
 

 

PROPOSED RULE MAKING 
CR-102 (June 2004) 
 (Implements RCW 34.05.320) 

Do NOT use for expedited rule making 
Agency:  Department of Health 

 Preproposal Statement of Inquiry was filed as WSR   ; or  

 Expedited Rule Making--Proposed notice was filed as WSR   ; or 

 Proposal is exempt under RCW 34.05.310(4). 

 Original Notice 

 Supplemental Notice to WSR   

 Continuance of WSR   

Title of rule and other identifying information: (Describe Subject)  

      WAC 246-919-990 Fees and Renewal cycles, Physician and surgeon; and WAC 246-918-990 Physician Assistants. Amending 
impaired physician program surcharge and retired active physician licensing fees to implement 2009 SHB 1765 and 2009 2SHB 1899. 

 

Hearing location(s):      

Department of Health 
101 Israel Rd SE TC1 
Room 163 
Tumwater, WA 98501 

Submit written comments to: 

Name: Julie Kitten 
Address:       243 Israel Rd. SE 
Tumwater, WA 98504 

Website: http://www3.doh.wa.gov/policyreview/ 
fax      360-236-2795                         by (date) 07/21/2009 

Date: 07/21/09                               Time: 3:00 pm 
Assistance for persons with disabilities:   Contact 

Julie Kitten by 07/07/2009 

TTY (800) 833-6388  or () 711 

 
Date of intended adoption:    07/21/2009 

(Note:  This is NOT the effective date) 

Purpose of the proposal and its anticipated effects, including any changes in existing rules:  

      The proposed rules increase the annual impaired provider surcharge fee to $50.00 for physicians, surgeons, and physician 
assistants. The annual surcharge fee is assessed in two-year cycles on each license renewal or new license for practitioners 
licensed under 18.71 and 18.71A. The proposed rules will also provide for a two-year renewal cycle for retired active physicians to 
align with the cycle for physicians, and correct the impaired physician program statute cited for physician assistants. In addition, the 
proposed rules will implement 2SHB 1899 that exempts licensed retired active physicians who reside and practice in Washington 
from paying all fees except the impaired physician program surcharge. 

 
 
Reasons supporting proposal:   

      SHB 1765 (Chapter 98, Laws of 2009) requires that physicians and physician assistants pay $50.00 per year for the impaired 
physician program. 2SHB 1899 (Chapter 403, Laws of 2009) exempts retired active physicians who reside and practice in 
Washington from paying all fees except the impaired physician program surcharge. These changes and the housekeeping change 
require amendments to the fee rules to create accurate rules.  

Statutory authority for adoption:  

RCW 43.70.250 and RCW 43.70.280 

Statute being implemented:  

RCWs 18.71.310, 18.71A.020, 18.71.080, 18.130.250, 
43.70.110 
 

Is rule necessary because of a: 

 Federal Law? 
 Federal Court Decision? 
 State Court Decision? 

If yes, CITATION: 
 

  Yes 

  Yes 

  Yes 

  No 

  No 
  No 

CODE REVISER USE ONLY 

 

 

DATE  06/16/09 
 

NAME (type or print) 

Mary C. Selecky 

SIGNATURE 

  

TITLE 

Secretary of Health 

 

 



(COMPLETE REVERSE SIDE) 

Agency comments or recommendations, if any, as to statutory language, implementation, enforcement, and fiscal 
matters: 
      None 

 

Name of proponent: (person or organization)       Department of Health 

 
 Private 

 Public 

 Governmental 

Name of agency personnel responsible for:   

 Name Office Location Phone 

Drafting............... Dianna Staley 310 Israel Rd. SE, Tumwater, WA 360-236-4997 

Implementation.... Julie Kitten 243 Israel Rd. SE, Tumwater, WA 360-236-2757 

Enforcement.........Julie Kitten 243 Israel Rd. SE, Tumwater, WA 360-236-2757 

Has a small business economic impact statement been prepared under chapter 19.85 RCW? 

  
  Yes.  Attach copy of small business economic impact statement. 
 
 A copy of the statement may be obtained by contacting: 
   Name:  

   Address:        
 

 phone   
 fax        
 e-mail    

 

  No.  Explain why no statement was prepared. 
      A small business economic impact statement (SBEIS) was not prepared.    Under RCW 19.85.025 and 34.05.310(4)(f), a SBEIS is not 
required for proposed rules that set or adjust fees or rates pursuant to legislative standards. 

                 

Is a cost-benefit analysis required under RCW 34.05.328? 
 
  Yes     A preliminary cost-benefit analysis may be obtained by contacting: 
   Name:  

   Address:        

 

 phone   
 fax       

                  e-mail    
 

  No: Please explain:       The agency did not complete a cost benefit analysis under RCW 34.05.328.  RCW 34.05.328(5)(b)(vi) 

exempts rules that set or adjust fees or rates pursuant to legislative standards. 

             
 

 

 

 



[ 1 ] OTS-2430.1

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 08-15-014, filed 7/7/08, effective
7/7/08)

WAC 246-918-990  Physician assistants fees and renewal cycle.
(1) Licenses must be renewed every two years on the practitioner's
birthday as provided in chapter 246-12 WAC, Part 2.  ((The
secretary may require payment of renewal fees less than those
established in this section if the current level of fees is likely
to result in a surplus of funds.  Surplus funds are those in excess
of the amount necessary to pay for the costs of administering the
program and to maintain a reasonable reserve.  Notice of any
adjustment in the required payment will be provided to
practitioners.  The adjustment in the required payment shall remain
in place for the duration of a renewal cycle to assure
practitioners an equal benefit from the adjustment.))

(2) The applicant or licensee must pay the following
nonrefundable fees:

Title of Fee Fee
Physician assistants((, certified physician assistants,
physician assistant-surgical assistants, acupuncture
physician assistants)):
Application (annual).* (($50.00))

$125.00
Two-year renewal.* ((70.00))

220.00
Expired license reissuance 50.00
Duplicate license 15.00
((Impaired physician program surcharge
.*(assessed at $35.00 on each
application and for each year of the
renewal period as required in RCW
18.71.310(2))

 35.00

UW library fee 25.00))

.*Includes:  The application or renewal fee, the Washington
physician health program surcharge (RCW 18.71A.020(3))
assessed at $50.00 per year, and the fee to access the
University of Washington (UW) HEAL-WA web site (RCW
43.70.110) assessed at $25.00 per year.



[ 1 ] OTS-2431.1

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 08-15-014, filed 7/7/08, effective
7/7/08)

WAC 246-919-990  Physician and surgeon fees and renewal cycle.
(1) Licenses must be renewed every two years on the practitioner's
birthday as provided in chapter 246-12 WAC, Part 2, except
postgraduate training limited licenses ((and retired active
physician licenses.  The secretary may require payment of renewal
fees less than those established in this section if the current
level of fees is likely to result in a surplus of funds.  Surplus
funds are those in excess of the amount necessary to pay for the
costs of administering the program and to maintain a reasonable
reserve.  Notice of any adjustment in the required payment will be
provided to practitioners.  The adjustment in the required payment
shall remain in place for the duration of a renewal cycle to assure
practitioners an equal benefit from the adjustment)).

(2) Postgraduate training limited licenses must be renewed
every year to correspond to the program's date.  ((The secretary
may require payment of renewal fees less than those established in
this section if the current level of fees is likely to result in a
surplus of funds.  Surplus funds are those in excess of the amount
necessary to pay for the costs of administering the program and to
maintain a reasonable reserve.  Notice of any adjustment in the
required payment will be provided to practitioners.  The adjustment
in the required payment shall remain in place for the duration of
a renewal cycle to assure practitioners an equal benefit from the
adjustment.))

(3) A retired active physician ((licenses shall be renewed
every year.  The secretary may require payment of renewal fees less
than those established in this section if the current level of fees
is likely to result in a surplus of funds.  Surplus funds are those
in excess of the amount necessary to pay for the costs of
administering the program and to maintain a reasonable reserve.
Notice of any adjustment in the required payment will be provided
to practitioners.  The adjustment in the required payment shall
remain in place for the duration of a renewal cycle to assure
practitioners an equal benefit from the adjustment)) who resides
and practices in Washington and obtains or renews a retired active
license is exempt from all licensing fees except for the impaired
physician program surcharge authorized by RCW 18.71.310.

(4) The applicants and licensees must pay the following
nonrefundable fees:

Title of Fee Fee
Physicians and surgeons:  Chapter 18.71 RCW

Application (annual).* (($425.00))
$500.00



Title of Fee Fee
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((Retired active physician license renewal.* 100.00
Retired active late renewal penalty 50.00))
Two-year renewal.* ((525.00))

675.00
Late renewal penalty 262.50
Expired license reissuance 262.50
Certification of license 50.00
Duplicate license 15.00
Temporary permit 50.00
Application fee for transitioning from a

postgraduate training limited license
(annual).*

((100.00))
175.00

Retired active physicians and surgeons:
(Two-year cycle)

Retired active physician who resides and
practices in-state per RCW 18.71.080
and 18.130.250 (Washington physician
health program surcharge)

100.00

Retired active physician license
renewal.*(does not meet in-state
exemption)

350.00

Retired active late renewal penalty 50.00
Postgraduate limited license fees:  RCW
18.71.095
(One-year cycle)

Limited license application.* ((325.00))
400.00

Limited license renewal.* ((325.00))
400.00

Limited duplicate license 15.00
((Impaired physician program .*(assessed at
$35.00 on each application and for each year of
the renewal period as required in RCW
18.71.310(2))

35.00

UW library fee 25.00))

.*Includes:  The application or renewal fee, the Washington
physician health program surcharge (RCW 18.71A.020(3))
assessed at $50.00 per year, and the fee to access the
University of Washington (UW) HEAL-WA web site (RCW
43.70.110) assessed at $25.00 per year.
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