Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife FISHING RULE CHANGE
WASHINGTON DEPARTMENT OF FISH AND WILDLIFE
600 Capitol Way North, Olympia, WA 98501-1091

August 11, 2009

Two-pole fishing option starts Aug. 15 on most state lakes

Action: Licensed anglers may purchase a two-pole endorsement allowing them to use a second line while fishing in most freshwater lakes in Washington.

Effective dates: Aug. 15, 2009

Species affected: All freshwater game fish species.

Location: Statewide, freshwater lakes unless specifically exempted due to conservation or specific management objectives.

Reasons for action: Rule will implement the two-pole endorsement established by the 2009 state Legislature.

Other Information: Effective Aug. 15, the two-pole endorsement option will apply to the majority of the 8,000 fishing lakes, ponds and reservoirs in Washington state. Anglers wishing to take advantage of the new opportunity will be required to pay a $20 fee ($5 for resident seniors) for the endorsement in addition to the cost for a recreational fishing license issued by the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW).

Revenue generated from the new fees will go toward hatchery fish production.

Approximately 145 lakes and ponds will be excluded from the two-pole endorsement. WDFW's priority is to protect and conserve Washington's fish populations, while providing opportunities for anglers. The new legislation will help achieve both by improving prospects for catching hatchery trout and warm-water fish in the state's lakes, while excluding areas where populations are more vulnerable.

Excluded waters are those with conservation issues, such as waters containing threatened or endangered species, or lakes designated for specific management objectives, such as juvenile-only fishing lakes. The list of excluded lakes and ponds is available online at wdfw.wa.gov/licensing/twopole/. Saltwater fisheries and fisheries on rivers and streams will also be excluded.

The department will also evaluate additional areas and situations where two-pole fishing may be allowed in the future. The public is encouraged to provide comments on the new law during WDFW's 2010-11 sportfishing rule-making process in early September.

When the new endorsement option goes into effect Aug. 15, all fishing regulations, such as size, species and daily limits, will still apply. Anglers with a valid two-pole endorsement may use up to three hooks on each line.

Anglers may buy an endorsement for a second fishing pole at an authorized license dealer, listed at wdfw.wa.gov/lic/vendors/vendors.htm, or online at fishhunt.dfw.wa.gov/.

Information contact: For more information, contact Jim Uehara, (360) 902-2738, visit WDFW's website at wdfw.wa.gov/, or call WDFW's licensing department at (360) 902-2464.

Fishers must have a current Washington fishing license, appropriate to the fishery. Check the WDFW "Fishing in Washington" rules pamphlet for details on fishing seasons and regulations. Fishing rules are subject to change. Check the WDFW Fishing hotline for the latest rule information at (360) 902-2500, press 2 for recreational rules. For the Shellfish Rule Change hotline call (360)796-3215 or toll free 1-866-880-5431.

Return to WDFW Home Page Return to WDFW Home Page


XML