


	


2017-2019 Home Care Worker Collective Bargaining Agreement




	Overview 
· 
	The Service Employees International Union (SEIU) 775 represents approximately 37,000 Individual Providers of in-home care services (i.e. “home care workers” or “caregivers”). Only for  purposes of collective bargaining, these workers are considered employees of  the State of Washington. The Governor, through the Office of Financial Management (OFM), is the bargaining representative for the State. The Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA) is negotiated every two years. Wages, benefits and any other mandatory bargaining subjects which are disputed and cannot be resolved during bargaining are addressed through interest arbitration. The interest arbitration decision is not binding to the Legislature, or to the state if the Legislature does not approve the request for funds in the arbitrated CBA.

This is the eighth CBA with the state. Details of the 2017-2019 CBA can be accessed at the following link: 2017-2019 Collective Bargaining Agreement 

	Eligibility Requirements
	Individual Providers as defined in RCW 74.39A.240. This also includes workers performing services as Individual Providers contacted by Managed Care Organizations. 

	Authority 
	The following are some of the rules and regulations that govern the collective bargaining process in Washington state:
RCW 74.39A.240
RCW 74.39A.270 
RCW 74.39A.300
RCW 74.39A.360
RCW 74.39A.310

	Budget

	The 2017-2019 CBA cost increase is approximately $208.1M-Total Funds. (ALTSA - $148.7M;  DDA - $59.4M)
[bookmark: _GoBack]RCW 74.39A.310, also referred to as the parity statute, requires the total average hourly value of increased wages and benefits bargained for IPs to be added to the hourly rate of home care agency providers. The 2017-2019 cost due to parity is approximately $47.7M- Total Funds. (ALTSA - $41.0M;  DDA - $6.7M)



Fact Sheet
Aging and Long-Term Support Administration


Information Contact
Christi Pederson, Labor Management Manager
Communications, Government and External Relations
Christi.Pederson@DSHS.WA.Gov
(360) 725-3414
2019




	Rates

	Individual Providers’ wages, benefits and working conditions are determined solely through collective bargaining. Providers are paid according to a wage scale based on their cumulative career hours. Currently there are 10 steps on the scale. For State Fiscal Year 2018, the average hourly rate paid to Individual Providers is estimated to be $14.82. Individual Providers’ benefits include, but are not limited to:
· Home Care Aide certification and Advanced Training differential pay;
· Mileage reimbursement;
· Comprehensive health coverage;
· Workers compensation; 
· Paid time off;
· Required training tuition and class time payment;
· Certification and testing fee payment; and
· Retirement.
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