


		

Assisted Living Facilities



	Overview 
	[bookmark: _GoBack]An assisted living facility (ALF) is a community setting licensed by DSHS to care for seven or more residents.  There are currently more than 540 ALFs in Washington state.  The majority are privately-owned businesses.  ALFs provide housing, basic services and assume general responsibility for the safety and well-being of the resident.  

ALFs allow residents to live an independent lifestyle in a community setting while receiving necessary services from staff.  ALFs can vary in size and ownership from a family-operated 7-bed facility to a 150-bed facility operated by a large national corporation.  Some ALFs provide intermittent nursing services, or may serve residents with mental health needs, developmental disabilities, or dementia. 
ALFs that have a Medicaid contract with ALTSA provide one or more of the following service packages:  
Assisted Living: 
· Private apartments, with an emphasis on privacy, independence, and personal choice
· Intermittent nursing services must be provided 
· Help with medication administration and personal care  
Adult Residential Care (ARC) 
· Medication assistance and personal care
· Residents may need/receive limited supervision  
Enhanced Adult Residential Care (EARC)
· Help with medication administration and personal care  
· No more than two people will share a room 
· Intermittent nursing care must be provided
· Specialized dementia care – requires competitive bid & available funding

The ALTSA website features a facility locator, which enables a search by county, zip code, and specialty care type.  Also featured online are numerous publications, such as the Guide to Choosing Care (DSHS 22-707), which includes practical tips on how to find a facility, questions you should ask, and steps that should be taken prior to placing a loved one in any setting.   
ALFs must ensure staff are trained to meet the needs of current residents.  Newly-hired direct care workers (now called long-term care workers) must complete 70 hours of training, become certified as home care aides, and complete 12 hours of continuing education per year. 
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	Eligibility Requirements

	Individuals as characterized in WAC 388-78A-2050, are typically ambulatory and do not require frequent presence and frequent evaluation of a registered nurse.

	Authority
	Chapter 388-78A WAC - Licensing Rules
Chapter 388-110 WAC – Contracted Residential Care Services
Chapter 388-112 WAC - Residential Long-Term Care Services
Chapter 388-113 WAC - Disqualifying Crimes and Negative Actions
Chapter 18.20 RCW - Licensing Statute
Chapter 70.129 RCW  - LTC Resident Rights Statute
Chapter 74.34 RCW - Abuse of Vulnerable Adults


	Budget

	FY19 Regulatory Allotment: $7.5M
FY19 Services Allotment: $57.9M

	Rates

	For the care of Medicaid residents, the Department pays contracted homes using a resident need-focused system based on 17 levels of resident care and adjusted for geographic location.  Each facility determines the amount that they will charge private pay residents.  Private pay rates may differ.


	Partners

	Department of Health - Construction Review Services (CRS)
Department of Health - Food Safety
Washington State Patrol - Office of State Fire Marshal (OSFM)
State Long-Term Care Ombuds Program (LTCOP)
Washington Health Care Association (WHCA)
LeadingAge of Washington (LA)


	Oversight 

	All ALF staff are required by law to report suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a resident.  The Department offers training for these mandatory reporters.  Specially-trained Department employees investigate complaints.  Follow-up visits are made to ensure that regulatory violations do not continue.

ALFs are required by law to be inspected at least every 18 months, in addition to inspections associated with complaint investigations.  If a facility is not in compliance with licensing requirements, DSHS enforcement actions range from civil fines to license revocation to referral of criminal allegations to law enforcement.  
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