STATE OF WASHINGTON
DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL AND HEALTH SERVICES
Aging and Disability Services
Aging and Long-Term Support Administration
PO Box 45600, Olympia, WA 98504-5600

March 9, 2015

CERTIFIED MAIL 7008 1300 0000 7160 6236

Licensee, Desiree Clifton

Heritage Haven Adult Family Home
3116 South Lamonte

Spokane, WA 99203

Adult Family Home License #752226

IMPOSITION OF CIVIL FINES

Dear Licensee:

On February 23, 2015, the Department of Social and Health Services (DSHS), Residential
Care Services completed an inspection/investigation at your facility. This letter is formal
notice of the imposition of civil fines for your adult family home, located at 3116 South
Lamonte, Spokane, by the State of Washington, Department of Social and Health Services,
pursuant to the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 70.128.160 and Washington Administrative
Code (WAC) 388-76-10940.

The civil fines are based on the following violations of the RCW and/or WAC as described in the
attached Statement of Deficiencies (SOD) report dated February 23, 2015.

CIVIL FINES

WAC 388-76-10165(1)(b) — Background checks—Washington state name and date of

birth background check—Valid for two years—National fingerprint background check.
$100.00

The licensee failed to ensure a date of birth background check was conducted every two
years for one household member.

This is a repeat citation from April 28, 2014.

WAC 388-76-10430(1)(2)(c) — Medication system. $100.00

The licensee failed to ensure the medication system for four residents.

This is a repeat citation from September 27, 2013.
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WAC 388-76-10650(1)(2)(3) — Medical devices. $100.00

The licensee failed to ensure medical devices were assessed for two residents.

WAC 388-76-10750(1)(2)(3) — Safety and maintenance. $100.00

This is a repeat citation from September 27, 2013.

NOTE: These are the violations which resulted in the fines; see the attached Statement of
Deficiencies for any additional violations.

Attestation (Plan of Correction):
Return the enclosed SOD within 10 calendar days with the following:

e The date you have or will have each deficiency corrected;
e A signature and date attesting that you are taking actions to correct and maintain
correction for each cited deficiency.

Return the signed and dated SOD to:
Lori Heiner, Field Manager
Region 1, Unit B
316 West Boone Avenue, Suite 170

Spokane, WA 99201-2351
Phone: (509) 323-7324 / Fax: (509) 329-3993

Appeal Rights:

You have two appeal rights: Informal Dispute Resolution (IDR) and an Administrative
Hearing. Each has a different request timeline.

Informal Dispute Resolution [RCW 70.128]

You have an opportunity to challenge the deficiencies and/or enforcement actions through the
state's IDR process. All IDR requests must be in writing and include:

e The deficiencies you are disputing; and
e The method of review you prefer (face-to-face, telephone conference or
documentation review).

The written request must be received by the 10™ working day from receipt of this letter.
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During the IDR process you will have the opportunity to present written and/or oral evidence
to dispute the deficiencies.

Send your written request to:

Informal Dispute Resolution Program Manager
Residential Care Services
PO Box 45600
Olympia, Washington 98504-5600
Fax (360) 725-3225

Formal Administrative Hearing

You may contest the civil fines by requesting a formal administrative hearing to challenge the
deficiencies which resulted in the civil fines. All hearing requests must be in writing and
include:

e A copy of this letter; and
e A copy of the Statement of Deficiencies.

The written request must be received within twenty-eight (28) calendar days of receipt
of this letter. :

Send your written request to:

Office of Administrative Hearings
PO Box 42489
Olympia, Washington 98504-2489

Payment:

If you do not request a formal administrative hearing, the civil fines is due to the Office of
Financial Recovery twenty-eight (28) calendar days after receipt of this letter.

Mail a check for $400.00 payable to the ‘Department of Social and Health Services’ at:

DSHS Office of Financial Recovery
PO Box 9501
Olympia, Washington 98507-9501

If the Office of Financial Recovery has not received your payment within twenty-eight (28)
days after receipt of this letter, interest will begin to accrue immediately on the balance, at the
rate of one percent per month. If you do not submit a hearing request or make payment within
twenty-eight (28) days, the balance due will be recovered.
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If you have any questions, please contact Lori Heiner, Field Manager at (509) 323-7324.

Sincerely,

Ot @, )

Dina Longen-Grimes, RN, MSN
Compliance Specialist
Residential Care Services

Enclosure

o Dina Longen-Grimes, Compliance Specialist
Field Manager, Region 1, Unit B
RCS Regional Administrator, Region 1
HCS Regional Administrator, Region 1
DDA Regional Administrator, Region 1
WA LTC Ombuds
Office of Financial Recovery, Vendor Program Unit
Valentina Karnafel, HCS
HQ Central Files
NDL



