"Training the Guardians of Democracy"
Establish high standards and exceptional training to ensure that criminal justice professionals in Washington State have the knowledge and skills to safely and effectively protect the life, liberty, and property of the people they serve.

Mental Health First Aid for Criminal Justice is an education program that will teach law enforcement personnel to identify, understand, and respond to signs of mental illnesses and substance use disorders. Mental Health First Aid USA is managed, operated, and disseminated by three national authorities — the National Council for Community Behavioral Healthcare, the Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, and the Missouri Department of Mental Health. The Mental Health First Aid for Criminal Justice class is taught to law enforcement audiences around the country including academies in Missouri and Rhode Island and sheriff's offices and police departments in Maryland.


The Mental Health First Aid for Criminal Justice is offered to present an overview of mental illness and substance use disorders in the U.S. and introduces participants to risk factors and warning signs of mental health problems, builds understanding of their impact, and overviews common treatments. As Mental Health First Aiders students will learn a 5-step action plan encompassing the skills, resources and knowledge to help an individual in crisis connect with appropriate professional, peer, social, and self-help care.


Who can attend our classes?

  • Open to all law enforcement agencies in the State of Washington.

Overtime/Backfill Reimbursement:

  • Commissioned law enforcement personnel from agencies in King County Only, are eligible for OT/Backfill Reimbursement at a rate of $55/hour per King CO MIDD Contract.
  • Overtime/Backfill Reimbursement Form: Click Here

Dress Code and Identification:

  • Uniform, agency logo clothing or business casual attire is appropriate for attending a WSCJTC class.
  • Visible official ID is recommended (badges/agency IDs) while on campus.
  • Off Campus classes may have dress requirements in the student instructions.

Cost: None


  • One Day
  • 0800-1700
  • Dates Vary, Check Schedule

Cancellation Policy:

  • Deadline: If, for any reason, it becomes necessary to cancel the application, you must notify the registrar via email  This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it seven (7) days prior to class.
  • Fee: $50 for No shows and Late cancellations

***Is this class full or not available???? Please complete the Course Interest SurveyPlease Note: This is not a waiting list.  You will not be contacted by WSCJTC unless there is enough interest to generate a class being scheduled.  At that time we will contact everyone that has shown interest so that applications can be submitted.



There is no test for this class.

How to Apply:

Law Enforcement: Online Registration-LMS (Only agency authorized personnel can access this tool. Contact your Training Manager on your local procedures).
Questions: Contact LMS Help Desk |   This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it


Non Law Enforcement: Application



Reimbursement Form Instructions


Course, Program or Policy Questions

CIT Registrar This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it


Rev Oct 2015
Session Start & End Date Location Status/Cost/Downloads
8078-3 February 02, 2016 WSCJTC
19010 1st Ave S, Burien
WA 98148
Open  / None  

8078-5 April 05, 2016 WSCJTC
19010 1St. Ave. , Burien
WA 98148
Open  / None  

8078-4 June 22, 2016 WSCJTC
19010 1st. Ave., Burien
WA 98148
Open  / None  

8078-1 September 29, 2016 WSCJTC
1091001st. Ave., Burien
WA 98148
Open  / None