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PART TWO OF THE 2008 WASHINGTON LEGISLATIVE UPDATE 
 
LED INTRODUCTORY EDITORIAL NOTE:  This is Part Two of what likely will be a two-
part compilation of 2008 State of Washington legislative enactments of interest to law 
enforcement.  At the end of Part Two is an index to the two parts.  We will provide a Part 
Three if we need to either address additional enactments or provide clarification about 
enactments addressed in Parts One and Two. 
 
Note that unless a different effective date is specified in the legislation, acts adopted 
during the 2008 regular session take effect on June 12, 2008 (90 days after the end of the 
legislative session).  For some acts, different sections have different effective dates.  We 
have generally indicated the effective date applicable to the sections that we believe are 
most critical to law enforcement officers and their agencies.   
 
Consistent with our past practice, our Legislative Updates will for the most part not 
digest legislation in the subject areas of sentencing, consumer protection, retirement, 
collective bargaining, civil service, tax, budget, and worker benefits.     
 
Text of each of the 2008 Washington acts is available on the Internet at 
[http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/].  Use the 4-digit bill number for access to the enactment.   
 
Thank you to Tom McBride and Pam Loginsky of the Washington Association of 
Prosecuting Attorneys for providing information.  Thank you also to the WSP’s 
Government and Media Relations section for providing information. 
 
We will include some RCW references in our entries, but where new sections or chapters 
are created by the legislation, the State Code Reviser must assign the appropriate code 
numbers.  Codification by the Code Reviser will likely not be completed until early fall of 
this year.   
 
We remind our readers that any legal interpretations that we express in the LED 
regarding either legislation or court decisions do not constitute legal advice, express 
only the views of the editors, and do not necessarily reflect the views of the Attorney 
General’s Office or of the Criminal Justice Training Commission.   
 
LEGISLATIVELY RECOGNIZING DOMESTIC PARTNERSHIPS FOR SOME PURPOSES, 
INCLUDING FOR PRIVILEGE PURPOSES 
Chapter 6 (2SHB 3104)        Effective Date: Primarily June 12, 2008 
 
This act amends many RCW provisions to expand the rights and responsibilities of persons 
registered as “domestic partners” under chapter 26.60 RCW.   
 
Included are amendments to RCW 5.60.060(1) to extend spousal testimonial privilege to domestic 
partners.  Also, domestic partners  are added to the definition of “survivors” under the victims’ 
rights provisions of RCW 7.69.020, and they are added to the definition of “family members” under 
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the victims’ rights provisions of RCW 7.69B.010.  And RCW 26.50.010 of the DVPA chapter is 
amended to add “domestic partners” to the definition of “family or household members.”   
 
But the Legislature did not amend RCW 10.99.020’s definition of “family or household members.” 
Therefore, for purposes of the 4-hour mandatory-arrest-for-assault provisions of RCW 
10.31.100(2)(c), officers will continue to be guided by the un-amended RCW 10.99.020 definition.   
 
Also, various forfeiture laws are amended to protect the community property interest of innocent 
domestic partners.   
 
ACCESSING RECORDS OF ADDRESS CONFIDENTIALITY PROGRAM PARTICIPANTS 
Chapter 18 (SHB 1421)            Effective Date: June 12, 2008 
 
Among other things, amends RCW 40.24.070 to read as follows:   
 

The secretary of state may not make any records in a program participant's file 
available for inspection or copying, other than the address designated by the 
secretary of state, except under the following circumstances:   
(1) If requested by a law enforcement agency, to the law enforcement agency; 
and  
(a) The participant's application contains no indication that he or she has been a 
victim of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking perpetrated by a law 
enforcement employee; and  
(b) The request is in accordance with official law enforcement duties and is in 
writing on official law enforcement letterhead stationery and signed by the law 
enforcement agency's chief officer, or his or her designee; or 
(2) If directed by a court order, to a person identified in the order; and  
(a) The request is made by a nonlaw enforcement agency; or 
(b) The participant's file indicates he or she has reason to believe he or she is a 
victim of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking perpetrated by a law 
enforcement employee.   

 
And adds a new section to chapter 40.24 RCW reading as follows:   
 

A court order for address confidentiality program participant information may only 
be issued upon a probable cause finding by a judicial officer that release of 
address confidentiality program participant information is legally necessary:   
 
(1) In the course of a criminal investigation or prosecution; or 
(2) To prevent immediate risk to a minor and meet the statutory requirements 
of the Washington child welfare system.   

 
Any court order so issued will prohibit the release of the information to any other 
agency or person not a party to the order.   

 
LIMITING THE OBLIGATIONS OF LANDLORDS UNDER WRITS OF RESTITUTION 
Chapter 42 (ESHB 1865)            Effective Date: June 12, 2008 
 
Amends RCW 59.18.312.  The Final Bill Report summarizes the amendments as follows:   
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Upon the execution of a writ of restitution, the landlord must take possession of 
any property of the tenant found on the premises.  The landlord may store the 
property in any reasonably secure place, including on the premises, unless: (a) 
the tenant has requested storage by serving the landlord with a written request 
within three days of service of the writ of restitution (in which case the landlord 
must store the property); or (b) the tenant has objected to storage (in which case 
the landlord must deposit the property upon the nearest public property).  The 
presumption that the tenant does not object to storage if the tenant is not present 
during the eviction is removed.   

 
If the landlord knows that the tenant is a person with a disability and the disability 
(as defined by the law against discrimination) impairs or prevents the tenant from 
making a written request for storage, it is presumed that the tenant has 
requested storage unless the tenant objects in writing.   

 
The procedures for selling and disposing stored property are changed.  The 
threshold cumulative value of property for when a landlord must provide more 
notice to the tenant before selling the property is changed from $50 to $100.  For 
property with a cumulative value over $100, the landlord may sell the property 
(but not dispose of it) after 30 days, rather than 45 days, from the date the 
landlord sent notice of the sale to the tenant.  The landlord may dispose of any 
property not sold.  The notice must be delivered to the tenant's last known 
address.   

 
When serving the writ of restitution, the sheriff must also serve the tenant with a 
form provided by the landlord in which the tenant may request the landlord to 
store the tenant's property.  The landlord's form must substantially comply with 
the form created in the act.   

 
LEGISLATIVELY RECOGNIZING “CHIEF FOR A DAY” PROGRAM OF THE CRIMINAL 
JUSTICE TRAINING COMMISSION 
Chapter 69 (HB 2999)            Effective Date: June 12, 2008 
 
The Final Bill Report describes the background and content of this act as follows:   
 

The Legislature finds that the CJTC's participation in charitable work, such as the 
"Chief for a Day" program (program) that provides special attention to chronically 
ill children, advances the overall purposes of the CJTC by promoting positive 
relationships between law enforcement and the citizens of Washington.   

 
The program is a special program where commissioners and staff partner with 
local, state, and federal law enforcement agencies, hospitals, and the community 
provide a day of special attention to chronically ill children.  Each child is selected 
and sponsored by a law enforcement agency.  The event occurs one day, 
annually or every other year, and may occur on the grounds and in the facilities 
of the CJTC.  The program may include any appropriate honoring of the child as 
a chief, such as a certificate swearing the child in as a chief, a badge, a uniform, 
and donated gifts such as games, puzzles, and art supplies.   

 
The duties and powers of the CJTC are expanded to include promoting positive 
relationships between law enforcement and citizens by authorizing 
commissioners and staff to participate in the program events.  The CJTC is 
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authorized to accept grants and gifts and use public facilities for purposes of the 
events.  The Executive Director of the CJTC must designate staff who may 
participate in the program.  However, all staff and commissioners who participate 
in the events of the program must comply with the state's ethics rules and 
regulations.   

 
SPECIFYING STATE AGENCIES THAT MAY ACCESS CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD 
INFORMATION 
Chapter 74 (HB 2955)            Effective Date: June 12, 2008 
 
The Final Bill Report summarizes this act as follows:   
 

An investigative unit is established within the OAG, the DOL, the DSHS, the L&I, 
and the ESD.  The directors of the respective agencies must employ qualified 
supervisory and investigative personnel for the program.  The directors of the 
agencies, their designee, or their respective investigation units are authorized to 
receive state and federal criminal history record information that includes non-
conviction data for purposes associated with the investigation of abuse or fraud 
in certain programs administered by the agency.   

 
The L&I may access criminal history information only in the investigation of 
persons filing for or receiving workers' compensation benefits.  The ESD may 
access the information for any purpose associated with an investigation of abuse 
or fraud in the unemployment compensation program.  The DOL and the DSHS 
may access the information for any purpose associated with an investigation 
conducted by the investigation unit for public assistance or licensing.  The OAG 
may access information for the prosecution of any act prohibited under the 
Consumer Protection Act.   

 
The CJTC is authorized to receive criminal history record information, including 
nonconviction data, for any purpose associated with CJTC employment or peace 
officer certification.  For a national criminal history records check, fingerprints 
must be submitted to the WSP.  After a state criminal history search, the WSP 
must forward the fingerprints to the FBI for a national record check.   

 
Dissemination or use of non-conviction data for unauthorized purposes is 
prohibited.   

 
MODIFYING RULES OF EVIDENCE TO MAKE COMMISSION OF OTHER SEX OFFENSES 
ADMISSIBLE IN MORE SEX OFFENSE PROSECUTIONS 
Chapter 90 (SSB 6933)            Effective Date: June 12, 2008 
 
Currently, Washington Supreme Court Evidence Rule 403 provides:   
 

Although relevant, evidence may be excluded if its probative value is substantially 
outweighed by the danger of unfair prejudice, confusion of the issues, or 
misleading the jury, or by considerations of undue delay, waste of time, or 
needless presentation of cumulative evidence.   

 
And Evidence Rule 404(b) currently provides:   
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Evidence of other crimes, wrongs, or acts is not admissible to prove the character 
of a person in order to show action in conformity therewith.  It may, however, be 
admissible for other purposes, such as proof of motive, opportunity, intent, 
preparation, plan, knowledge, identity, or absence of mistake or accident.   

 
The Final Bill Report for this act that adds a new section to chapter 10.58 RCW summarizes the 
act as follows:   
 

Washington Superior Court Evidence Rule 404(b) is changed through an 
amendment to RCW Chapter 10.58.  In a criminal action charging a sex offense, 
evidence of the defendant's commission of other sex offenses is admissible, 
notwithstanding Washington's Evidence Rule (ER) 404(b), if relevant to any fact 
in issue, if the evidence is not inadmissible under ER 403.   

 
The prosecutor is required to disclose such prior-sex-offense evidence to the 
defendant at least 15 days before trial, including statements of witnesses or 
summaries of the substance of any testimony expected to be offered.  For 
purposes of this exception to ER 404(b), the term "sex offense" is defined.  
Factors for the trial judge to consider when making the ER 403 balancing test are 
included in the bill.   

 
EXPANDING THE LIST OF CRIMES FOR WHICH DNA WILL BE TAKEN FOLLOWING A 
CONVICTION 
Chapter 97 (2SHB 2713)            Effective Date: June 12, 2008 
 
Amends RCW 43.43.754 to expand the list of circumstances when DNA will be taken following 
conviction.  In addition to conviction (or juvenile adjudication) of any felony, conviction (or juvenile 
adjudication) of any of the following will also trigger the taking of DNA:  Assault in the fourth 
degree with sexual motivation (RCW 9A.36.041, 9.94A.835); Communication with a minor for 
immoral purposes (RCW 9.68A.090); Custodial sexual misconduct in the second degree (RCW 
9A.44.170); Failure to register as sex offender (RCW 9A.44.130); Harassment (RCW 
9A.46.020); Patronizing a prostitute (RCW 9A.88.110); Sexual misconduct with a minor in the 
second degree (RCW 9A.44.096); Stalking (RCW 9A.46.110); Violation of a sexual assault 
protection order granted under chapter 7.90 RCW.  
 
DNA will also be taken from every adult or juvenile individual who is required to register under 
RCW 9A.44.130.    
 
WASPC REGISTERED OFFENDER WEBSITE:  LEVEL I SEX OFFENDERS WHO FAIL TO 
MAINTAIN REGISTRATION ARE ADDED 
Chapter 98 (HB 2786)            Effective Date: June 12, 2008 
 
The Washington Association of Sheriffs and Police Chiefs is required to include on its public web 
site, which presently includes registered kidnappers and registered Level II and III sex offenders, 
Level I sex offenders during that time that the Level I’s are out of compliance with sex offender 
registration requirements.   
 
ADDRESSING MORTGAGE LENDING, INCLUDING CREATING NEW CRIMES 
Chapter 108 (SHB 2770)            Effective Date: June 12, 2008 
 
In addition to adopting a number of provisions relating to licensing and other aspects of mortgage-
lending practices, this act creates several new crimes in newly adopted sections in Title 19 RCW.  
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Section 9 creates the crime of mortgage fraud, a class B felony.  Section 10 makes knowingly 
altering, destroying, shredding, mutilating or concealing a record (or attempting such), in an 
attempt to avoid prosecution for mortgage fraud, a class B felony.  The statute of limitations for 
both new felonies is five years after the violation or three years after the actual discovery of the 
violation.  Section 11 creates additional class B felonies for using the proceeds of mortgage 
fraud to obtain any interest in real property, or to obtain an interest in or control of any enterprise 
or real property knowing that the interest or control was obtained through a pattern or mortgage 
fraud.  Also, mortgage fraud is added to the Criminal Profiteering Act at RCW 9A.82.010. 
 
ADDRESSING NON-PAYMENT OF FARES ON PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION, AND 
AUTHORIZING CIVIL FINES FOR NON-PAYORS 
Chapter 123 (ESHB 2480)            Effective Date: June 12, 2008 
 
Adds new sections to chapter 35.85 and 36.57 RCW and amends RCW 35.58.020 and 
35.57A.010.  The Final Bill Report for this act summarizes its content as follows:   
 

Passengers traveling on public transportation operated by PTBAs, Metros, and 
city-owned transits are required to pay the established fare and to provide proof 
of payment when requested to do so by persons designated to monitor fare 
payment.   

 
Metros, PTBAs, and city-owned transits are authorized to designate persons to 
monitor fare payment, and to establish a schedule of civil fines and penalties for 
civil infractions related to fare payment violations.  A civil infraction not to exceed 
$250 may be issued by designated fare monitors to passengers who: fail to pay 
the fare; fail to provide proof of payment when requested to do so by a person 
designated to monitor fare payment; or refuse to leave the bus when asked by a 
person designated to monitor fare payment.  The authority to issue civil citations 
for fare payment violations is supplemental to any other existing authority to 
enforce fare payment [such as prosecution for theft or trespass].   

 
ADDRESSING HIGHER EDUCATION CAMPUS SECURITY PLANS 
Chapter 168 (SSB 6328)            Effective Date: June 12, 2008 
 
Amendment to RCW 28B.10.569 requires, “within existing resources,” that institutions of higher 
education create and distribute campus safety plans.  The plans are to cover a number of things, 
including mutual aid agreements and memorandums of understanding with local jurisdictions. 
 
ADDRESSING VEHICLES CONTAMINATED BY HAZARDOUS CHEMICALS 
Chapter 201 (2SHB 2817)            Effective Date: June 12, 2008 
 
Amends RCW 66.44.050 and adds new sections to chapter 66.44 RCW and chapter 66.55 RCW.  
The Final Bill Report summarizes the act as follows:   
 

After a local health officer has issued an order declaring a vehicle or vessel unfit 
and prohibiting its use due to contamination by hazardous chemicals, the city or 
county in which the property is located must prohibit its use, occupancy, or 
removal, and require demolition, disposal, or decontamination.  The city, county, 
or local law enforcement agency may impound the vehicle or vessel.   

 
The owner of a contaminated vehicle or vessel must have the property 
demolished, disposed of, or decontaminated by an authorized contractor, or 
under a written work plan approved by the local health officer within 30 days of 
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receiving an order declaring the property unfit and prohibited from use.  After all 
procedures granting the right of notice and the opportunity to appeal have been 
exhausted, if the property owner has not acted, then the local health officer or the 
local law enforcement agency may demolish, dispose of, or decontaminate the 
property.  If the local health officer or local law enforcement agency has taken 
responsibility for demolition, disposal, or decontamination, then all rights, title, 
and interest in the property are forfeited to the local health jurisdiction or the local 
law enforcement agency.   

 
The property owner is responsible for the costs of the property's demolition, 
disposal, or decontamination, as well as all costs incurred by the local health 
officer or the local law enforcement agency, except:   

 
• the legal owner of a vehicle or a vessel whose sole basis of 
ownership is a bona fide security interest is responsible for costs 
only if the legal owner had knowledge of or consented to any act 
or omission that caused contamination of the vehicle or vessel; 
and  

 
• if the vehicle or vessel has been stolen and the property owner 
neither had knowledge of nor consented to any act or omission 
that contributed to the theft and subsequent contamination of the 
vehicle or vessel, the owner is not responsible for costs, except:  
(1) if the registered owner is insured, the registered owner must, 
within fifteen calendar days of receiving an order declaring the 
property unfit and prohibiting its use, submit a claim to his or her 
insurer for reimbursement of costs; and (2) must provide proof of 
claim to the local health officer or the local law enforcement 
agency.   

 
The Department of Licensing must place notification on the title of contaminated 
vehicles and vessels declared unfit and prohibited from use by order of the local 
health officer.  The Department of Licensing [DOL] must also place notification on 
the title when vehicles or vessels have been decontaminated and released for 
reuse.   

 
A person is guilty of a gross misdemeanor if he or she advertises for sale or sells 
a contaminated vehicle or vessel that has been declared unfit and prohibited 
from use by the local health officer when:   

 
• the person has knowledge that the local health officer has issued 
an order declaring the vehicle or vessel unfit and prohibiting its 
use; or  

 
• a notification has been placed on the title that the vehicle or 
vessel is contaminated.   

 
A person may advertise for sale or sell a vehicle or vessel after a release for 
reuse document has been issued by the local health officer or a notification has 
been placed on the title that the vehicle or vessel has been decontaminated and 
released for reuse.   
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A tow operator who contracts with a law enforcement agency for transporting an 
impounded vehicle must only remove a contaminated vehicle to a secure public 
facility and is not required to store or dispose of the vehicle.  The vehicle must 
remain in the care, custody, and control of the law enforcement agency to be 
demolished, disposed of, or decontaminated.  The law enforcement agency must 
pay for all costs incurred as a result of the towing if the vehicle owner does not 
pay within 30 days.  The law enforcement agency may seek reimbursement from 
the owner.   

 
“CIVIL DISORDER TRAINING” STATUTE AMENDED TO ADD PROPERTY PROTECTION 
Chapter 206 (SB 5868)            Effective Date: June 12, 2008 
 
This act amends RCW 9A.48.120.  The Final Bill Report summarizes the background and effect of 
this act as follows:   
 

Background: In 2002, the Legislature passed an anti-"civil disorder training" bill 
[RCW 9A.48.120] making it illegal to instruct others in how to commit violent 
public disturbances intended to hurt people.  Proponents believe that this change 
successfully prevented hate groups from operating paramilitary training camps in 
Washington.  But, proponents of this bill believe the existing law has a loophole, 
in that it does not prohibit training in how to commit violent disturbances if those 
violent disturbances are intended to destroy property.   

 
Summary: "Civil disorder" means any public disturbance involving acts of 
violence that is intended to cause an immediate danger of, or to result in, 
significant injury to property or the person of any other individual.   

 
MODIFYING LAW RELATING TO IDENTITY THEFT 
Chapter 207 (SB 5878)            Effective Date: June 12, 2008 
 
The Final Bill Report for this act’s revision to chapter 9.35 RCW summarizes the background and 
effect of the amendments as follows:   
 

Background: In order for a victim of identity theft to exercise certain state and 
federal rights, it is necessary for the victim to have a police incident report.  RCW 
19.182.162 requires a consumer who claims to be a victim of identity theft to 
have a copy of a police report filed by the consumer in order to obtain a block of 
a fraudulent entry on his or her credit report.  By law, identity theft victims must 
have police reports to freeze their credit, to place long term fraud alerts on credit 
reports, and to obtain records of fraudulent accounts from merchants.  A 
nationwide survey conducted by the Federal Trade Commission shows that in 
2005, 19 percent of the people surveyed said police would not take their report of 
identity theft.  Seven states, exclusive of Washington, have pending legislation to 
mandate the taking of identity theft reports and 15 states have the law in place.   

 
Summary: A person who believes his or her financial information or means of 
identification has been illegally obtained, used, or disclosed to another to commit, 
aid or abet a crime, may file an incident report with a law enforcement agency 
that has jurisdiction over the victim's residence, place of business, or the place 
where the crime occurred.  The law enforcement agency is directed to create a 
police incident report and provide the complainant with a copy of the report.  The 
agency is authorized to refer the report to another law enforcement agency.  
Investigation of a report claiming identity theft is not mandated under this act and 
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an incident report is not required to be counted as an open case for statistical 
purposes.   

 
The relevant unit of prosecution for identity theft is an unlawful use of a means of 
identification or financial information.  A defendant may be prosecuted and 
punished separately for every instance the defendant unlawfully obtains, 
possesses, transfers, or uses the means of identification or financial information, 
unless the instances constitute the same criminal conduct.  Whenever any series 
of transactions involving a single person's identification or financial information 
would, when considered separately, constitute identity theft in the second degree 
because of value, and the series of transactions are part of a common scheme or 
plan, the transactions may be aggregated for purposes of determining the degree 
of identity theft involved.  If a person commits another crime during the 
commission of identity theft, the defendant may be prosecuted and punished 
separately for the other crime as well as for the identity theft.   

 
IMPROVING DSHS, OMBUDSMAN REVIEWS AND REPORTS REGARDING SUSPECTED-
CHILD-ABUSE FATALITIES AND NEAR-FATALITIES 
Chapter 211 (2SSB 6206)            Effective Date: June 12, 2008 
 
Makes some changes in the law regarding DSHS’s conducting of and reporting (to the Office of 
the Family and Children’s Ombudsman, to the Legislature, and to a DSHS-created public web 
site) in “child fatality reviews” on the unexpected death or near fatalities of children where there is 
apparent abuse by the child’s parent.   
 
PROVIDING FOR DESTROYING OF JUVENILE DIVERSION RECORDS 
Chapter 221 (SHB 1141)            Effective Date: June 12, 2008 
 
Under an amendment to RCW 13.50.050, this act requires criminal justice agencies to destroy 
juvenile records relating to diversion in the circumstances specified in the act. 
 
AUTHORIZING TRIBAL POLICE OFFICERS TO ACT AS GENERAL AUTHORITY 
WASHINGTON STATE POLICE OFFICERS 
Chapter 224 (EHB 2476)               Effective Date: July 1, 2008 
 
Adds a new chapter to Title 10 RCW.  The Final Bill Report summarizes the enactment as follows:   
 
 [Authority] 
 

Tribal police officers are authorized to act as general authority Washington State 
Peace Officers when the appropriate tribal government meets specified 
requirements regarding certification, insurance liability, and administration.  The 
appropriate tribal government must submit proof of the required certification and 
other information to the Office of Financial Management (OFM) for review and 
verification.  Only when this information has been provided to the OFM are the 
tribal police officers authorized to act as general authority Washington State 
Peace Officers.  The authority is granted only within the exterior boundaries of 
the reservation or outside the exterior boundaries of the reservation pursuant to 
statute: with consent of the local sheriff; in response to an emergency involving 
threat to human life or property; in response to a request for assistance pursuant 
to a mutual law enforcement assistance agreement; when transporting a 
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prisoner; when the officer is executing an arrest or search warrants; or when an 
officer is in fresh pursuit.   

 
Certification 

 
For a tribal police officer to be authorized as a general authority Washington 
State Peace Officer he or she must be certified pursuant to statute.  The 
appropriate tribal law enforcement agency must have a written agreement with 
the CJTC and have submitted its police officers seeking certification to the same 
requirements as the state's certified peace officers.   

 
The Criminal Justice Training Commission must notify the OFM in the event a 
tribal police officer authorized under this section is decertified or if a participating 
tribal government is otherwise in noncompliance with statutory requirements.   

 
Insurance Liability 

 
Tribal governments must carry liability insurance and waive sovereign immunity 
to the extent of such coverage so as to allow a civil action for damages in the 
event a tribal police officer acting in the capacity of a state peace officer commits 
a tort.  The OFM will have discretion to determine the adequacy of coverage 
based on its own risk management analysis.   

 
Inter-Local Requirements 

 
Authorized tribal police officers acting in the capacity of a state peace officer 
must submit copies of any citation, notice of infraction, or any incident report to 
the appropriate local police chief or sheriff within three days.  Any citations must 
be to Washington courts, except that any Indian cited within the exterior 
boundaries of the reservation may be cited to tribal court.  Any citation that does 
not follow these requirements is unenforceable.   

 
MAKING FAILURE BY AN ADULT TO REGISTER AS A SEX OFFENDER OR KIDNAPPING 
OFFENDER A CLASS B FELONY 
Chapter 230 (2SHB 2714)            Effective Date: June 12, 2008 
 
The Final Bill Report summarizes the content of this act as follows:   
 

Failure to Register as a Sex Offender 
 

The penalty for felony-level Failure to Register as a Sex Offender is increased 
from a class C felony to a class B felony.   

 
The Sex Offender Policy Board must review and make recommendations 
regarding sex and kidnapping offender registration and public notification. The 
review and recommendations must, at a minimum, include:   

 
• the appropriate class of felony and sentencing designations for a conviction of 
Failure to Register;  

 
• the appropriate groups and classes of adult and juvenile offenders who should 
be required to register; 
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• the duration and termination process for sex and kidnapping offender 
registration and public notification; and 

 
• simplification of statutory language to allow the Department of Corrections, law 
enforcement, and offenders to more easily identify registration and notification 
requirements.  

 
In formulating its recommendations, the Sex Offender Policy Board must review 
the experience in other jurisdictions and any available evidence-based research 
to ensure that its recommendations have the maximum impact on public safety.  
The Sex Offender Policy Board must report to the Governor and the Legislature 
no later than November 1, 2009.   

 
Juvenile Sentencing 

 
For purposes of juvenile sentencing, the offense category for Failure to Register 
as a Sex Offender is retained at its current level, which is offense category C 
(offense category D for attempts, bailjumps, conspiracies, or solicitations).   

 
EXPANDING METAL PROPERTY LAWS TO COVER “PRIVATE METAL PROPERTY” 
Chapter 233 (SHB 2858)            Effective Date: June 12, 2008 
 
This act builds on provisions in chapter 19.290 RCW adopted in 2007 and digested in the July 
2007 LED at pages 12-13.  The Legislature’s Final Bill Report summarizes this 2008 act as 
follows:   
 

A new category of metal property is created [in chapter 19.290. RCW] called 
private metal property.  “Private metal property” is defined as catalytic converters, 
either singly or in bundles, bales, or bulk, that have been removed from vehicles 
for sale as a specific commodity.   

 
Scrap metal businesses entering into a transaction to purchase or receive private 
metal property from a member of the general public or a commercial enterprise 
are subject to the same record keeping requirements and penalties as those 
required for transactions involving non-ferrous metal property and commercial 
metal property.  The records that must be kept include but are not limited to: the 
name, date, and signature of the person with whom the transaction is made; the 
time, date, location, and value of the transaction; the name of the employee 
representing the scrap metal business in the transaction; the vehicle and license 
plate number of the vehicle used to deliver the private metal property; and a 
description of the property being purchased or received.   

 
No scrap metal business may purchase or receive private metal property from a 
commercial enterprise unless that enterprise has a commercial account with the 
scrap metal business.   

 
All required records must be open and available to law enforcement upon 
request.  After notice from law enforcement that private metal property has been 
reported as stolen, a scrap metal business must tag and hold that property for 
the statutory maximum of time as directed by law enforcement.   
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Transactions involving private metal property valued at greater than $30 may not 
be made in cash or to anyone who does not provide a street address.  Similar to 
payments made for non-ferrous metal property, payment must be by non-
transferable check no earlier than 10 days after the transaction.   

 
Vehicle wreckers and hulk haulers that obtain metal from the components of 
vehicles are exempt from all of the reporting requirements that apply to scrap 
metal dealers and scrap metal processors.   

 
CIGARETTE IGNITION STRENGTH STANDARDS TO BE ENFORCED BY STATE DIRECTOR 
OF FIRE PROTECTION AND AGO THROUGH CIVIL PENALTY SCHEME  
Chapter 239 (2SSB 5642)          Effective Date: August 1, 2009 
 
Beginning August 1, 2009, only reduced ignition cigarettes may be sold in Washington.  
Administration and civil enforcement of this act is by the Washington State Director of Fire  
Protection and the Washington Attorney General’s Office.   
 
CREATING A SEX OFFENDER POLICY BOARD 
Chapter 249 (SSB 6596)            Effective Date: June 12, 2008 
 
Creates the Sex Offender Policy Board from a broad cross-section of experts and practitioners to 
access and report on the performance of all components of the sex offense response systems 
statewide.   
 
PROTECTING CONFIDENTIALITY OF SUBSCRIBERS’ WIRELESS PHONE NUMBERS 
Chapter 271 (2SHB 2479)            Effective Date: June 12, 2008 
 
The Final Bill Report summarizes the content of this act as follows:   
 

The restrictions on including wireless phone numbers in a directory [in chapter 
19.250 RCW adopted in 2005] are extended to cover "directory providers."  A 
directory provider is defined as any person in the business of marketing, selling, 
or sharing the phone number of any subscriber for commercial purposes.   

 
Reasonable Investigation.  Before including any phone number in a directory, a 
directory provider must undertake an ongoing, reasonable investigation to 
determine whether the number is a wireless number.  A directory provider is 
presumed to have undertaken a reasonable investigation if the directory provider 
compares the phone number against a commercially available list of wireless 
numbers or ported numbers at least every 30 days.  The directory provider also 
must use up-to-date, available technology when conducting its investigation.   

 
If the investigation reveals that the number is a wireless phone number, the 
directory provider may not include the number in a directory, unless the 
subscriber of the wireless phone number has given his or her express, opt-in 
consent or unless an exception applies.  Providers of reverse lookup services are 
exempt from these opt-in requirements.   

 
Pre-existing Directories.  A directory provider that has maintained a directory 
before the effective date of this act must within 30 days either: (1) secure the 
express, opt-in consent of each subscriber in the directory; or (2) remove the 
wireless phone numbers of any subscribers who have not provided their express, 
opt-in consent.  These restrictions do not apply to the following: (1) a directory 
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provider that has conducted a reasonable investigation and is unable to 
determine whether the number is a wireless number; (2) a person who publishes 
a wireless phone number in a directory where the subscriber pays a fee to have 
the number published for commercial purposes; (3) a person who publishes a 
wireless phone number in a directory that is obtained directly from a radio 
communications service company where the radio communications service 
company has already obtained express, opt-in consent; (4) a person who 
publishes a subscriber's phone number that was ported from listed wireline 
service to wireless service within the previous 15 months; and (5) providers of 
reverse phone number search services.  [An exception is also provided for 
disclosing information for responding to emergency communications.]   

 
Reverse Phone Number Search Services.  Providers of reverse phone number 
search services must allow a subscriber to perform a reverse phone number 
search for free to determine whether the subscriber's wireless number is 
contained in the provider's directory or database.   

 

Subscribers may opt-out of having their wireless number included in a reverse 
phone number search service at any time.  A violation of this requirement is a 
[civil] violation of the Consumer Protection Act.   

 

Penalties.  If a directory provider includes a wireless phone number in a directory 
without the subscriber's express opt-in consent, the directory provider may be 
fined up to $50,000 for violating the act.  [The Attorney General may bring such 
civil actions.]  However, a directory provider has not violated the act if it includes 
a wireless number in a directory after it undertook a reasonable investigation and 
was unable to determine whether the number was a wireless number.   

 

[Bracketed text added by LED Eds.]   
 

CREATING DUTY TO REPORT FOR PERSONS WHO INADVERTENTLY DISCOVER 
SKELETAL HUMAN REMAINS  
Chapter 275 (E2SHB 2624)            Effective Date: June 12, 2008 
 

Amends existing provisions aimed at preserving inadvertently discovered skeletal human remains 
and adds a new section to chapter 68.50 RCW (the statute addressing dead bodies).  The new 
section includes the following subsection creating a misdemeanor:   
 

(1) It is the duty of every person who knows of the existence and location of 
skeletal human remains to notify the coroner and local law enforcement in the 
most expeditious manner possible, unless such person has good reason to 
believe that such notice has already been given.  Any person knowing of the 
existence of skeletal human remains and not having good reason to believe that 
the coroner and local law enforcement has notice thereof and who fails to give 
notice to the coroner and local law enforcement, is guilty of a misdemeanor.   

 

Similar misdemeanor provisions are added as part of new sections in chapter 27.44 RCW (the 
“Indian Graves and Records Act”) and chapter 68.60 RCW (the “Abandoned and Historic 
Cemeteries and Historic Graves Act”).   
 

ADDRESSING CRIMINAL STREET GANGS 
Chapter 276 (E2SHB 2712)            Effective Date: June 12, 2008 
 

The following are excerpts from the Legislature’s Final Bill Report summarizing the act:   
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Sentencing.  The crime of Involving a Juvenile in a Felony Offense is created [in 
the sentencing provisions of chapter 9.94A RCW].  It occurs when an adult gang 
member, convicted of a felony, has compensated, threatened, or solicited a 
minor in order to involve that minor in the commission of the underlying felony 
offense.  A prosecutor may file a special allegation that the felony committed 
involved the compensation, threatening, or solicitation of a juvenile in the 
commission of the felony offense.  The penalty for the underlying offense is 
calculated by multiplying the standard sentencing range for the completed 
offense by 125 percent.  If the new calculated standard sentence range exceeds 
the statutory maximum sentence for the offense, the statutory maximum 
sentence is the presumptive sentence unless the offender is a persistent 
offender.   

 
Aggravating Factors.  The list of aggravating factors in the Sentencing Reform 
Act is expanded to include any crime that is intentionally committed directly or 
indirectly for the benefit, aggrandizement, gain, profit, advantage, reputation, 
membership, or influence of a gang.   

 
Community Custody.  In the instance of a gang member convicted of an offense 
involving the unlawful possession of a firearm, the court must sentence the 
offender to a term of community custody.   

 
Malicious Mischief.  A new crime called "Criminal Street Gang Tagging and 
Graffiti" is created [in a new section in chapter 9A.48 RCW].  A person is guilty of 
Criminal Street Gang Tagging and Graffiti if he or she commits Malicious 
Mischief in the third degree and he or she has multiple current or prior 
convictions for Malicious Mischief in the third degree offenses.   

 
When a defendant is prosecuted in a criminal action for a misdemeanor offense, 
other than a violation of a Criminal Street Gang Tagging and Graffiti offense, for 
which the person injured by the act constituting the offense has a remedy by a 
civil action, the offense may be compromised.   

 
Civil Penalties.  The same special civil penalties imposed for shoplifting and 
related thefts of property or services are created for offenses involving Criminal 
Street Gang Tagging and Graffiti. In addition to actual damages to the property, 
penalties and costs may be recovered by the property owner from the person 
causing the physical damage to the property. If the defendant is an adult or 
emancipated minor, those additional penalties and costs include: the value of the 
damaged property, to a maximum of $1,000; a penalty of at least $100, but not 
more than $200; and reasonable attorneys' fees and court costs.   

 
Definitions. The following terms are defined [in amendments to RCW 9.94A.030]:   

 
 . . .  

 
"Pattern of criminal street gang activity" . . . :   

 
The definitions of "criminal street gang," "criminal street gang associate or 
member," "criminal street gang-related offense," and "pattern of criminal street 
gang activity" preempt any conflicting city or county codes ordinances. Cities, 
towns, counties, or other municipalities may only enact laws and ordinances 
relating to criminal street gangs that contain definitions that are consistent with 
definitions in state law.   
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Database.  The WASPC must work with the WSP to expand the use of an 
existing statewide database accessible by law enforcement agencies to include 
criminal street gang data.   

 
 . . .  

 
Grants.  The Washington Association of Sheriffs and Police Chiefs' Gang Grant 
Program. The WASPC must establish a gang grant program available to local 
law enforcement agencies with the goal of targeting gang crime.   

 
 . . .  

 
Witness Relocation Program.  The Department of Community, Trade and 
Economic Development (DCTED) must, subject to available funds, establish a 
temporary witness assistance grant program for witnesses of felony gang-related 
offenses. The DCTED must work with each local prosecuting attorney to 
determine how funding is to be provided to reimburse county prosecutors for 
providing assistance to witnesses. The DCTED must distribute agency pre-
approved witness assistance grant funds to county prosecuting attorneys on a 
quarterly basis. Grants are limited to $5,000 per witness or for up to a three 
month period.   

 
The DOC's Study to Reduce Gang Involvement.  The DOC is required to study 
the best practices to reduce gang involvement and recruitment among its 
incarcerated offenders. The study and recommendations must include 
intervention and successful re-entry programs for gang members seeking to opt-
out of gangs. Such programs may include, but are not limited to, tattoo removal, 
anger management, and obtaining a GED. The DOC must provide a report on its 
findings to the Legislature by January 1, 2009.   

 
EFFECTIVE NEW YEAR’S DAY 2009: ADDRESSING IGNITION INTERLOCK LAW 
PROVISIONS, AND MAKING RELATED IMPLIED CONSENT LAW CHANGES 
Chapter 282 (E2SHB 3254)     Effective Date: Primarily January 1, 2009 
 
The act addresses a number of items relating to ignition interlock and deferred prosecution in the 
DUI context.   
 
Among other things, the act amends RCW 46.20.308’s law enforcement implied consent warning 
provisions to add the following warning:   
 

(d) If the driver’s license, permit, or privilege to drive is suspended, revoked, 
or denied the driver may be eligible to immediately apply for an ignition interlock 
driver’s license.   

 
and to add the following to the written revocation notice explanation:   
 

that the person waives the right to a hearing if he or she receives an ignition 
interlock driver’s license.   

 
The act also amends the felony DUI laws to include the circumstance where a person with a prior 
out-of-state conviction comparable to a Washington DUI-related vehicular homicide or DUI-related 
vehicular assault commits a DUI (RCW 46.61.502) or physical control offense (RCW 46.61.504) in 
Washington.   
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AUTHORIZING EMPLOYMENT LEAVE FOR VICTIMS OF DV, SEXUAL ASSAULT OR 
STALKING 
Chapter 286 (SHB 2602)              Effective Date: April 1, 2008 
 
This act authorizes employment leave for victims and family members of victims of domestic 
violence, sexual assault, or stalking.  The Washington Department of Labor and Industries is 
required to provide notice-posters on this new law, and employers are required to post the 
posters.  Notice will also be provided in specified court proceedings, and notice may also be 
provided by prosecution/law enforcement victim/witness officers.   
 
REVISING SERVICE OF PROCESS PROVISIONS FOR DV PROTECTION ORDERS 
Chapter 287 (ESB 6357)            Effective Date: June 12, 2008 
 
Amends provisions in chapter 26.50 RCW to make it easier to meet service of process 
requirements for permanent domestic violence protection orders.  The act is known as “The 
Rebecca Jane Griego Act.”   
 
CREATING TASK FORCES TO ADDRESS FINANCIAL FRAUD AND IDENTITY THEFT 
CRIMES 
Chapter 290 (2SHB1273)            Effective Date: June 12, 2008 
 
Creates two task forces, one for Spokane County, and one for King-Pierce Counties, to be 
appointed by the Department of Community, Trade, and Economic Development.  The task forces 
will, among other things, apply to the Department for funding to hire prosecutors and law 
enforcement personnel dedicated to investigating and prosecuting financial fraud and identity theft 
crimes.   
 
STUDYING EMERGENCY RESPONSE FOR HIGHER EDUCATION FACILITIES 
Chapter 293 (2SHB 2507)            Effective Date: June 12, 2008 
 
This act requires WASPC and WSP to conduct a study of certain emergency response elements 
at public and private institutions of higher education in Washington.   
 
PROVIDING FOR ADDRESS CONFIDENTIALITY FOR VICTIMS OF TRAFFICKING 
Chapter 312 (SSB 6339)            Effective Date: June 12, 2008 
 
Adds victims of “trafficking” to those who may apply to the Washington Secretary of State to 
participate in the address confidentiality program under chapter 40.24 RCW.  “Trafficking” is 
defined as follows:   
 

“Trafficking” means an act as defined in RCW 9A.40.100 or an act recognized as 
a severe form of trafficking under 22. U.S.C. Sec. 7102(8) as it existed on the 
effective date of this subsection, or such subsequent date as may be provided by 
the secretary of state by rule, consistent with the purposes of this subsection, 
regardless or whether the act has been reported to law enforcement.   

 
*************************** 
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*************************** 
 
 
 

BRIEF NOTE FROM THE UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT 
 
TEXAS COURTS ARE NOT REQUIRED TO COMPLY WITH PRESIDENT’S MEMORANDUM 
DIRECTING THEM TO GIVE EFFECT TO INTERNATIONAL COURT’S RULING UNDER THE 
VIENNA CONVENTION ON CONSULAR RIGHTS - - In Medellín v. Texas, 128 S.Ct. 1346 
(2008), a 6-3 majority of the U.S. Supreme Court rejects the argument of a Mexican national, 
capital murder defendant.  The defendant raised an argument under the Vienna Convention on 
Consular Rights.  He sought to be relieved from the ordinary time bar under the remedy of 
habeas corpus so that he could argue for suppression of his confession for failure of Texas 
officers to advise him in 1993 of his right to contact the Mexican consul.  No such warning was 
given after his 1993 arrest before he made a Mirandized confessed to his participation in the 
1993 gang rapes and brutal murders of two Houston teenage girls.   
 
After Medellín was convicted and sentenced to death, he lost his direct appeal in the Texas 
courts.  He then raised his Vienna Convention claim in an application for state post-conviction 
relief.  The Texas courts held that he was procedurally barred from raising the claim because he 
had not raised it during the direct appeal process.  He then brought the claim in a federal district 
court, but the federal district court rejected his claim.  He sought review in Fifth Circuit of the 
U.S. Court of Appeals. 
 
In 2004, while Medellín’s case was pending in the Fifth Circuit, the International Court of Justice 
ruled that the rights of Medellín and 50 other Mexican nationals on death row in Texas and other 
states had been violated by the courts of the U.S.  The 2004 International Court ruling was that 
that he and others were entitled to reconsideration of their cases even though they had failed to 
timely meet state procedural-default rules at the time that they raised the Vienna Convention 
argument.  On February 28, 2005, President Bush issued a Memorandum stating that the U.S. 
would “discharge its international obligations” under the International Court ruling “by having 
State courts give effect to the ruling.”   
 
After that, the Fifth Circuit rejected Medellín’s argument without considering the International 
Court’s ruling.  He sought review in the U.S. Supreme Court, but he also re-filed for habeas 
corpus relief in the Texas state courts in light of the International Court’s ruling.  The U.S. 
Supreme Court then decided to let the Texas state courts first rule on his new state-court 
request for relief.  The Texas state courts again ruled that Medellín’s Vienna Convention 
argument was barred by procedural default rules, and that the Texas courts were not required to 
grant relief based on the Presidential Memorandum’s directive.  The U.S. Supreme Court then 
accepted review and issued this 2008 decision.  The majority of the U.S. Supreme Court rules, 
in large part based on the constitutional separation of powers principles, that the President 
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could not force the Texas state courts to ignore state-law procedural-default limits on 
successive habeas corpus petitions.   
 
Consistent with this 2008 decision, the U.S. Supreme Court previously ruled in 2006 in Sanchez-
Llamas v. Oregon, 548 U.S. 331 (2006) Sept 06 LED:02, a case involving different defendants 
not addressed in the International Court ruling, that state default rules applied despite the 
Vienna Convention.   
 
Result:  Affirmance of ruling of Texas Court of Criminal Appeals rejecting the habeas corpus 
petition of Jose Ernesto Medellín; he remains on death row in Texas.   
 
LED EDITORIAL NOTE:  The May 99 LED included a relatively comprehensive article at 18-
21 discussing rights of foreign nationals under Vienna Convention on Consular Relations.  
We explained that, where officers learn that an arrestee is a foreign national, the warnings 
or contact requirements should be satisfied relatively soon following custodial arrest.  We 
also noted that the treaty does not apply where there is only a Terry seizure or routine 
traffic stop.  We explained that the treaty extends to all foreign nationals arrested in a 
foreign country covered by the treaty regardless of the legality of their presence in the 
country where they are arrested.   
 
For additional information and instructions and forms regarding the Treaty, the Federal 
Department of State’s webpage link can be found on the CJTC LED webpage.  The 
Department of State provides excellent materials that can be downloaded for use by law 
enforcement agencies.  Also on the CJTC LED webpage is an outline by Pam Loginsky, 
Staff Attorney with the Washington Association of Prosecuting Attorneys. Her article 
contains, among discussions of other topics, a detailed discussion of the Vienna 
Convention treaty (the outline is titled “Confessions, Search, Seizure and Arrest: A Guide 
for Police Officers and Prosecutors” and is updated by Ms. Loginsky annually around the 
month of May).   
 
Our most recent LED entry regarding the Vienna Convention was a report on the Ninth 
Circuit U.S. Court of Appeals decision that disagreed with a Seventh Circuit U.S. Court of 
Appeals decision as to whether a violation of the Vienna Convention will support a section 
1983 civil rights suit.  The Ninth Circuit held that such a violation will not support a section 
1983 suit.  See Cornejo v. County of San Diego, 504 F.3d 853 (9th Cir. 2007) Nov. 07 LED:02.  
In our notes closing the November 2007 LED entry on Cornejo, we provided additional cites 
to LEDs addressing cases interpreting the Vienna Convention.   
 

********************* 
 

WASHINGTON STATE COURT OF APPEALS 
 
DOC FELONY PROBATION ARREST WARRANT WOULD HAVE JUSTIFIED ENTRY OF 
MOM’S HOUSE IF OFFICERS HAD DEVELOPED REASONABLE SUSPICION TO BELIEVE 
HOUSE WAS THE WARRANT SUBJECT’S CURRENT RESIDENCE; BUT ENTRY OF A 
SHED IN THE BACKYARD DID NOT MEET THIS STANDARD BECAUSE OFFICERS HAD 
NO GROUNDS TO BELIEVE SUSPECT STAYED THERE 
 
State v. McKague, __ Wn. App. __, 178 P.3d 1035 (Div. II, 2008) 
 
Facts and Proceedings below:  
 
Jay McKague was the subject of an outstanding DOC felony probation violation arrest warrant.  
The warrant listed his address as 13849 SE Solberg Road.  On two dates in the past, 
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apparently unspecified in the record in this case, officers had arrested Jay at a residence at 
13903 SE Solberg Road where his mother lived, and where, it turned out, Jay’s adult brother 
Ken sometimes stayed.  Four deputies of the Thurston County Sheriff’s Office and four CCOs 
for DOC decided to go the 13903 SE Solberg Road residence of Jay’s mother to look for Jay.  
The Court of Appeals describes the facts and proceedings as they developed from that point: 
 

[T]he officers surrounded the main house, a 10 by 10 foot shed, and a travel 
trailer on the property, while [the lead deputy and lead CCO] went to the front 
door.  Patricia Schultz, Jay and Ken's mother, answered the door. “Frank 
explained to her why [they] were there and [that they] were looking for Jay 
McKague [and] she responded that he wasn't there right now.  [The lead CCO] 
explained that [they] were going to search the residence like [they] had in the 
past to ensure that he wasn't there.  [And they] did so.”  [The lead deputy] 
testified that he did not recall whether [the lead CCO] obtained permission to 
search the residence but, rather, told Schultz “that they were actually going to go 
inside.”   

 
[The lead deputy] also testified that [the lead CCO] did not need to ask 
permission because DOC operates “under different rules.”   

 
When the officers did not find Jay in Schultz's main house, they searched the 
outbuildings.  [The lead deputy] asked Schultz if the officers would find anyone in 
the outbuildings, but he did not obtain her permission to search them.  [The lead 
deputy] testified that Schultz told him “nobody should be in the travel trailer but 
[the officers] might run into Ken . . . in the shed in the back yard because he 
stays there,” but she did not know if he was present at the time.   

 
The door to the shed was closed but not locked and, therefore, [[the lead deputy]] 
entered it.  He observed clothing and furniture, including a couch.  [The lead 
deputy] testified that blankets were covering the space between the couch's 
armrest and the shed wall, and that there may have been “about a foot between 
the actual armrest [of the couch] and the wall and then about a foot-and-a-half 
between the lower part of the couch and the wall.”   Although [the lead deputy] 
did not see the blankets moving, and Jay is over six feet tall and weighs 
approximately 250 pounds, [the lead deputy] believed that Jay could have been 
hiding under the blankets. He testified that he believed Jay could have been 
hiding in the small space under the blankets because the side wall of the couch 
could have been cut out and a “person would be able to [lie] completely 
underneath that couch all the way to the wall, and [that he has], in fact, arrested 
people in that exact same scenario before.”  

 
Therefore, [the lead deputy] pulled back the blankets and found two partially 
open plastic grocery sacks filled with green vegetable matter that he recognized 
as marijuana.  He also observed two full brown paper sacks under the plastic 
sacks and smelled an obvious odor of marijuana.  [The lead deputy] then lifted up 
the couch to ensure that Jay was not under it and, thereafter, exited the shed.  
He telephonically applied for a search warrant, which was granted, and searched 
the rest of the outbuildings, finding additional marijuana and drug paraphernalia.  
When Ken subsequently arrived and acknowledged that he lived in the shed, the 
officers arrested him. 
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The trial court permitted the State to present the evidence that the officers 
gathered in the shed and the jury found Ken guilty of unlawful possession of a 
controlled substance, more than 40 grams of marijuana.  The trial court 
sentenced him to 18 months in prison and 9 to 12 months of community custody. 

 
[Footnotes omitted; some of the bracketed material was supplied by the Court, some by the 
LED Eds.]   
 
ISSUE AND RULING:  1) Law enforcement officers assisting community corrections officers 
making an unconsenting entry of private premises to arrest a person named on a probation 
violation warrant must have, among other things, reasonable suspicion to believe that the 
person named on the warrant is currently a resident of the premises. Did the officers have 
reasonable suspicion to believe that the residence at 13903 SE Solberg Road was Jay 
McKague’s current residence such that their unconsenting entry of the residence to search for 
Jay under the DOC felony probation violation arrest warrant was lawful?  (ANSWER:  No, they 
did not have reasonable suspicion to believe that the residence was Jay’s current residence); 2) 
Even assuming for the sake of argument that the officers did have reasonable suspicion to 
believe that the residence at 13903 SE Solberg Road was Jay’s current residence, were they 
justified in looking for Jay in the shed in the back yard?  (ANSWER: No, they did not have 
reasonable suspicion that Jay was living in the shed) 
 
Result:  Reversal of Thurston County Superior Court conviction of Ken Duane McKague for 
unlawful possession of a controlled substance. 
 
ANALYSIS:  (The legal analysis by the Court of Appeals is a bit confusing, but it appears to be 
as we describe below.)   
 
If the arrest warrant had not been a probation violation warrant but an ordinary warrant, then, 
under constitutional entry-to-arrest standards, the officers, in acting without a search warrant, 
would have been required to establish probable cause that Jay lived at 13903 SE Solberg Road, 
the address where they made their forcible entry, as opposed to the 13849 address listed on the 
arrest warrant.  But because the warrant was for a probation violation, the officers were required 
to establish only the lower standard of reasonable suspicion (see generally Terry v. Ohio) that 
Jay currently lived at the place forcibly entered.   
 
The McKague Court concludes, however, that the information that the officers possessed did 
not meet even the relaxed reasonable suspicion standard as to Jay’s current residence.  The 
officers’ testimony that they had arrested Jay at the 13903 SE Solberg Road address twice in 
the past did not establish reasonable suspicion that he currently resided there.  That is because 
the State did not provide any dates as to those arrests so as to contradict the listing on the 
arrest warrant of a different address of residence. 
 
Finally, the McKague Court concludes that, even assuming that the officers had reasonable 
suspicion to believe that Jay was currently residing with his mother at 13903 SE Solberg Road, 
they did not have any reason to believe that he resided in the shed in the back yard where they 
found Ken’s marijuana while looking for Jay.  The brothers’ mother told officers that they “might 
run into Ken . . . in the shed in the back yard because he sometimes stays there.”  That did not 
provide any basis for concluding that Jay stayed or resided there, the Court concludes. 
 
Accordingly, because the officers did not have legal authority to enter the shed without a search 
warrant or consent or exigent circumstances, the plain view doctrine does not support the 
officers’ seizure of Ken’s marijuana in the shed.   
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BENCH WARRANT FOR FAILURE TO APPEAR FOR POST-CONVICTION PROBATION 
COURT REVIEW JUSTIFIES ARREST DESPITE LACK OF COURT FINDING OF 
PROBABLE CAUSE AS TO PROBATION VIOLATION 
 
State v. Erickson, __ Wn. App. __, 179 P.3d 852 (Div. I, 2008) 
 
Facts and Proceedings below: (Excerpted from Court of Appeals opinion) 
 

On November 16, 2006, a Lynnwood police officer made contact with Erickson. 
Erickson willingly volunteered his name when asked. After terminating contact, 
the officer entered Erickson's name into a warrant database and discovered a 
bench warrant issued by Lynnwood Municipal Court.  The officer reinitiated 
contact with Erickson and arrested him based on the warrant.  At the jail, the 
booking officer searched Erickson and discovered a baggie of cocaine. 

 
Erickson was charged with possession of a controlled substance. He moved to 
suppress evidence based on his contention that the warrant was invalid due to 
lack of probable cause.  After a CrR 3.6 hearing, the trial judge denied Erickson's 
motion to suppress.  Erickson waived his right to a jury and stipulated to a bench 
trial on agreed documentary evidence.  He was convicted as charged and 
sentenced to 90 days in jail. 

 
[Footnote omitted] 
 
ISSUE AND RULING:  Where the bench warrant was issued for Erickson’s failure to appear for 
post-conviction court review of a possible probation violation, did the warrant justify the arrest 
even though the warrant-issuing court had not made a probable cause finding as to the alleged 
probation violation?  (ANSWER:  Yes, the arrest was justified by the bench warrant) 
 
Result:  Affirmance of Snohomish County Superior Court conviction of Anthony Jay Erickson for 
misdemeanor possession of a controlled substance. 
 
ANALYSIS: 
 
The Erickson Court’s core analysis is as follows: 
 

The bench warrant used to arrest Erickson was issued because he failed to 
appear at a probation review hearing following his conviction for assault in the 
fourth degree.  Erickson had been released on probation following this 
conviction.  While he was under the supervision of the municipal court, Erickson's 
probation officer filed a report alleging that Erickson had violated that probation 
by failing to report to the probation department upon release and failing to enroll 
in drug treatment.  Erickson was summonsed to appear at a probation review 
hearing but the summons was returned because Erickson had moved and not 
provided the court with his new address, contrary to the terms of his probation.  
The municipal judge ordered a bench warrant for failure to appear at the review 
hearing.   

 
It is undisputed that the municipal court record shows probable cause existed for-
and that Erickson was found guilty of-assault in the fourth degree.  Nevertheless, 
Erickson maintains that an additional finding of probable cause that he committed 

23 
 



a probation violation was required before the court could issue a bench warrant 
for his arrest.  We disagree.   

 
The municipal court issued a warrant not because it found that Erickson had 
violated his probation but because he was convicted of assault and subsequently 
failed to appear for a hearing at which the court could make a determination 
regarding an alleged probation violation.  Failure to appear, in itself, is not a 
crime.  Any punishment imposed for a probation violation relates to the original 
conviction for which probation was granted.  Thus, although the alleged probation 
violation and subsequent failure to appear set the wheels in motion for Erickson's 
eventual arrest, the assault conviction was the crime underlying the issuance of 
the bench warrant.   

 
A finding of probable cause for a probation violation is not required before issuing 
a warrant for failure to appear.  As a probationer, Erickson had a right to 
minimum due process before his probation could be revoked, including “ ‘(a) 
written notice of the claimed violations of [probation or] parole; (b) disclosure ... of 
evidence against him; (c) opportunity to be heard in person and to present 
witnesses and documentary evidence.’ ”  But these requirements must be met 
before Erickson's probation is revoked, not before the court may issue a bench 
warrant for failure to appear.   

 
[Some footnotes and citations omitted] 
 
The Erickson Court goes on to distinguish the circumstances of this case from those in State v. 
Walker, 101 Wn. App. 1 (Div. II, 2000) Aug 00 LED:14, where the Court of Appeals held that 
under the Washington Court Rules a court clerk has no authority, without judicial participation, 
to issue a warrant to arrest a person for failing to pay a fine or appear in court on a criminal 
citation.   
 
The Erickson Court also distinguishes the circumstances of this case from the circumstances in 
State v. Parks, 136 Wn. App. 232 (Div. I, 2006) Feb 07 LED:23, where the Court of Appeals 
held that a bench warrant issued by a judge for failure to appear for trial does not justify an 
arrest because the court has not yet made a finding of probable cause for the underlying 
charge.  The Erickson Court agrees with the analysis of the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals in 
U.S. v. Gooch, 506 F.3d 1156 (9th Cir. 2007) Feb 08 LED:02 that Parks does not apply to the 
post-conviction circumstance of a court-issued bench warrant for failure to appear for probation 
review.  That is because in the latter circumstance there has already been a determination by a 
court - - i.e., the guilty verdict or adjudication - - that the person committed the underlying 
offense.   
 

*************************** 
 

NEXT MONTH 
 
The July 2008 LED will include entries on the following recent appellate court decisions:  
 
(1) the Washington Supreme Court’s decision (May 1, 2008) in State v. Gatewoood, holding that 
a person’s surprised expression upon seeing police as they drove by a bus shelter, his 
subsequent furtive gesture as if hiding something, and his walking away as police approached 
did not add up to reasonable suspicion for a Terry stop;  
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(2) the Washington Court of Appeals decision (April 17, 2008) in State v. Adams, holding that 
that an officer was not justified in frisking a mere passenger in a stolen car whose driver was 
arrested for PSP; and  
 
(3) the Washington Court of Appeals decision (April 29, 2008) in State v. Montes-Malindas, 
holding that the circumstances added up to pretextual stop where an officer saw persons acting 
suspiciously near a van, watched them from a secluded spot, then followed their van and 
stopped it for going a short distance without headlights on.   
 

************************** 
 

INTERNET ACCESS TO COURT RULES & DECISIONS, TO RCWS, AND TO WAC RULES 
 
The Washington Office of the Administrator for the Courts maintains a website with appellate court 
information, including recent court opinions by the Court of Appeals and State Supreme Court.  
The address is [http://www.courts.wa.gov/].  Decisions issued in the preceding 90 days may be 
accessed by entering search terms, and decisions issued in the preceding 14 days may be more 
simply accessed through a separate link clearly designated. A website at [http://legalwa.org/] 
includes all Washington Court of Appeals opinions, as well as Washington State Supreme Court 
opinions from 1939 to the present.  The site also includes links to the full text of the RCW, WAC, 
and many Washington city and county municipal codes (the site is accessible directly at the 
address above or via a link on the Washington Courts’ website).  Washington Rules of Court 
(including rules for appellate courts, superior courts, and courts of limited jurisdiction) are 
accessible via links on the Courts’ website or by going directly to [http://www.courts.wa.gov/court-
_rules].   
 
Many United States Supreme Court opinions can be accessed at 
[http://supct.law.cornell.edu/supct/index.html].  This website contains all U.S. Supreme Court 
opinions issued since 1990 and many significant opinions of the Court issued before 1990.  
Another website for U.S. Supreme Court opinions is the Court’s website at 
[http://www.supremecourtus.gov/opinions/opinions.html].  Decisions of the Ninth Circuit of the U.S. 
Court of Appeals since January 2000 can be accessed (by date of decision only) by going to the 
Ninth Circuit home page at [http://www.ca9.uscourts.gov/] and clicking on “Opinions.”  Opinions 
from other U.S. circuit courts can be accessed by substituting the circuit number for “9” in this 
address.  Federal statutes are at [http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/].   
 
Access to relatively current Washington state agency administrative rules (including DOL rules 
in Title 308 WAC, WSP equipment rules at Title 204 WAC, and State Toxicologist rules at WAC 
448-15), as well as all RCW's current through January 2006, is at 
[http://www1.leg.wa.gov/legislature].  Information about bills filed since 1997 in the Washington 
Legislature is at the same address.  “Washington State Legislature,” “bill info,” “house bill 
information/senate bill information,” and use bill numbers to access information.  Access to the 
“Washington State Register” for the most recent proposed WAC amendments is at this address 
too.  In addition, a wide range of state government information can be accessed at 
[http://access.wa.gov].  The internet address for the Criminal Justice Training Commission's 
home page is [https://fortress.wa.gov/cjtc/www/led/ledpage.html], while the address for the 
Attorney General's Office home page is [http://www.atg.wa].   
 

********************* 
 
The Law Enforcement Digest is co-edited by Senior Counsel John Wasberg and Assistant 
Attorney General Shannon Inglis, both of the Washington Attorney General’s Office.  Questions 
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and comments regarding the content of the LED should be directed to Mr. Wasberg at (206) 464-
6039; Fax (206) 587-4290; E Mail [johnw1@atg.wa.gov].  Questions regarding the distribution list 
or delivery of the LED should be directed to [ledemail@cjtc.state.wa.us].  LED editorial 
commentary and analysis of statutes and court decisions express the thinking of the writers and 
do not necessarily reflect the views of the Office of the Attorney General or the CJTC.  The LED is 
published as a research source only.  The LED does not purport to furnish legal advice.  LEDs 
from January 1992 forward are available via a link on the Criminal Justice Training Commission’s 
Internet Home Page [https://fortress.wa.gov/cjtc/www/led/ledpage.html]   
 

*************************** 
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