Are you interested in becoming a Reserve Officer?
Contact your local Sheriff's Office or Police Department and ask for their Reserve Coordinator. WSCJTC does not schedule Reserve Officer Academies.
Look at our Frequently Asked Question page for more information regarding our reserve program.
RCW 10.93.090 explains: A specially commissioned Washington peace officer who has successfully completed a course of basic training prescribed or approved for such officers by the Washington state criminal justice training commission may exercise any authority which the special commission vests in the officer, throughout the territorial bounds of the state, outside of the officer's primary territorial jurisdiction under the following circumstances:(1) The officer is in fresh pursuit, as defined in RCW 10.93.120 ; or(2) The officer is acting pursuant to mutual law enforcement assistance agreement between the primary commissioning agency and the agency with primary territorial jurisdiction.
This class is a minimum of 249.5 hours in length. The Reserve Academy curriculum adopted by the Commission is designed similar to that of the Basic Academy, including student performance objectives for each instructional block. It is designed to provide reserves with the basic knowledge and skills required for safe, proper and effective law enforcement service. Instructional blocks include: Criminal Law and Procedure, Communications Skills, Crisis Intervention, Defensive Tactics, Patrol Procedures, Criminal Investigations, Evidence Law, Firearms, including range qualifications, EVOC, Use of Force, Ethics, Civil Liability and First Aid. Basic training requirements can be found under WAC 139-05-810.
Graduates of those Academies that have been approved by the Commission and who, upon academy completion, pass a certification examination developed and administered by the Commission, will receive the state's basic reserve officers certificate. Such certification satisfies the basic training requirements for reserve officers under the Washington Aid Peace Powers Act, RCW 10.93.090.
Definition: “Reserve Officers” are included under the definition “specially commissioned Washington peace officer” under RCW 10.93.020(5) and includes any law enforcement officer who does not serve as a law enforcement officer of this state on a full-time basis, but who when called into active service, is fully commissioned on the same basis as full-time officers to enforce the criminal laws of this state.
Reserve certificate cannot be used in place of Peace Officer Certification.
General information regarding hosting a reserve academy can be found in the 2016 Reserve Academy Resource Guide
The Basic Reserve Academy curriculum is updated periodically to reflect changes in law and procedure. An agency approved for an academy should contact the program coordinator at least one month prior to the academy start date to receive the most current curriculum.
Form 1271 This form is filled out by agencies looking to host a WSCJTC sponsored Reserve Academy. The form must be turned into our office at least 60 days prior to the planned start of the academy.
Request for Reserve Academy Recognition R.02-16
Form 1270 Applications are filled out by the potential recruit, their sponsoring agency, and the hosting agency. Applications must be turned into our office at least 7 days prior to the start of an academy.
Basic Reserve Academy Application (R.12-15)
Form 1272 The request for certificates form is filled out by the Academy Commander. This form must be turned into our office at least 21 days prior to the end of an academy.
Request for Certificates (R. 03-15)
Form 1273 Termination forms are filled out by the Academy Commander for any recruit that does not complete the academy.
Termination Form (R.09-09)
Form CJ-1903 The agency sponsoring a recruit reserve must fill this form out and submit it to the Academy Commander. Recruit that will not be reserve officers do not need this form turned in. The Academy Commander must submit all Notice of Hire forms to our office at least 21 days prior to the end of the academy. Certificates of Completion will not be produced by WSCJTC without this.
CJ-1902 Notice of Officer Separation (PDF) and CJ-1903 Notice of Officer Hire (PDF) Updated 5/31/2016
Form CJ-1902 the agency sponsoring a recruit reserve must fill this form out if 1) WSCJTC has already received form CJ 1903 - Notice of Hire, and 2) the recruit reserve did not complete the reserve academy.
CJ-1902 Notice of Officer Separation (Word) and CJ-1902 Notice of Officer Separation (PDF) Updated 5/31/2016
| Reserve Forms & General Inquiries:
|| Scan / Email:
| Administrative Contact:
|| Rachael Anderson
| WSCJTC Program Manager:
|| Tom Hill
| Questions about specific academies:
|| Contact the listed academy commander below.
|Start & End Date
||Ellensburg Reserve Basic Academy ||Mar 01 -Jul 22, 2016
||Ellensburg Police Department
100 N Pearl St,
Ellensburg WA 98926
|Open / None
Registration Contact: Sgt. Brett Koss, 509-962-7280/
||Centralia Reserve Basic Academy ||Apr 05 -Sep 03, 2016
||Lewis County Sheriff's Office
345 West Main Street
Chehalis WA 98532
|Open / $200
Registration Contact: Sgt. Carl Buster, 360-623-3363/
||Spokane Fall 2016 Reserve Academy ||Aug 17 -Dec 03, 2016
||Spokane Police Academy
2302 N Waterworks
Spokane WA 99212
|Open / $200
Academy Commander: Lt. Kevin King - 509/742-8110,
||Skagit Valley College Reserve Academy ||Aug 17, 2016 -Feb 25, 2017
||Skagit Valley College
2405 East College Way
Mount Vernon WA 98273
|Open / $1991
Cost is approximately $1991 and will earn 14 quarterly, college credits. Please contact Skagit Valley College for details. Academy Commander: Captain Lou D'Amelio - 360/202-4059,
||Fife Reserve Academy ||Sep 06, 2016 -Feb 04, 2017
||Fife Police Department
3737 Pacific Hwy. E
Fife WA 98424
|Open / $700
Academy CMDR: Assistant Chief David Woods - 253/896-8248,