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STATE OF WASHINGTON
DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL AND HEALTH SERVICES

Aging and Disability Services
Aging and Long-Term Support Administration
PO Box 45600, Olympia. WA 98504-5600
November 7, 2013

CERTIFIED MAIL 7007 1490 0003 4201 6422

From the Heart AFH, Inc., Licensee
From the Heart AFH, Inc.

c/o 4408 Artesia Drive

Pasco WA 99301

Adult Family Home License #752493
Entity Representative: Rizak Shay
IMPOSITION OF CIVIL FINE AND
CONDITIONS ON A LICENSE

Dear Licensee:

On October 23, 2013, the Department of Social and Health Services (DSHS), Residential
Care Services conducted an inspection/investigation at your facility. This letter is formal
notice of the imposition of civil fines and conditions on the license for your adult family home,
located at 4412 Artesia Drive, Pasco, by the State of Washington, Department of Social and
Health Services, pursuant to the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 70.128.160 and
Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 388-76-10940.

The civil fine and conditions are based on the following violations of the RCW and/or WAC
determined by the department in your adult family home and described in the attached Statement
of Deficiencies (SOD) report dated October 23, 2013.

WAC 388-76-10015(1-3) License—Adult family home—Compliance. $3,000.00

The Licensee failed to promote the health and safety of five residents with regard to
abuse prevention.

WAC 388-76-10680 Staff behavior related to abuse. $6,000.00
$3.000.00 x 2 residents

The department has determined that the following conditions shall be placed on your adult
family home license:

e By November 15, 2013, the entity representative, all caregivers, volunteers, and
other staff in the home current and future must complete the online Mandatory
Reporter Training located at http://www.adsa.dshs.wa.gov/APS/training.
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e By November 22, 2013, the entity representative will meet with all caregivers,
volunteers, and other staff in the home current and future to go over the following
topics:

o Bein compliance and implement state AFH laws and rules specifically AFH
regulations WAC 388-76-1-220, WAC 388-76-10670, WAC 388-76-10673,
WAC 388-76-10675, and WAC 388-76-10680.

e Consistently prevent, recognize, report, and protect each resident from all
types of abuse, neglect, mistreatment, restraints, involuntary seclusion,
abandonment, financial exploitation, and misappropriation of resident

property.

e Recognize key risk factors that may place residents at greater risk for abuse,
neglect, mistreatment, restraints, involuntary seclusion, abandonment,
Sinancial exploitation, and misappropriation of resident property.

o Take all prompt and necessary actions to protect residents following
allegations of abuse, neglect, mistreatment, restraints, involuntary seclusion,
abandonment, financial exploitation, and misappropriation of resident

property

o Carry out adult family home and individual staff responsibilities as
mandated reporters.

e Report to the Department’s hotline and local law enforcement as required by
law.

o The licensee must maintain documentation of completion of online training in each
individual’s file, including attendance at the topic overview meeting.

o The licensee must post this Notice of Conditions, with the license, in a visible
location in a common use area.

These conditions are effective on November 7, 2013, and remain in effect until lifted by
formal Department of Social and Health Services notice.

NOTE: These are the violations which resulted in a/the fines and conditions; see the
attached Statement of Deficiencies for any additional violations.

Attestation (Plan of Correction):

Return the enclosed SOD within 10 calendar days with the following:
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e The date you have or will have each deficiency corrected;
e A signature and date attesting that you are taking actions to correct and maintain
correction for each cited deficiency.

Return the signed and dated SOD to:

Jo Whitney, Field Manager
District 1, Unit C
3611 River Road, Suite 200
Yakima, WA 98902
Phone: (509) 225-2823 / Fax: (509) 574-5597

Appeal Rights:

You have two appeal rights: Informal Dispute Resolution (IDR) and an Administrative
Hearing. Each has a different request timeline.

Informal Dispute Resolution [RCW 70.128]

You have an opportunity to challenge the deficiencies and/or enforcement actions through the
state's IDR process. All IDR requests must be in writing and include:

e The deficiencies you are disputing; and
e The method of review you prefer (face-to-face, telephone conference or
documentation review).

The written request must be received by the 10™ working day from receipt of this letter.

During the IDR process you will have the opportunity to present written and/or oral evidence
to dispute the deficiencies.

Send your written request to:

Informal Dispute Resolution Program Manager
Residential Care Services
PO Box 45600
Olympia, Washington 98504-5600
Fax (360)725-3225

Formal Administrative Hearing

You may contest the civil fine and conditions by requesting a formal administrative hearing to
challenge the deficiencies which resulted in the civil fines and conditions. All hearing
requests must be in writing and include:
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e A copy of this letter; and
e A copy of the Statement of Deficiencies.

The written request must be received within twenty-eight (28) calendar days of receipt
of this letter.

Send your written request to:

Office of Administrative Hearings
PO Box 42489
Olympia, Washington 98504-2489

Payment:

If you do not request a formal administrative hearing, the civil fine is due to the Office of
Financial Recovery twenty-eight (28) calendar days after receipt of this letter.

Mail a check for $9,000.00 payable to the ‘Department of Social and Health Services’ at:

DSHS Office of Financial Recovery
PO Box 9501
Olympia, Washington 98507-9501

If the Office of Financial Recovery has not received your payment within twenty-eight (28)
days after receipt of this letter, interest will begin to accrue immediately on the balance, at the
rate of one percent per month. If you do not submit a hearing request or make payment within
twenty-eight (28) days, the balance due will be recovered.

If you have any questions, please contact Jo Whitney, Field Manager, at (509) 225-2823.

Sincerely,
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Enclosure

ges Bett Schlemmer, Compliance Specialist
Field Manager, District 1, Unit C
RCS District Administrator, District 1
HCS District Administrator, District 1
DDD District Administrator, District 1
WA LTC Ombuds
Office of Financial Recovery, Vendor Program Unit
Judy Plesha, HCS
BAM



NOTICE OF
CONDITIONS ON LICENSE

November 7, 2013

Based on the Statement of Deficiencies dated October 23, 2013, the Department of Social
and Health Services imposes the following conditions on the license of From the Heart
AFH, Inc., License #752493 located at 4412 Artesia Drive, Pasco, Washington.

By November 15, 2013, the entity representative, all caregivers, volunteers, and
other staff in the home current and future must complete the online Mandatory
Reporter Training located at http://www.adsa.dshs.wa.gov/APS/training.

By November 22, 2013, the entity representative will meet with all caregivers,
volunteers, and other staff in the home current and future to go over the
Jollowing topics:

e Bein compliance and implement state AFH laws and rules specifically
AFH regulations WAC 388-76-1-220, WAC 388-76-10670, WAC 388-
76-10673, WAC 388-76-10675, and WAC 388-76-10680.

o Consistently prevent, recognize, report, and protect each resident from
all types of abuse, neglect, mistreatment, restraints, involuntary
seclusion, abandonment, financial exploitation, and misappropriation of
resident property.

e Recognize key risk factors that may place residents at greater risk for
abuse, neglect, mistreatment, restraints, involuntary seclusion,
abandonment, financial exploitation, and misappropriation of resident

property.

o Take all prompt and necessary actions to protect residents following
allegations of abuse, neglect, mistreatment, restraints, involuntary
seclusion, abandonment, financial exploitation, and misappropriation of
resident property

e Carry out adult family home and individual staff responsibilities as
mandated reporters.

e Report to the Department’s hotline and local law enforcement as
required by law.



Notice of Conditions of Operation
Page 2

The licensee must maintain documentation of completion of online training in
each individual’s file, including attendance at the topic overview meeting.

The licensee must post this Notice of Conditions, with the license, in a visible
location in a common use area.

These conditions are effective on November 7, 2013, and remain in effect until lifted by
formal Department of Social and Health Services notice.
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Lorl Mel glorl Ph
AssistantDirector

Residential Care Services



