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STATE OF WASHINGTON
DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL AND HEALTH SERVICES
Aging and Long-Term Support Administration
Home and Community Services Division
PO Box 45600, Olympia, WA 98504-5600HCS MANAGEMENT BULLETIN



H16-073 – Policy & Procedure
[bookmark: _GoBack]September 06, 2016

	 TO:

	Area Agency on Aging (AAA) Directors

Home and Community Services (HCS) Division Regional Administrators

Developmental Disabilities Administration (DDA) Regional Administrators


	FROM:

	Bea Rector, Director, Home and Community Services Division

Don Clintsman, Deputy Assistant Secretary, Developmental Disabilities Administration


	SUBJECT:

	Implementation of Overtime for Individual Providers (IPs) Part IV: Excess Claiming & IP Contract Actions


	PURPOSE:

	This is the fourth in a series of management bulletins that will provide information and policy direction related to statute and rules governing overtime for IPs.


	BACKGROUND:

	In October 2013, the Department of Labor (DOL) issued the Home Care Final Rules related to minimum wage and overtime protections for home care workers. On August 21, 2015, following federal court appeals, the Court of Appeals issued a unanimous opinion affirming DOL’s Final Rules. 

In 2016, the State of Washington legislature passed, and Governor Inslee signed into law, Engrossed Second Substitute House Bill 1725. This bill gave DSHS the authority to manage Individual Provider (IP) overtime utilization by allowing the department to create rules and procedures currently outlined in Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 388-114. This Management Bulletin outlines the roles and responsibilities for monitoring and managing the utilization of IP overtime. 

Based on Engrossed Second Substitute House Bill 1725, all IPs who were paid for hours in January 2016 had their permanent work week limit (WWL) established based on an average of those hours.  IPs were able to appeal their work week limit, if January wasn’t representative of the hours they worked, in February and March 2016.  All IPs have a permanent established work week limit between 40 and 65 hours. IPs with an established WWL between 60 and 65 hours will reduce to 60 July 1, 2017.


	WHAT’S NEW, CHANGED, OR CLARIFIED:

	The implementation of overtime for IPs began in April of 2016 and has been phased in over the last few months. Systems are now in place to allow the department to monitor IP service hour claims and ensure that IPs are working within their assigned work week limits as defined in WAC 388-114. Excess claiming and contract action policy is now being implemented as the next step in the implementation of overtime for IPs.      




	ACTION:

	
Excess Claiming Policy 

What is Excess Claiming?

Excess claiming can occur under three separate scenarios: 
1) The IP stayed within their monthly authorization and within the client’s monthly benefit, but they exceeded their work week limit, or worked more overtime in the month than allowed by the monthly overtime limit described below; or
2) The IP, who is not a family or pre-existing household member, worked more service hours in a month than:  
a. he or she was authorized to provide; or 
b. the client was eligible to receive based on the client’s CARE assessment; or
3) The IP claimed travel time in a work week in excess of the amount authorized based on the estimate submitted in advance by the IP. 

How will I know when excess claiming has occurred?

Excess Overtime (OT) Monitoring Report
For the purposes of monitoring, work week limits are converted to a monthly overtime limit. This is done to support the policy and practice of allowing clients the flexibility to assign hours for which they are eligible, across weeks in the month if needed to complete tasks identified in their care plans, as long as it does not create additional overtime. The monthly overtime limit is calculated by subtracting 40 from the established or temporary work week limit. The difference is multiplied by the number of Saturdays in the month of service.

For scenario 1 above, a report has been created to identify IPs who have exceeded their work week limit when their work week limit is 40 (no allowable OT) or who have exceeded the monthly OT allowed using the monthly flexibility model. 

This report uses established work week limits and data from the Work Week Limit Tab in CARE to determine if there is a temporary client-based approval to exceed a work week limit, and uses weekly claims for payment in the IPOne payment system to determine whether excess overtime has been claimed.  When an IP claims in excess of their established or temporarily approved OT limit, the IP will display in this report. 


Excess OT Monitoring Report Roles and Responsibilities

Role of Headquarters (HQ) 
ALTSA and DDA each have a Program Manager (HCS contact listed in the “Contacts” section of this MB) identified to monitor the report and initiate IP contract action steps. These Program Managers will receive and review the Excess OT Report and will initiate the appropriate contract action step for each IP on the list (see Contract Action steps below). The Program Manager will monitor twice monthly for IPs who have a work week limit of 40 and for IPs who have a work week limit over 40 and have already exceeded their monthly OT limit.

Role of CM/CRM/SSS
Case Managers will receive an auto generated email message at the end of the month notifying them that an IP who works for a client on their case load has claimed hours in excess of their established or temporarily approved work week limit. (This report does not include excess claiming occurrences related to the client’s monthly benefit or travel time (scenarios 2 & 3 above).) The email alert will include a link to the Excess OT Monitoring Report in ADSA Reporting. The report can be filtered by Region/PSA, RU, and Case Manager. Detailed help and instructions for the new report are attached in the “Attachments” section below. 

Case Managers must review the IPs on the list as they are alerted, and, within 5 business days of the email report alert, contact the DDA or ALTSA HQ Program Manager if there appears to be a discrepancy in the data. For example, if an IP appears on the list who the case manager believes to have a temporary approval to exceed their work week limit, or similarly, a request was made, but a form was not returned to HQ for data entry into CARE. 

Effective Dates for Monitoring 

May 29, 2016 (Month of June)
· IPs who have a 40 hour work week limit who were working for a client(s) in January 2016 (a portion of “Category 1” IPs see MB H16-037).
· IPs who were notified in May 2016 that their work week limit is between 40.25 and 65 (“Category 2” IPs).

July 3, 2016 (Month of July)
· IPs who have a 65 hour work week limit but were employed and paid for 282 or more monthly service hours in January 2016 (“Category 3” IPs).

July 31, 2016 (Month of August)
· IPs who have a 40 hour work week limit but were assigned to a client’s plan of care between February 1, 2016 and April 27, 2016 (the other portion of “Category 1” IPs). 

Headquarters staff will be reviewing the monitoring report using the above effective dates beginning in September to bring all IP contract actions to current. Because this is the first round of monitoring and the volume is larger than normal in order to look backward, headquarters staff will make two adjustments to the procedure on a one-time basis:
1. If an IP is displayed on the report for consecutive weeks or months, it will be counted only as one occurrence for the purposes of contract actions. 
2. If an IP is displayed on the report in June and not in July or August because form 15-482 was submitted effective June 26, 2016 or July 3, 2016, the assumption will be made that June was also approved but could not be submitted because the forms were not available for staff until July 2016. These situations will not be counted as a violation.

Payment for excess claiming:
a. The department will pay providers (including family members or pre-existing household members) who have worked overtime in excess of what would have been paid had the IP worked only his or her work week limit every week of the calendar month when the hours do not exceed the client’s monthly benefit level.
b. The department will pay providers who are not family or pre-existing household members who have provided service hours above those authorized to the IP or assigned to the client in CARE.
c. The department will pay all provider types who have claimed travel time in excess of the authorized number of units.

In the above instances, the case manager must authorize the additional time worked in the authorization screen in CARE if needed and notify the HQ program manager to initiate Contract Actions if the reason for excess claiming is not approved.    

For payment purposes (388-114-0020);
i. An IP is a family member if the IP is a parent, child, sibling, aunt, uncle, niece, nephew, cousin, grandparent, grandchild, grandniece, grandnephew, or such relatives when related by marriage to the client.
ii. An IP is a household member if the IP lived with the client before the client was assessed and approved for department paid personal care services as defined in WAC 388-106-0010. 

Are all occurrences of excess claiming an IP contract violation?

Excess claiming can be approved under the following circumstances, and these situations are not considered occurrences of excess claiming:
a. There was an unexpected client health or safety need and the IP had to stay with the client either until the situation was stabilized, or the IP’s involvement was no longer necessary for the client’s health and safety, and schedule adjustments could not be made in the month to avoid the excess claim. The excess claim could be related to the IP’s work week limit, and/or exceeding the client’s monthly benefit and is documented as a retroactive request using DSHS Form 15-482. When the reason for exceeding the client’s monthly benefit is approved, it is considered an Exception to Rule (ETR) 388-114-0080(3); or 
b. There were extenuating circumstances that caused the IP to exceed the weekly travel time limits such as traffic jams or road conditions. Approval must be documented in the CARE SER. 

If the reason for excess claiming is other than the reasons above, the excess claim cannot be approved and will be considered an IP contract violation. See “Contract Action Steps” below. 

IMPORTANT NOTE: Excess service hours worked by family or pre-existing household members above the client’s monthly benefit level are considered to be outside the scope of the employment relationship, therefore no authorization or payment will be made to the IP for these additional hours. For this reason, contract action will not be taken if a family or pre-existing household member worked more service hours in a month than he or she was authorized to provide and/or the client was eligible to receive based on the client’s CARE assessment.    

Contract Actions
All contract action steps will be initiated by the ALTSA or DDA HQ Program Manager. For this reason, instances of unapproved excess claiming that are not related to scenarios identified in the Excess OT Monitoring Report require contract action and must be reported directly to the ALTSA or DDA HQ Program Manager by email. As a review, this type of excess claiming occurs under the following scenarios:
1) An IP, who is not a family or pre-existing household member, worked more service hours in a month than: 
a. he or she was authorized to provide; or 
b. the client was eligible to receive based on the client’s CARE assessment; 
2) The IP claimed travel time in a work week in excess of the amount authorized based on the estimate submitted in advance by the IP. 
The case manager will typically become aware of these occurrences because additional hours must be authorized before the IP is able to claim them. 

The case manager must make a determination about whether the reason for the additional time worked is approved. To make this determination the case manager must consider:
a. Whether the request is to approve service hours the IP spent caring for the client because of an emergent condition; and
b. The nature and severity of the emergent condition; and
c. Whether the need could have been postponed until another provider could have arrived ; or
d. There was a legitimate reason that additional travel time was necessary.


Whether approved or denied, the hours will be paid in order to comply with FLSA requirements. Make sure payment authorizations for these additional hours do not get extended into the future. Use the tables below to determine action needed. 

If an IP retroactively requests payment for hours worked that both exceeded their work week limit and exceeded the client’s monthly benefit use the table below to determine action steps:

	
	Family/Pre-Existing HH Member
	Non Family/Non-Pre-Existing HH Member relationship

	Approved
	For any OT hours requested that do NOT exceed the monthly benefit:
· Complete form 15-482: Approve the WWL request and email to HQ. 
· AAA/HCS: Submit form 15-482 to DMS marked “complete” “file only.”
· An ETR is not relevant/needed
· Authorize the hours worked. Make sure authorizations to all providers are correct
· Do not authorize any hours in excess of the client’s monthly benefit
· Send the client and IP notices (Form 15-483) within 7 calendar days
NOTE: Hours worked in excess of the client’s monthly benefit would be considered outside of the employment relationship and will not be approved or authorized for payment
	· Complete Form 15-482: Approve the request and email to HQ. 
· AAA/HCS: Submit form 15-482 to DMS marked “complete” “file only.”
· Process and approve the request using the *ETR screens in CARE using “Category” and “Type” = “Other.” 
In the WAC reference field, use WAC 388-106-0080. (In the future, CARE will be updated to include specific category and type.)
· Authorize additional hours above monthly benefit only for the dates and hours worked.
· Send the client and IP notices (Form 15-483) within 7 calendar days. Do not send a PAN. 


	Denied
	· Complete Form 15-482: Deny the WWL request and email to HQ. 
· AAA/HCS: Submit form 15-482 to DMS marked “complete” “file only.”
· Do not authorize additional hours (No contract Action is needed because the hours were not authorized and cannot be claimed.) 
· Send the client and IP notices (Form 15-483) within 7 days.

Note: Hours worked in excess of the client’s monthly benefit would be considered outside of the employment relationship and will not be approved or authorized for payment
	· Complete Form 15-482: Deny the WWL request and email to HQ. 
· AAA/HCS: Submit form 15-482 to DMS marked “complete” “file only”
· Process and deny the request using the *ETR screens in CARE using “Category” and “Type” = “Other.” In the WAC reference field, use WAC 388-106-0080. (In the future, CARE will be updated to include specific category and type.)
· Send the client and IP notices (Form 15-483) within 7 days. Do not send a PAN. 
· Authorize additional hours above monthly benefit only for the dates and hours worked.
· Once IP claims hours and shows up in the excess claiming report, Contract Action for excessive claiming will be initiated by HQ Program Manager.
· Once payment has been made, process a **Client Overpayment for the excess hours.



*This request is not an ETR. The ETR screens in CARE are used for tracking auditing purposes. 
**Add provider, including the amount of excess hours, to the Client Overpayment tracking document that is being used until the IPOne client overpayment process functionality has been completed. HQ has not developed a tracking tool. Each CM, office or region may have developed their own tool. 

If an IP retroactively requests payment for hours worked in excess of the client’s monthly benefit but did not exceed the IP’s work week limit or monthly overtime allowance, do the following:

	
	Family/Pre-Existing HH Member
	Non Family/Non-Pre-Existing HH Member relationship

	Approved
	N/A
Hours worked in excess of the client’s monthly benefit would be considered outside of the employment relationship and will not be approved or authorized for payment 
	· Process and approve the request using the *ETR screens in CARE using “Category” and “Type” = “Other.” 
In the WAC reference field, use WAC 388-106-0080. (In the future, CARE will be updated to include specific category and type.)
· Authorize additional hours above monthly benefit only for the date(s) of service and hours worked.


	Denied
	N/A
Hours worked in excess of the client’s monthly benefit would be considered outside of the employment relationship and will not be approved or authorized for payment. 
	· Process and deny the request using the *ETR screens in CARE using “Category” and “Type” = “Other.” In the WAC reference field use WAC 388-106-0080. (In the future, CARE will be updated to include specific category and type.)
· Authorize additional hours above monthly benefit only for the date(s) of service and hours worked.
· Contact HQ Program Manager in order to initiate contract action steps.
· Once payment has been made, complete a **Client Overpayment for the excess hours.



*This request is not an ETR. The ETR screens in CARE are used for tracking auditing purposes. 
**Add provider, including the amount of excess hours, to the Client Overpayment tracking document that is being used until the IPOne client overpayment process functionality has been completed. HQ has not developed a tracking tool. Each CM, office or region may have developed their own tool. 

Contract Action Steps
Contract action steps for excess claiming are progressive and each step must be completed before the next step is taken unless the IP has previously been terminated for convenience and has subsequently been re-contracted (see below Step Three #3).  Note: Terminations for Medicaid fraud and client health and safety need not follow the contract action steps and instead may be immediate. See additional information for case management staff, below. 

Step One: 
1) The HQ program manager will send notification to the IP, client(s) for whom the IP works, and the client(s)’ case manager(s). The notification will:
2)  
a. Include a copy of the Overtime and Travel Time Fact Sheet explaining the overtime utilization/care plan limitation and travel time rules.  
b. Instruct the IP to call the case manager if they have questions about managing overtime utilization or care plan limitations. 
c. Remind the IP of their shared responsibility with the client, to manage the IP’s schedule within their authorization limits, the IP’s work week limits, and any temporary overtime approvals. 

3) The HQ program manager will record the contract action on the contract monitoring screen for that contract in the ACD.

Step Two: 
1) HQ program manager will send notification to the IP, client(s) for whom the IP works, and the client(s)’ case manager(s).  The notification will:
a. Include a second copy of the Fact Sheet as a reference. 
b. Instruct the IP to call the case manager if they have questions about managing overtime utilization or care plan limitations.
c. Remind the IP of their shared responsibility with the client, to manage the IP’s schedule within their authorization limits, the IP’s work week limits, and any temporary overtime approvals.
2) The HQ program manager will make two attempts to reach the IP by phone, to answer policy and procedural questions and explain the overtime and/or care plan hours utilization parameters and rules.
3) The HQ program manager will record the action on the contract monitoring screen for that contract in the ACD.

Step Three:
1) The HQ program manager will send a notification to the IP, client(s) for whom the IP works, and the client(s)’ case manager(s) informing the IP that the IP’s payment and contract will be terminated for convenience in 30 days. (The date will be identified on the notice.) A termination letter from the HQ Contracts Unit will be attached to the notice. 
a. The HQ program manager will send a denial of choice of provider PAN to affected clients. 
b. Within 10 days of the date on the notice, the IP may request a Department review of the contract termination decision by contacting the client’s case manager either verbally or in writing.  
i. The review will begin with the AAA Director or HCS/DDA Regional Administrator or their designees.
ii. If not resolved, the review will continue at Headquarters level.
iii. The final decision will be made by the Assistant Secretary or the Assistant Secretary’s designee. 
iv. The review process is intended to be completed within 20 days of the request to review the termination so that the decision is made prior to the contract termination date.  If the review process is not completed on time and the IP has appealed the termination within 10 days of the date of the notice, no action will be taken on the contract until the review has been completed.

2) When the contract is terminated for excess claiming:
a. The HQ program manager will document the action on the contract monitoring screen for that contract in the ACD and will communicate with HQ Contracts program managers as needed. Field staff will be notified of the termination date by the HQ program manager if it differs from what is on the notice indicated in Step Three, 1 (e.g. there is an appeal). 
b. The case manager must end all payment authorizations to the IP using the date that is on the notice mailed to the IP. If the IP has requested a review, do not end payment until the review is complete.
c. Contract terminations related to excess claiming will generally be for convenience except as otherwise noted in this policy.  
d. Providers whose contracts have been terminated for excess claiming must wait 90 days after the contract termination effective date before becoming eligible to sign a new contract.
e. ACD staff will inactivate the provider in the ACD when a contract has been terminated for excess claiming.  This will prevent the IP from being re-contracted before 90 days has elapsed.  
NOTE: The IP will be notified of the date they are eligible to be re-contracted on the notice mailed by the HQ Program Manager.
3) Re-contracting with an IP who has been terminated for excess claiming:
a. Re-contracting with an IP after termination for excess claiming will not be automatic.  It is the client’s responsibility to request the re-contracting process or the IP may apply to enroll through the Home Care Referral Registry.
b. In order to re-contract after a provider’s contract has been terminated for excess claiming, the local office must contact the HQ program manager.  The HQ program manager will arrange to have the provider file in the ACD reactivated by ACD staff.   
c. If an IP’s contract has been terminated for excess claiming and the IP is re-contracted, contract actions will not re-set to zero.  The first contract action taken on the new contract will begin at Step Two.  The HQ program manager will indicate this on the ACD monitoring screen.
d. If an IP’s contract has been terminated for excess claiming and the IP is re-contracted, the IP will retain the work week limit that was initially assigned to the IP. For example, if an IP had an established work week limit of 52 and was terminated for excess claiming, then re-contracted when they became eligible after 90 days, the IP would return to work with a work week limit of 52.  
e. A contract termination for convenience for excess claiming does not permanently disqualify an Individual Provider from contracting with the department.

Additional Information for Contracts Staff
1) Include a copy of the Fact Sheet in the IP Contract Packet.
2) Discuss the Fact Sheet as part of the Employment Guidelines discussion.
3) Upon contract renewal, the contractor begins again at zero occurrences if they had only one or two occurrences of excess claiming during the previous contract cycle. The contract will have a blank monitoring screen because the old monitoring records do not carry forward to the renewal contract. 
4) When a new contract is created 90-days or more after a termination for convenience, check the excess claiming box in ACD and document that the IP is starting on step two due to the previous contract termination. 

Additional Information for Case Management Staff
1) In addition to taking contract actions, the Department is obligated to:
a. Manage overtime and Plan of Care hour utilization, which may ultimately lead to contract termination for default if all overtime hours are stacked in one or more weeks of the month in order to maximize overtime pay.  
b. Report and act on Medicaid fraud, waste and abuse.
c. Carry out its duties to act in situations where there are client health and safety concerns.
d. Evaluate the character, competency and suitability of Medicaid providers.
i. If an instance of excess claiming also constitutes Medicaid waste, fraud, or abuse, or endangers the health and safety of a client, the Department may terminate the provider for default in accordance with the terms of the contract.
ii. All excess claiming reviews for service hours must be documented in the client’s service episode record (SER).  The entry must include the reasons why the excess claim was approved or denied. Do not include names of other client’s in the SER in CARE.  
iii. All excess claiming for Travel Time between client worksites will also be documented on the contract monitoring screen for that contract in the ACD by Program Manager. 
 
2) What is the difference between an Exception to Rule (ETR) and an approval to exceed and IP’s WWL?
a. An ETR is an exception to rule. Rules are in Washington Administrative Code (WAC). As they relate to IP overtime, there is one scenario in which an ETR may be applicable:
· A temporary approval to exceed a work week limit over 80 hours per week 
This is an ETR because when approved, the department is making an exception to the rule in *WAC 388-114-0080(3). 

b. An approval to exceed an IP’s work week limit, or retroactive approval to exceed a client’s monthly benefit, is not considered an ETR because the department defined criteria for approval in the rule (WAC 388-114-0080). Because the approval criteria are in rule, when a request to exceed an IP’s work week limit is approved, the approval is consistent with the rule, not an exception to the rule. 
*During the completion of permanent rulemaking, some changes and clarifications will be made to the language in the emergency rules.  


	RELATED REFERENCES:
	WAC 388-114 (Emergency Rule)
Travel Time and Work Week Limitations for Individual Providers
During the completion of permanent rule making, some changes and clarifications will be made to the language in the emergency rules.  

MB H16-037
Implementation of Overtime for Individual Providers (IPs): Part I

MB H16-042
Implementation of Overtime for Individual Providers (IPs): Part II
Notice to clients and IPs about IP work week limits and Travel Time Limits

MB H16-048
Implementation of Overtime for Individual Providers (IPs): Part III 
Process for determining whether additional hours may be added to an IP’s Work Week Limit based upon client need


	ATTACHMENTS:










CONTACT(S):

	Fact Sheet                       Excess Claim Notice (HQ Use Only)                              


                      

Excess OT Claimed Report Instructions        ACD Instructions
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Rachelle Ames, CARE/Case Management Program Manager
(360)725-2353
rachelle.ames@dshs.wa.gov

Jennifer Karlson, FLSA Program Manager
(360) 725-2512
jennifer.karlson@dshs.wa.gov

Peggy Dotson, DDA Individual Provider Program Manager
360-725-3296
peggy.dotson@dshs.wa.gov
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IP Overtime and Travel Time Fact Sheet.pdf
Overtime and Travel Time
Fact Sheet for Individual Providers

1. When is overtime paid and how is it calculated?

a.
b.
c.

Overtime (OT) is paid when you work more than 40 hours in a work week.

The work week begins at 12:00 am on Sunday and ends at 11:59 pm on Saturday.
The IPOne payment system pays the full amount of the hours you work in a work
week at straight time (referred to as “full rate”), and shows the OT as an additional 2
rate for the OT hours. These two sums are added together for the final pay.

Example:
You worked 45 hours in a work week for one client and your rate is $10/hour.
Your pay would be:
$450 for the 45 hours you worked ($10 (full rate) x 45 hours = $450)
+ § 25 for 5 hours of overtime ($5 (half rate) x 5 hours = $25)
Total $475 ($450 +$25 = $475)

d. OT will be displayed in the Payment Summary Description and broken down in the

Earnings Box —Total hours worked = 45

2. Can | work more than 40 hours in a work week?

a.

b.

You may not work more than 40 service hours in a work week unless approval has
been given by DSHS; or
Your work week limit is greater than 40.

3. What is my work week limit?

a.

b.

oo

You may not work more than 40 service hours in a work week unless you have been
assigned a higher work week limit by DSHS.

Your work week limit will be greater than 40 hours if the average number of weekly
service hours you worked in January of 2016 was greater than 40, or if you appealed
your work week limit based on January hours and you were assigned a higher work
week limit based on the number of hours you worked in February and March of 2016.

Example:
Karen was paid for 225 monthly service hours in January 2016. Her work week
limit is 52 hours. 225 + 4.33=51.96, rounded to nearest quarter hour = 52

In this scenario, Karen may work up to 52 service hours, which includes 12
overtime hours in any work week. The total service hours Karen would work in a
month could not exceed the client(s) monthly hours, without approval by the
department. Fifty-two hours will be Karen’s work week limit as long as she is
contracted by the department.

DSHS will notify you of your work week limit.

You may only work up to your work week limit when those hours have been assigned
to you by one or more clients and the client you work for is eligible to receive the
hours.

If your work week limit is between 40 and 60 hours per week, your work week limit
will not change as long as you remain qualified to be paid as an IP.

If your work week limit is more than 60 hours, it will reduce to 60 hours on July 1,
2017. This is required by Washington State statute.





4. What services make up the service hours in my work week limit?
a. Personal care
b. Relief Care
c. Skills Acquisition training
d. Respite care

5. Does my work week limit apply to travel time, DSHS required training, or Paid Time
Off?
No. Hours spent on travel time, DSHS required training or paid time off are not included
in your work week limit.

6. Will | be paid overtime for travel time, DSHS required training, or Paid Time Off?
a. Travel time and DSHS required training are eligible for overtime if total hours worked
are over 40 in a work week.
b. Paid Time Off hours are not considered as hours worked, so they are never eligible
for overtime payment.

7. When will DSHS give me approval to work more than 40 hours in a work week?
a. When DSHS has given approval to the client you work for to assign you more than
40 hours in a work week; or
b. When you have been notified by DSHS that your work week limit is greater than 40.
In this case, you may work up to your work week limit if the client(s) for whom you
work assign(s) that number of hours to you. The client may not assign more than the
monthly hours in their Plan of Care.

8. What should | do if | have worked all the hours in my work week limit and | need to
stay with the client because there is a risk to the client’s health or safety?
a. Stay with the client until the situation is safe and stable.
b. If there is an emergency that requires emergency medical services, contact 9-1-1.
c. Assist the client to arrange for back up assistance.
d. End your work day as soon as it is safe to do so.
e. Contact the case manager the next business day to explain.

9. What should I do if | work for more than one client?

a. You must manage all your work week service hours within your work week limit.
Your limit is 40 hours unless you have been notified by DSHS that you have been
assigned a higher work week limit.

b. You must tell the clients for whom you work, that you cannot accept assignments
that, in total, would exceed your work week limit.

c. You must not accept assignments that will cause you to work more than your work
week limit or would cause you to work additional hours of overtime in the month,
except as described in question #10.

10. When can | accept hours assigned to me by one or more clients that are more than
my work week limit?

a. The hours are requested by the client to meet a specific need; and

b. Working the additional hours would not exceed the client’s monthly authorized hours;
and

c. The total number of monthly service hours for which you would be eligible for
overtime would not be more than total monthly overtime hours you would receive if
you worked up to your work week limit every week of the calendar month;





i.  The amount of monthly overtime hours is calculated by subtracting forty
hours from your work week limit and then by multiplying the result by 4.33
and rounding to the nearest quarter hour; and

d. The use of more service hours in a given week will not result in the client(s) going
without essential care in other weeks of the month.

Example:
Jose’s work week limit is 46 hours. The amount of monthly overtime that Jose
can work is 26 hours. Calculation: 46 — 40 = 6 x 4.33 = 25.98 rounded to nearest
quarter hour is 26. The client Jose works for needs him to work a flexible
schedule throughout the month, which Jose can do as long as he does not work
more than 26 hours of overtime during the client’s month of service; or

e. The client you work for is purchasing extra overtime hours with their New Freedom or

Veteran Directed Homecare Services budgets.

11. What should I do if the client wants to schedule me to work more hours than | have
available in my work week limit?

a. Explain that you are not permitted to work more than your work week limit and that
doing so would be considered excess claiming.

b. Do not accept assignments that will cause you to work more than your work week
limit.

c. Encourage the client to use an additional provider.

d. Encourage the client to contact his/her case manager if the client has a difficult time
understanding your limit or can’t find an additional provider.

12. What is travel time?
a. Travel time is the direct one way travel time from one worksite to another in the same
workday.
b. Direct one way travel is the amount of time it takes to travel the most direct route
between two specific worksites on the same day.
c. Travel time is not counted in your weekly service hour limit.

13. What is a work site?
A worksite is the location where you provide authorized care to a department client or
attend a DSHS required training. Your residence is not a worksite for the purposes of
travel time, whether or not the client also lives there.

14. What will not be paid as travel time?

a. Travel between your home and a worksite;

b. Travel between your home, when you live with the client, and another worksite;

c. Travel between more than one worksite when the travel occurs on different work
days;

d. Travel to or from required training when the starting or ending point is the IP’s own
home;

e. Travel to or from voluntary training or peer mentoring;

f.  Any personal time you use between worksites; and

g. Travel that occurs during any period of time when you are already being paid to
provide department authorized personal care, skills acquisition training, and DDA or
RCL respite services.

15. What are my travel time limits?





You may not accept assignments that would cause you to travel more than 60 minutes
between work sites or claim more than 7 hours of travel time per work week.

16. How will | be authorized and paid for travel time?

a. You must ask the Department in advance for approval and authorization to provide
planned travel time.

b. The amount of time you request must be reasonable and must be verifiable using an
on-line mapping tool.

c. You will be paid for the actual time (rounded to the nearest fifteen minutes) that it
took to travel directly between worksites during each work day. Round this number.

d. If you make more than one trip in a day, the direct travel times will be added
together and rounded once each day to the nearest fifteen minutes.

e. Your monthly eligible travel time will be added together for the month and authorized
for payment.

f.  You may bill only for actual time traveled.

17. What is excess claiming?
a. Excess claiming occurs when:
i. You claim more service hours in a month than you are authorized to provide;
or
ii. The total number of service hours you worked over forty for each work week
in a calendar month exceeded the amount of overtime you would have
received if you worked your work week limit every week of the calendar
month; or
iii. You claimed travel time in excess of the hours you were authorized to provide
in a work week.
b. Before deciding that excess claiming has occurred, the case manager will talk to you
and the client where necessary to see if there were reasons that the excess hours
should be approved.

18. What are the consequences for excess claiming?

a. On the first occasion, you will receive a written notice and information from DSHS.
The notice will also be sent to the client(s) for whom you work.

b. On the second occasion, you will receive a written notice and information from
DSHS. The notice will also be sent to the client(s) for whom you work. The client’s
case manager will make two attempts to reach you by phone and will answer any
questions you have about managing your hours within your work week or travel time
limits.

c. On the third occasion, your contract will be terminated and you must wait 90 days to
reapply for a new contract.

d. If you significantly or repeatedly exceed your work week or travel limits the
department may terminate your contract for default and refuse to re-contract with
you.

19. If | have worked all the hours in my work week limit and | need to stay with the client
because there is a risk to the client’s health or safety, will this be considered excess
claiming?

a. The client’s case manager will review this situation to verify that the concern for the
client’s health or safety was reasonable, meaning:
iv. The client’s need for additional hours could not have been anticipated;
v. The client’'s need was immediate and could not wait until a backup care giver
arrived; and





vi. The additional hours were needed to ensure the health or safety of the client.
b. The case manager will verify that you notified her/him within one business day.
c. If the concern was reasonable and the proper notification was given to the case
manager, this will not be considered excess claiming.
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Department of Social

& Health Services DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES ADMINISTRATION (DDA)
| Manstorming ives Individual Provider (IP) Contract Action
Notification For Excess Claiming

_‘ﬁ,‘ AGING AND LONG-TERM SUPPORT ADMINISTRATION (ALTSA)
illy

Dear

You and the clients you work for must manage your schedule within the client’'s authorized limits, your work week limit,
and any temporary approvals for overtime. You are receiving this notice because the Department of Social and Health

Services (DSHS) is taking an action against your Individual Provider (IP) contract for excess claiming. This is your
notice for excess claiming.

Please contact your case manager if you have questions about overtime utilization and/or care plan limitations.

Excess claiming occurred because:

[ ] You have claimed more service hours in a month than you were authorized to provide.

[] You have claimed more service hours in a month than the client was eligible to receive based on the client's CARE
assessment.

[] You stayed within your monthly authorization but you:
a. Exceeded your work week limit; or
b. Worked more overtime in the month than you would have if you had worked the hours evenly every week.

[] You claimed more travel time in a work week than authorized based on the advance estimate you submitted to the
client's case manager.

Contract Action Steps for excess claiming:

[ ] Step 1. First notice of excess claiming.

e Carefully review the attached fact sheet. It explains overtime, care plan limitation rules, and contract actions for
excess claiming.

[] Step 2. Second notice.

e Carefully review the attached fact sheet. It explains overtime, care plan limitation rules, and contract actions for
excess claiming.

e A DSHS staff member will make two attempts to call you. The DSHS staff member will review your contract
actions and answer your questions about excess claiming.

e This notice is to inform you that the next occurrence of excess claiming may result in the termination of
your contract.

[] Step 3. Third notice.

e Your IP contract will be terminated for convenience on . As of that date, you are not permitted to work
and you cannot get paid.

0 Because of your excess claiming, the department will not contract with you as an Individual provider until
after

o If you are re-contracted, you will begin at Step 2 for any future occurrences of excess claiming. If your
contract is terminated again for excess claiming, you may be unable to re-contract.

e You may request a review of your contract termination. You must ask for the review within ten days of the date
on this notice. Contact your client's case manager to request a review.

INDIVIDUAL PROVIDER (IP) CONTRACT ACTION NOTIFICATION FOR EXCESS CLAIMING
DSHS 27-138 (08/2016)






1. What is the purpose of this notice?

This notice tells you about:

The circumstances in which the excess claiming occurred;

Resources that will help you understand the overtime and travel time rules;
The Contract Action that is being taken because of your excess claiming;
The process for becoming an contracted IP again; and

The process for asking for a review of your contract termination.

2. Is excess claiming ever approved?

A case manager can approve additional hours when there was an unexpected client health or safety need and
the case manager determines that you had to stay with the client until your involvement was no longer
necessary for the client’s health and safety. Approvals will not be granted if you and the client could have made
adjustments to your schedule later in the month to avoid the excess claim.

For travel, a case manager can approve additional travel time when there were extenuating circumstances that
caused you to exceed your weekly travel time authorization. Traffic jams or unusual road conditions are
examples of extenuating circumstances that may justify approval of additional travel time.

3. What if I don’t think | have made an excess claim but the department is taking action to terminate my
contract?

You may ask for a review of the department’s decision within ten days of the date on this notice. To ask for
review, contact your client’'s case manager.

If you ask within ten days of this notice, no action will be taken until a decision has been made.

The request will be reviewed by the AAA Director or HCS / DDA Regional Administrator or designee.

If the issue is not resolved, you may ask for an additional review by headquarters Program Management staff.
If the issue is still not resolved, you may ask for a final decision by the Assistant Secretary or the Assistant
Secretary’s designee.

4. Will anyone else receive a copy of this notice?

The clients for whom you work and their case managers will receive a copy of this notice.

INDIVIDUAL PROVIDER (IP) CONTRACT ACTION NOTIFICATION FOR EXCESS CLAIMING
DSHS 27-138 (08/2016)
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P1 34577 Excess Overtime Claimed Report



Report Purpose:

The purpose of this report is to identify Individual Providers (IPs) who have claimed overtime hours in excess of their limits. Contract action steps will be initiated for IPs who are displayed in this report. 

How this report works:

Because it takes time for claims data to mature and be sent by IPOne, it is necessary to look at the month previous to the current month for complete claims data.  Established and temporary IP work week limits are stored in a database in CARE. This report looks at claims data for IPs and compares claims by work week in IPOne with established and temporary work week limits stored in CARE to determine if excess overtime has been claimed. 

Work week limits are converted to a monthly overtime limit. This is done to support the policy and practice of allowing clients the flexibility to assign hours for which they are eligible across weeks in the month if needed to complete tasks identified in their care plans, as long as it does not create additional overtime. The monthly overtime limit is calculated by subtracting 40 from the established or temporary work week limit. The difference is multiplied by the number of Saturdays in the month of service.

EXAMPLE:

[image: ]

If an IP claims more overtime in the month than allowed, the IP will display in this report. If an IP has a work week limit of 40 and claims any overtime in a work week, the IP will display in the report.   

[bookmark: _GoBack]Data Elements 

Narrow the data you want to view using the filters above in the following order:

1. Month of Payment

2. Admin

3. Region/PSA

4. RU

5. Case Manager (current PCM



[image: ]

Click “View Report”

[image: ]



REPORT SUMMARY:

		Admin

		Region/PSA

		RU

		Provider Name

		Provider ID

		Month of Service

		Work Week Limit

		Monthly OT Limit

		Excess Monthly OT Claimed

		Count of Occurrences



		HCS/AAA

		PSA 6

		084 LMT AAA/Mason 

		Provider, Name

		121016101

		2016-05

		40.00

		0.00

		0.50

		1



		HCS/AAA

		PSA 6

		084 LMT AAA/Mason 

		Provider, Name

		121073301

		2016-05

		40.00

		0.00

		26.00

		1



		HCS/AAA

		PSA 6

		084 LMT AAA/Mason 

		Provider, Name

		116145501

		2016-05

		40.25

		1.00

		35.50

		1



		HCS/AAA

		PSA 6

		084 LMT AAA/Mason 

		Provider, Name

		122017701

		2016-05

		40.00

		0.00

		14.00

		1







This output will display a list of providers who have claimed in excess of their work week limit based on a conversion to a monthly overtime limit. For each month of payment selected in the filter, the report will list the:

· Provider

· Month of Service for which overtime was claimed 

· IP’s specific work week limit (including temporary approvals) 

· Monthly OT Limit

· Excess monthly OT Claimed 

· Number of times the IP has showed up on the report



If a month of service displayed in the report matches the month of payment (e.g. Month of Payment = 7/2016, Month of Service = 7/2016), the claims data for the service month will not be complete because the last half of the month will not have been paid; however, when this situation occurs, it means that the IP has already exceeded their Monthly OT Limit in the first half of the month. In order to see a complete month of service, the user must select the month of payment following the full month of service the user would like to see (e.g. Month of Payment = 7/2016, Month of Service = 8/2016)



Clicking on the ‘occurrence’ number will link to all associated occurrences of excess overtime claims. The occurrence count began June 1, 2016. Because policy will allow the first round of monitoring to count multiple occurrences as only one contract action and because an IP’s count will start over when they are re-contracted (and have not been terminated for excess claiming) an occurrence count may not necessarily mean a contract action was initiated. 



REPORT DETAILS



To see the details associated with the excess claim, click on the Provider Name to link to the detail. The detail view will display as follows:



		Admin

		Region/PSA

		RU

		Case Manager

		Case Manager Phone

		Case Manager Email

		Client Name

		ADSA ID

		Client P1 ID

		Week Start Date

		Week End Date

		Month of Service

		Hours Claimed

		OT Claimed



		HCS/AAA

		PSA 6

		084 LMT AAA/Mason 

		Name Here

		360-427-2226

		Email Here

		Client A

		3103XX

		10034XXXXWA

		5/1/2016

		5/7/2016

		2016-05

		40.00

		 



		HCS/AAA

		PSA 6

		084 LMT AAA/Mason 

		Name Here

		360-427-2225

		Email Here

		Client B

		1240XX

		10168XXXXWA

		5/1/2016

		5/7/2016

		2016-05

		18.00

		 



		 

		 

		 

		

		 

		 

		 

		 

		 

		 

		 

		 

		58.00

		18.00



		HCS/AAA

		PSA 6

		084 LMT AAA/Mason 

		Name Here

		360-427-2226

		Email Here

		Client A

		3103XX

		10034XXXXWA

		5/8/2016

		5/14/2016

		2016-05

		5.00

		 



		HCS/AAA

		PSA 6

		084 LMT AAA/Mason 

		Name Here

		360-427-2225

		Email Here

		Client B

		1240XX

		10168XXXXWA

		5/8/2016

		5/14/2016

		2016-05

		17.00

		 



		 

		 

		 

		

		 

		

		

		 

		 

		 

		 

		 

		22.00

		0



		HCS/AAA

		PSA 6

		084 LMT AAA/Mason 

		Name Here

		360-427-2226

		Email Here

		Client A

		3103XX

		10034XXXXWA

		5/15/2016

		5/21/2016

		2016-05

		28.00

		 



		HCS/AAA

		PSA 6

		084 LMT AAA/Mason 

		Name Here

		360-427-2225

		Email Here

		Client B

		1240XX

		10168XXXXWA

		5/15/2016

		5/21/2016

		2016-05

		21.00

		 



		 

		 

		 

		 

		 

		

		

		 

		 

		 

		 

		 

		49.00

		9.00



		HCS/AAA

		PSA 6

		084 LMT AAA/Mason 

		Name Here

		360-427-2226

		Email Here

		Client A

		3103XX

		10034XXXXWA

		5/22/2016

		5/28/2016

		2016-05

		28.00

		 



		HCS/AAA

		PSA 6

		084 LMT AAA/Mason 

		Name Here

		360-427-2225

		Email Here

		Client B

		1240XX

		10168XXXXWA

		5/22/2016

		5/28/2016

		2016-05

		15.00

		 



		 

		 

		 

		 

		 

		 

		 

		 

		 

		 

		 

		 

		43.00

		3.00



		Monthly OT Claimed: 

		30



		Excess Monthly OT:

		4







A new tab will open and the report detail output will display the client(s) for which the IP claimed excess overtime hours and the Case Manager and Case Manager contact information associated to each client, broken down by work week, and totaled at the bottom of the table. 



If an IP is displayed because a CM has not submitted a complete form DSHS 15-482 for a temporary approval, once the form is submitted to HQ and data entered into the database, the report will be refreshed, meaning the IP will no longer be displayed in the report, and the occurrence will refresh.    



To go back to the summary report, click on the summary tab open behind the detail tab. [image: ]



Either view of the report, Summary or Detail, can be exported to excel in order to filter and sort to a higher degree of detail if desired. 
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Steps for recording Excess Claiming Activities on Contract Monitoring screen in ACD.docx
Steps for recording Excess Claiming Activities on Contract Monitoring screen in ACD:



· Search for specific contract on Contract Search screen – recommended search is on Contract Number, such as:  1612-12345

· Double click on search result for that contract to open Contract Detail screen

· On Contract Detail Page 1 for that contract, click on the Monitoring button to open the Monitoring tab:



[image: ]






· On the Monitoring screen, click New to start new Monitoring record for the specific contract

· Monitoring Date will be preset at “today’s” date – edit that field if need be

· Select Excess Claiming as the Monitoring Activity, and type in description of Steps into Comment box:



[image: ]



· Click Save to save the Monitoring record

· Do the same thing for subsequent steps in process, either by Editing the existing Monitoring record, or by adding a new Monitoring record
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