as described in the
attached Statement of Deficiencies (SOD) report dated October 26, 2017.

WAC 388-78A-2040(1) — Other requirements. $100.00

The facility failed to ensure the fire codes were followed.

This is an uncorrected deficiency previously cited on a Statement of Deficiencies report
dated August 11, 2017.
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WAC 388-78 A-2620(1)(a)(b)(2)(a)(b)(¢c) — Pets. $50.00

The facility failed to ensure complete implementation of their pet policy.

This is an uncorrected deficiency previously cited on a Statement of Deficiencies report
dated August 11, 2017.

NOTE: These are the violations, which resulted in the fines.
See the attached Statement of Deficiencies for any additional violations.

Attestation (Plan of Correction):

Return the enclosed SOD within 10 calendar days with the following:

e The date you have or will have each deficiency corrected;
e A signature and date attesting that you are taking actions to correct and maintain
correction for each cited deficiency.

Return the signed and dated SOD to:

Brenda Mooney, Field Manager
Region 2, Unit A/B
3906 — 172" Street NE, Suite 100
Arlington, WA 98223
Phone: (360) 651-6872 / Fax: (360) 651-6940

Appeal Rights:

You have two appeal rights: Informal Dispute Resolution (IDR) and an Administrative
Hearing. Each has a different request timeline.

Informal Dispute Resolution [RCW 18.20.195]

You have an opportunity to challenge the deficiencies and/or enforcement actions through the
state's IDR process. All IDR requests must be in writing and include:

e The deficiencies you are disputing; and
e The method of review you prefer (face-to-face, telephone conference or
documentation review).




Administrator, Jeffrey Jackson
LOUISA PLACE

License #2191

November 6, 2017

Page 3

The written request must be received by the 10" working day from receipt of this letter.

During the IDR process, you will have the opportunity to present written and/or oral evidence
to dispute the deficiencies.

Send your written request to:
Informal Dispute Resolution Program Manager
Residential Care Services
PO Box 45600
Olympia, Washington 98504-5600

Formal Administrative Hearing

You may contest the civil fines by requesting a formal administrative hearing to challenge the
deficiencies, which resulted in the civil fines. All hearing requests must be in writing and
include: '

e A copy of this letter; and
e A copy of the Statement of Deficiencies.

The written request must be received within twenty-eight (28) calendar days of receipt
of this letter.

Send your written request to:
Office of Administrative Hearings

PO Box 42489
Olympia, Washington 98504-2489

Payment:

If you do not request a formal administrative hearing, the civil fines are due to the Office of
Financial Recovery twenty-eight (28) calendar days after receipt of this letter.

Mail a check for $150.00 payable to the ‘Department of Social and Health Services’ at:
DSHS Office of Financial Recovery

PO Box 9501
Olympia, Washington 98507-9501
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If the Office of Financial Recovery has not received your payment within twenty-eight (28)
days after receipt of this letter, interest will begin to accrue immediately on the balance, at the

rate of one percent per month. If you do not submit a hearing request or make payment within
twenty-eight (28) days, the balance due will be recovered.

If you have any questions, please contact Brenda Mooney, Field Manager, at (360) 651-6872.

Sincerely,

Dina Longen~Grimes, RN, MSN
Compliance Specialist
Residential Care Services

Enclosure

cc: Field Manager, Region 2, Unit A/B
RCS Regional Administrator, Region 2
HCS Regional Administrator, Region 2
DDA Regional Administrator, Region 2
WA LTC Ombuds
Office of Financial Recovery, Vendor Program Unit
HQ Central Files
DRW
br
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