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2003 LEGISLATIVE UPDATE – PART THREE 
 
LED Introductory Editorial Notes:  This is Part Three of a four-part update of 2003 
Washington legislative enactments of interest to law enforcement.  Part Four will appear 
next month and will include an index of all legislation covered in our four-part update.  At 
this point in our review, we do not have additional enactments to cover in Part Four. 
 
Note that, unless a different effective date is specified in the legislation, enactments 
adopted during the 2003 regular session take effect on July 27, 2003, i.e., 90 days after 
the end of the regular session.   
 
Thank you to Tom McBride and Pam Loginsky of the Washington Association of 
Prosecuting Attorneys for providing us with helpful information.   
 
Consistent with our past practice, our legislative updates will for the most part not digest 
legislation in the subject areas of sentencing, consumer protection, retirement, collective 
bargaining, civil service, tax, budget, and worker benefits.  We will include in next 
month’s LED a cumulative index of enactments covered in the 2003 legislative update.   
 
Text of the 2003 legislation is available on the Internet, chapter by chapter, at 
[http://www.leg.wa.gov/pub/billinfo/2003-04/chapter_to_bill_table.htm]. We will include 
some RCW references in our entries, but where new sections or chapters are created by 
the legislation, the State Code Reviser must assign the appropriate code numbers.  
Codification will likely not be completed until early fall of this year.   
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We remind our readers that any legal interpretations that we express in the LED are the 
views of the editors and do not necessarily reflect the views of the Attorney General’s 
Office or of the Criminal Justice Training Commission.   
 
Correction to June 03 LED: THREE WHEELED MOTORCYCLES – ENDORSEMENTS AND 
EDUCATION CHAPTER 41 (ESSB 5229); Effective Date: January 1, 2004 
 
BASING JAIL BOOKING FEES ON ACTUAL COST 
CHAPTER 99 (SHB 1232)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 
 
Amends RCW 70.48.390 to increase jail booking fees from $10 to the actual cost or $100, 
whichever is less.    
 
REPLACING “APPROPRIATELY MARKED” POLICE VEHICLE WITH “EQUIPPED WITH 
LIGHTS AND SIRENS” IN ATTEMPT-TO-ELUDE STATUTE, AND CREATING AN 
AFFIRMATIVE DEFENSE  
CHAPTER 101 (ESHB 1076)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 
 
Amends RCW 46.61.024 to read as follows: 
 

 (1)  Any driver of a motor vehicle who willfully fails or refuses to immediately 
bring his vehicle to a stop and who drives his vehicle in a reckless manner 
((indicating a wanton or wilful disregard for the lives or property of others)) while 
attempting to elude a pursuing police vehicle, after being given a visual or 
audible signal to bring the vehicle to a stop, shall be guilty of a class C felony.  
The signal given by the police officer may be by hand, voice, emergency light, or 
siren.  The officer giving such a signal shall be in uniform and ((his)) the vehicle 
shall be ((appropriately marked showing it to be an official police vehicle)) 
equipped with lights and sirens. 
 (2) It is an affirmative defense to this section which must be established by a 
preponderance of the evidence that:  (a) A reasonable person would not believe 
that the signal to stop was given by a police officer; and (b) driving after the 
signal to stop was reasonable under the circumstances. 
 (3)  The license or permit to drive or any nonresident driving privilege of a 
person convicted of a violation of this section shall be revoked by the department 
of licensing. 

 
In State v. Argueta, 107 Wn. App. 532 (2001) Nov 01 LED:10, the Court of Appeals held that 
the police vehicle had to bear some insignia that identified it as an official police vehicle in order 
to be “appropriately marked” under the former version of this statute.  It was not sufficient for the 
court that the police vehicle in question was equipped with lights and sirens, which were being 
used while pursuing the defendant’s vehicle.  The current amendment removes the requirement 
that the vehicle be “appropriately marked,” replaces it with the requirement that the vehicle be 
equipped with lights and sirens, and creates an affirmative defense.  It also substitutes the 
mental state of “reckless” for the prior “willful and wanton disregard” mental state.   
 
CREATION OF STATEWIDE FIRST RESPONDER BUILDING-MAPPING INFORMATION 
SYSTEM CREATED AND OPERATED BY WASPC 
CHAPTER 102 (ESHB 1218)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 
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Requires WASPC to create and operate a statewide first responder building-mapping system to 
be utilized by all state agencies and local governments.  All state and local government 
buildings must be mapped using software consistent with that developed by WASPC. 



 
REQUIRING IGNITION INTERLOCK DEVICE FOR INDIVIDUALS CONVICTED OF DRIVING 
UNDER THE INFLUENCE WITH CHILDREN UNDER 16 IN THE VEHICLE 
CHAPTER 103 (SHB 1619)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 
 
Amends the DUI sentencing provisions of RCW 46.61.5055 to require installation and use of an 
ignition interlock device for at least 60 days for every person convicted of DUI or physical control 
where the offense was committed while a passenger under age 16 was in the vehicle.   
 
CREATING A STATEWIDE JUSTICE INFORMATION NETWORK 
CHAPTER 104 (SHB 1605)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 
 
Creates a statewide justice information network under RCW 10.98 to enable the sharing and 
integrated delivery of criminal justice information maintained in independent information 
systems.   
 
NEW REQUIREMENTS RELATING TO THE PROHIBITION AGAINST THE MAILING, 
SHIPPING, OR DELIVERY OF CIGARETTES TO MINORS AND PROVIDING FOR THE 
SEIZURE OF CIGARETTES SOLD OR DELIVERED IN VIOLATION THEREOF 
CHAPTER113 (SHB 2027)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 
 
Adds a new section to chapter 70.155 RCW making it unlawful for sellers of cigarettes to fail to 
verify that the cigarettes are not mailed, shipped, or otherwise delivered to persons under 18.  
Shipping cigarettes without first verifying proof of age is a felony.  It is a gross misdemeanor for 
a delivery service to deliver cigarettes without verifying proof of age.   
 
Adds the unlawful delivery sales of cigarettes to the Criminal Profiteering Act, Chapter 9A.82 
RCW and makes cigarettes sold, delivered, or attempted to be delivered in violation of the bill 
subject to seizure and forfeiture under RCW 82.24.130.   
 
PROHIBITING THE MANUFACTURE, SALES, OR POSSESSION OF COUNTERFEIT 
CIGARETTES AND PROVIDING FOR THE SEIZURE AND FORFEITURE OF CIGARETTES 
MANUFACTURED, SOLD, AND POSSESSED IN VIOLATION THEREOF 
CHAPTER 114 (SB 1943)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 
 
Adds a new section to chapter 82.24 RCW making it unlawful for any person to knowingly 
manufacture, sell, or possess counterfeit cigarettes.  A cigarette is counterfeit if:   
 

(a) The cigarette or its packaging bears any reproduction or copy of a trademark, 
service mark, trade name, label, term, design, or work adopted or used by a 
manufacturer to identify its own cigarettes; and  
(b) The cigarette is not manufactured by the owner or holder of that trademark, 
service mark, trade name, label, term, design, or work, or by any authorized 
licensee of that person.   

 
Amends RCW 82.24.030 and .040 to provide that only wholesalers may purchase or obtain 
cigarette stamps, and no person other than a licensed wholesaler shall possess unstamped 
cigarettes in this state.   
 
Cigarettes that are manufactured, sold, or possessed in violation of the act are subject to 
seizure and forfeiture under RCW 82.24.130.   
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PROHIBITING INSURERS FROM CANCELING, DENYING, OR REFUSING TO RENEW 
PROPERTY INSURANCE POLICIES DUE TO CLAIMS FOR MALICIOUS HARASSMENT; 
INSURED MUST TIMELY REPORT TO LAW ENFORCEMENT  
CHAPTER 117 (SHB 1128)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 
 
Adds a new section to chapter 48.18 RCW that prohibits insurance companies from taking an 
action on an insurance policy because the “insured has made one or more insurance claims for 
any loss that occurred during the preceding sixty months that is the result of malicious 
harassment.”   
 
The new section also provides: 
 

(4) If an insured sustains a loss that is the result of malicious harassment, the 
insured must file a report with the police or other law enforcement authority within 
thirty days of discovery of the incident, and a law enforcement authority must 
determine that a crime has occurred.  The report must contain sufficient 
information to provide an insurer with reasonable notice that the loss was the 
result of malicious harassment.  The insured has a duty to cooperate with any 
law enforcement official or insurer investigation.  For incidents of malicious 
harassment occurring prior to the effective date of this act, the insured must file 
the report within six months of the discovery of the incident. 

 
CREATING SIX FINANCIAL FRAUD CRIMES RELATING TO THE USE, POSSESSION, OR 
PRODUCTION OF PAYMENT INSTRUMENTS, IDENTIFICATION, OR DEVICES USED TO 
PRODUCE FRAUDULENT DOCUMENTS  
CHAPTER 119 (ESHB 1844)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 
 
Adds six new crimes to chapter 9A.56 RCW.  The first five are felonies, and are also added to 
the criminal profiteering act.  A new section in chapter 9A.56 RCW adds five new felonies, the 
names of which we have underlined in the following new statutory text:   
 

 (1) A person is guilty of unlawful production of payment instruments if he or she 
prints or produces a check or other payment instrument in the name of a person 
or entity, or with the routing number or account number of a person or entity, 
without the permission of the person or entity to manufacture or reproduce such 
payment instrument with such name, routing number, or account number. 
 (2)(a) A person is guilty of unlawful possession of payment instruments if he or 
she possesses two or more checks or other payment instruments, alone or in 
combination: 
 (i) In the name of a person or entity, or with the routing number or account 
number of a person or entity, without the permission of the person or entity to 
possess such payment instrument, and with intent either to deprive the person of 
possession of such payment instrument or to commit theft, forgery, or identity 
theft; or 
 (ii) In the name of a fictitious person or entity, or with a fictitious routing number 
or account number of a person or entity, with intent to use the payment 
instruments to commit theft, forgery, or identity theft. 
 (b) (a)(i) of this subsection does not apply to: 
 (i) A person or financial institution that has lawful possession of a check, which 
is endorsed to that person or financial institution; and 
 (ii) A person or financial institution that processes checks for a lawful business 
purpose.   
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 (3) A person is guilty of unlawful possession of a personal identification device 
if the person possesses a personal identification device with intent to use such 
device to commit theft, forgery, or identity theft.  "Personal identification device" 
includes any machine or instrument whose purpose is to manufacture or print 
any driver's license or identification card issued by any state or the federal 
government, or any employee identification issued by any employer, public or 
private, including but not limited to badges and identification cards, or any credit 
or debit card. 
 (4) A person is guilty of unlawful possession of fictitious identification if the 
person possesses a personal identification card with a fictitious person's 
identification with intent to use such identification card to commit theft, forgery, or 
identity theft, when the possession does not amount to a violation of RCW 
9.35.020. 
 (5) A person is guilty of unlawful possession of instruments of financial fraud if 
the person possesses a check-making machine, equipment, or software, with 
intent to use or distribute checks for purposes of defrauding an account holder, 
business, financial institution, or any other person or organization. 
 (6) This section does not apply to: 
 (a) A person, business, or other entity, that has lawful possession of a check, 
which is endorsed to that person, business, or other entity; 
 (b) A financial institution or other entity that processes checks for a lawful 
business purpose; 
 (c) A person engaged in a lawful business who obtains another person's 
personal identification in the ordinary course of that lawful business; 
 (d) A person who obtains another person's personal identification for the sole 
purpose of misrepresenting his or her age; and 
 (e) A law enforcement agency that produces or displays counterfeit credit or 
debit cards, checks or other payment instruments, or personal identification 
devices for investigative or educational purposes. 
 . . .  

 

[Emphasis added] 
 

A new section in chapter 9A.56 RCW establishes a gross misdemeanor, the name of which we 
have underlined in the following new statutory text:   
 

 (1) A person is guilty of possession of another's identification if the person 
knowingly possesses personal identification bearing another person's identity, 
when the person possessing the personal identification does not have the other 
person's permission to possess it, and when the possession does not amount to 
a violation of RCW 9.35.020. 
 (2) This section does not apply to: 
 (a) A person who obtains, by means other than theft, another person's personal 
identification for the sole purpose of misrepresenting his or her age;  
 (b) A person engaged in a lawful business who obtains another person's 
personal identification in the ordinary course of business; 
 (c) A person who finds another person's lost personal identification, does not 
intend to deprive the other person of the personal identification or to use it to 
commit a crime, and takes reasonably prompt steps to return it to its owner; and 
 (d) A law enforcement agency that produces or displays counterfeit credit or 
debit cards, checks or other payment instruments, or personal identification for 
investigative or educational purposes. 
 . . .  
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[Emphasis added] 



 

If related to identify theft, these crimes (as well as unlawful factoring of a credit card, and forgery 
under RCW 9A.56.290 and 9A.60.020) will be considered to have been committed in any 
locality where the victim resides, or in which any part of the offense took place, regardless of 
whether the defendant was ever actually in that locality.   
 
EXEMPTING BANK AND CREDIT CARD NUMBERS FROM PUBLIC DISCLOSURE 
CHAPTER 124 (ESHB 1845)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 
 
Amends and broadens the exemption to public disclosure under RCW 42.17.310(1) for credit 
card numbers as follows: 
 

 (ss) Credit card numbers, debit card numbers, electronic check numbers, card 
expiration dates, or bank or other financial account numbers ((supplied to an 
agency for the purpose of electronic transfer of funds)), except when disclosure 
is expressly required by or governed by other law. 

 
PROHIBITING BUSINESSES FROM SENDING ELECTRONIC COMMERCIAL TEXT 
MESSAGES TO CELLULAR TELEPHONES AND PAGERS 
CHAPTER 137 (SHB 2007)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 
 
Amends RCW 19.190.010 to define “commercial electronic text message” as “an electronic text 
message sent to promote real property, goods, or services for sale or lease,” and “electronic 
text message" as “a text message sent to a cellular telephone or pager equipped with short 
message service or any similar capability, whether the message is initiated as a short message 
service message or as an electronic mail message.”   
 
Adds new sections to chapter 19.190 RCW prohibiting any person conducting business in the 
state from initiating or assisting “in the transmission of an electronic commercial text message to 
a telephone number assigned to a Washington resident for cellular telephone or pager service 
that is equipped with short message capability or any similar capability allowing the transmission 
of text messages.”  Violations are subject to enforcement by civil action.   
 
POWER WHEELCHAIRS ARE NOT MOTOR VEHICLES 
CHAPTER 141 (HB 1937)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 
 
Amends various provisions in RCW Title 46 to clarify that a “power wheelchair” user is a 
pedestrian who may lawfully use the power wheelchair on sidewalks.   
 
Defines a “power wheelchair” as a self-propelled vehicle capable of traveling no more than 15 
miles per hour, usable indoors, and designed as a mobility aid operated by an individual with 
mobility impairments.  Definitions of motor vehicles, motorcycles, motor-drive cycles, and 
vehicles are revised to exclude power wheelchairs and the definition of pedestrian is altered to 
include anyone who is using a power wheelchair.  The bill specifies that no driver’s license is 
required to drive a power wheelchair.   
 
AMENDING RCW 46.55.113 AND .120 RELATING TO THE IMPOUND AND RELEASE OF 
VEHICLES (RESPONSE TO ALL AROUND UNDERGROUND DECISION) 
CHAPTER 177 (SHB 1074)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 
 
Amends RCW 46.55.113 as follows: 
 

 (1) Whenever the driver of a vehicle is arrested for a violation of RCW 
46.61.502 or 46.61.504 or of RCW 46.20.342 or ((46.20.420)) 46.20.345, the 
vehicle is subject to summary  impoundment, pursuant to the terms and 
conditions of an applicable local ordinance or state agency rule at the direction of 
a law enforcement officer. 
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 (2)  In addition, a police officer may take custody of a vehicle, at his or her 
discretion, and provide for its prompt removal to a place of safety under any of 
the following circumstances: 
 (((1)))(a)  Whenever a police officer finds a vehicle standing upon the roadway 
in violation of any of the provisions of RCW 46.61.560, the officer may provide for 
the removal of the vehicle or require the driver or other person in charge of the 
vehicle to move the vehicle to a position off the roadway; 
 (((2)))(b)  Whenever a police officer finds a vehicle unattended upon a highway 
where the vehicle constitutes an obstruction to traffic or jeopardizes public safety; 
 (((3)))(c)  Whenever a police officer finds an unattended vehicle at the scene of 
an accident or when the driver of a vehicle involved in an accident is physically or 
mentally incapable of deciding upon steps to be taken to protect his or her 
property; 
 (((4)))(d)  Whenever the driver of a vehicle is arrested and taken into custody 
by a police officer;  
 (((5)))(e)  Whenever a police officer discovers a vehicle that the officer 
determines to be a stolen vehicle; 
 (((6)))(f)  Whenever a vehicle without a special license plate, card, or decal 
indicating that the vehicle is being used to transport a disabled person under 
RCW 46.16.381 is parked in a stall or space clearly and conspicuously marked 
under RCW 46.61.581 which space is provided on private property without 
charge or on public property; 
 (((7)))(g)  Upon determining that a person is operating a motor vehicle without 
a valid driver's license in violation of RCW 46.20.005 or with a license that has 
been expired for ninety days or more. 
 (3) When an arrest is made for a violation of RCW 46.20.342, if the vehicle is a 
commercial vehicle and the driver of the vehicle is not the owner of the vehicle, 
before the summary impoundment directed under subsection (1) of this section, 
the police officer shall attempt in a reasonable and timely manner to contact the 
owner of the vehicle and may release the vehicle to the owner if the owner is 
reasonably available, as long as the owner was not in the vehicle at the time of 
the stop and arrest and the owner has not received a prior release under this 
subsection or RCW 46.55.120(1)(a)(ii). 
 (4)  Nothing in this section may derogate from the powers of police officers 
under the common law.  For the purposes of this section, a place of safety may 
include the business location of a registered tow truck operator. 
 

The bill also amends RCW 46.55.120 as follows:   
 
 (1) Vehicles or other items of personal property registered or titled with the 
department that are impounded by registered tow truck operators pursuant to 
RCW 46.55.080, 46.55.085, 46.55.113, or 9A.88.140 may be redeemed only 
under the following circumstances: 
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 (a) Only the legal owner, the registered owner, a person authorized in writing 
by the registered owner or the vehicle's insurer, a person who is determined and 
verified by the operator to have the permission of the registered owner of the 
vehicle or other item of personal property registered or titled with the department, 
or one who has purchased a vehicle or item of personal property registered or 
titled with the department from the registered owner who produces proof of 
ownership or written authorization and signs a receipt therefor, may redeem an 
impounded vehicle or items of personal property registered or titled with the 
department.  In addition, a vehicle impounded because the operator is in violation 
of RCW 46.20.342(1)(c) shall not be released until a person eligible to redeem it 



under this subsection (1)(a) satisfies the requirements of (e) of this subsection, 
including paying all towing, removal, and storage fees, notwithstanding the fact 
that the hold was ordered by a government agency.  If the department's records 
show that the operator has been convicted of a violation of RCW 46.20.342 or a 
similar local ordinance within the past five years, the vehicle may be held for up 
to thirty days at the written direction of the agency ordering the vehicle 
impounded.  A vehicle impounded because the operator is arrested for a violation 
of RCW 46.20.342 may be released only pursuant to a written order from the 
agency that ordered the vehicle impounded or from the court having jurisdiction.  
An agency may issue a written order to release pursuant to a provision of an 
applicable state agency rule or local ordinance authorizing release on the basis 
of the following: 
 (i) Economic or personal hardship to the spouse of the operator, taking into 
consideration public safety factors, including the operator's criminal history and 
driving record; or  
 (ii) The owner of the vehicle was not the driver, the owner did not know that the 
driver's license was suspended or revoked, and the owner has not received a 
prior release under this subsection or RCW 46.55.113(3). 
 In order to avoid discriminatory application, other than for the reasons for 
release set forth in (a)(i) and (ii) of this subsection, an agency shall, under a 
provision of an applicable state agency rule or local ordinance, deny release in all 
other circumstances without discretion. 
 . . .  
 

This bill is an apparent response to the State Supreme Court decision in All Around 
Underground v. Washington State Patrol, 148 Wn.2d 145 (2002) Feb 03 LED:02.  When an 
arrest is made for driving while license suspended, the vehicle is a commercial vehicle, and the 
driver is not the owner, then the bill requires that law enforcement attempt to contact the owner 
before impounding the vehicle.  It also adds a similar provision to the circumstances where an 
impounded vehicle can be released. 
 
LED EDITORIAL NOTE:  Because local ordinances, policies and procedures vary, you 
should contact your legal advisor for specific advice on this amendment.   
 
AUTHORIZING IMPOUND OF ILLEGALLY PARKED VEHICLES IN CERTAIN 
CIRCUMSTANCES  
CHAPTER 178 (HB 1088)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 
 
Amends RCW 46.55.113 as follows:   
 

 Whenever the driver of a vehicle is arrested for a violation of RCW 46.61.502 
((or)), 46.61.504 ((or of RCW)), 46.20.342, or ((46.20.420)) 46.20.345, the 
vehicle is subject to impoundment, pursuant to applicable local ordinance or state 
agency rule at the direction of a law enforcement officer.  In addition, a police 
officer may take custody of a vehicle and provide for its prompt removal to a 
place of safety under any of the following circumstances: 
 (1) Whenever a police officer finds a vehicle standing upon the roadway in 
violation of any of the provisions of RCW 46.61.560, the officer may provide for 
the removal of the vehicle or require the driver or other person in charge of the 
vehicle to move the vehicle to a position off the roadway; 
 (2) Whenever a police officer finds a vehicle unattended upon a highway where 
the vehicle constitutes an obstruction to traffic or jeopardizes public safety; 
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 (3) Whenever a police officer finds an unattended vehicle at the scene of an 
accident or when the driver of a vehicle involved in an accident is physically or 
mentally incapable of deciding upon steps to be taken to protect his or her 
property; 
 (4) Whenever the driver of a vehicle is arrested and taken into custody by a 
police officer; 
 (5) Whenever a police officer discovers a vehicle that the officer determines to 
be a stolen vehicle; 
 (6) Whenever a vehicle without a special license plate, card, or decal indicating 
that the vehicle is being used to transport a disabled person under RCW 
46.16.381 is parked in a stall or space clearly and conspicuously marked under 
RCW 46.61.581 which space is provided on private property without charge or on 
public property; 
 (7) Upon determining that a person is operating a motor vehicle without a valid 
driver's license in violation of RCW 46.20.005 or with a license that has been 
expired for ninety days or more; 
 (8) When a vehicle is illegally occupying a truck, commercial loading zone, 
restricted parking zone, bus, loading, hooded-meter, taxi, street construction or 
maintenance, or other similar zone where, by order of the director of 
transportation or chiefs of police or fire or their designees, parking is limited to 
designated classes of vehicles or is prohibited during certain hours, on 
designated days or at all times, if the zone has been established with signage for 
at least twenty-four hours and where the vehicle is interfering with the proper and 
intended use of the zone.  Signage must give notice to the public that a vehicle 
will be removed if illegally parked in the zone . 
 

LED EDITORIAL NOTE:  Again, contact your legal advisor for specific advice on this 
amendment.   
 
ADMISSIBILITY OF CONFESSIONS AND ADMISSIONS IN CRIMINAL AND JUVENILE 
PROCEEDINGS – CORPUS DELICTI RULE RELAXED 
CHAPTER 179 (EHB 1427)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 
 
Adds a new section to chapter 10.58 RCW reading as follows:   

 
 (1) In criminal and juvenile offense proceedings where independent proof of the 
corpus delicti is absent, and the alleged victim of the crime is dead or 
incompetent to testify, a lawfully obtained and otherwise admissible confession, 
admission, or other statement of the defendant shall be admissible into evidence 
if there is substantial independent evidence that would tend to establish the 
trustworthiness of the confession, admission, or other statement of the 
defendant.   
 (2) In determining whether there is substantial independent evidence that the 
confession, admission, or other statement of the defendant is trustworthy, the 
court shall consider, but is not limited to:   
 (a) Whether there is any evidence corroborating or contradicting the facts set 
out in the statement, including the elements of the offense;  
 (b) The character of the witness reporting the statement and the number of 
witnesses to the statement;  
 (c) Whether a record of the statement was made and the timing of the making 
of the record in relation to the making of the statement; and/or  
 (d) The relationship between the witness and the defendant.   
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 (3) Where the court finds that the confession, admission, or other statement of 



the defendant is sufficiently trustworthy to be admitted, the court shall issue a 
written order setting forth the rationale for admission.   
 (4) Nothing in this section may be construed to prevent the defendant from 
arguing to the jury or judge in a bench trial that the statement is not trustworthy or 
that the evidence is otherwise insufficient to convict.   
 

AUTHORIZING COUNTIES AND CITIES TO CREATE SCHOOL OR PLAYGROUND SPEED 
ZONES ON HIGHWAYS BORDERING SUCH SCHOOLS OR PLAYGROUNDS 
CHAPTER 192 (HB 1114)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 
 
Amends RCW 46.61.440 to add a subsection reading as follows:   

 
 (2) A county or incorporated city or town may create a school or playground 
speed zone on a highway bordering a marked school or playground, in which 
zone it is unlawful for a person to operate a vehicle at a speed in excess of 
twenty miles per hour.  The school or playground speed zone may extend three 
hundred feet from the border of the school or playground property; however, the 
speed zone may only include area consistent with active school or playground 
use.   

 
AUTHORIZING STATE, COUNTY, OR LOCAL TRAFFIC CONTROL ON PRIVATE ROADS 
BY AGREEMENT 
CHAPTER 193 (HB 1379)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 
 
Adds a new section to chapter 46.61 reading as follows:   
 

State, local, or county law enforcement personnel may enforce speeding 
violations under RCW 46.61.400 on private roads within a community organized 
under chapter 64.38 RCW if:   
 (1) A majority of the homeowner's association's board of directors votes to 
authorize the issuance of speeding infractions on its private roads, and declares 
a speed limit not lower than twenty miles per hour;   
 (2) A written agreement regarding the speeding enforcement is signed by the 
homeowner's association president and the chief law enforcement official of the 
city or county within whose jurisdiction the private road is located;   
 (3) The homeowner's association has provided written notice to all of the 
homeowners describing the new authority to issue speeding infractions; and  
 (4) Signs have been posted declaring the speed limit at all vehicle 
entrances to the community.   

 
DEFINING MOTORCYCLE HELMET 
CHAPTER 197 (SSB 5335)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 
 
Amends RCW 46.37.530 to: 1) delete provisions relating to WSP responsibility to determine by 
administrative rule the type of helmet to be worn while operating a motorcycle; and 2) add the 
following definition of “motorcycle helmet”:   
 

“Motorcycle helmet” means a protective covering for the head consisting of a 
hard outer shell, padding adjacent to and inside the outer shell, and a neck or 
chin strap type retention system, with a sticker indicating that the motorcycle 
helmet meets standards established by the United States Department of 
Transportation.   
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FIX TO VOYEURISM STATUTE 
CHAPTER 213 (ESHB 1001)         Effective Date:  May 12, 2003 
 

Amends the voyeurism statute, RCW 9A.44.115, to address up-skirt filming or photographing in 
public areas, among other things.   
 
The amendments add the act of viewing, photographing, or filming – with the mental states 
provided under the act – “the intimate areas of another person without that person’s knowledge 
and consent and under circumstances where the person has a reasonable expectation of 
privacy, whether in a public or private place.”   
 
“’Intimate areas’” is defined under the amendment as follows:  “’Intimate areas’ means any 
portion of a person’s body or undergarments that is covered by clothing and intended to be 
protected from public view…’”   
 
PROHIBITING THE SALE OR DELIVERY OF STOLEN DRIVER’S LICENSES, AND THE 
MANUFACTURE, SALE, OR DELIVERY OF FORGED, FICTITIOUS, COUNTERFEIT, 
FRAUDULENTLY ALTERED, OR UNLAWFULLY ISSUED DRIVER’S LICENSES  
CHAPTER 214 (SSB 5716)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 
 
Amends RCW 46.20.0921 by adding the following subsections: 
 

 (2) It is a class C felony for any person to sell or deliver a stolen driver's license 
or identicard. 
 (3) It is unlawful for any person to manufacture, sell, or deliver a forged, 
fictitious, counterfeit, fraudulently altered, or unlawfully issued driver's license or 
identicard, or to manufacture, sell, or deliver a blank driver's license or identicard 
except under the direction of the department.  A violation of this subsection is: 
 (a) A class C felony if committed (i) for financial gain or (ii) with intent to commit 
forgery, theft, or identity theft; or 
 (b) A gross misdemeanor if the conduct does not violate (a) of this subsection. 
 (4) Notwithstanding subsection (3) of this section, it is a misdemeanor for any 
person under the age of twenty-one to manufacture or deliver fewer than four 
forged, fictitious, counterfeit, or fraudulently altered driver's licenses or 
identicards for the sole purpose of misrepresenting a person's age. 
 (5) In a proceeding under subsection (2), (3), or (4) of this section that is 
related to an identity theft under RCW 9.35.020, the crime will be considered to 
have been committed in any locality where the person whose means of 
identification or financial information was appropriated resides, or in which any 
part of the offense took place, regardless of whether the defendant was ever 
actually in that locality. 

 

SEX OFFENDERS MUST NOTIFY SHERIFF OF EMPLOYMENT AT PUBLIC OR PRIVATE 
INSTITUTION OF HIGHER EDUCATION  
CHAPTER 215 (HB 1712)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 
 

Amends RCW 9A.44.130(1) to require a registered sex or kidnapping offender who is employed 
by an institution of higher education to inform the county sheriff; and to require a registered sex 
or kidnapping offender whose enrollment or employment at an institution of higher education is 
terminated to inform the county sheriff.   
 

REVISING INFORMATION AVAILABLE ON SEX OFFENDER WEBSITE 
CHAPTER 217 (SB 5410)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 
 

Amends RCW 4.24.550 to provide that information on level II sex offenders may be included 
with information on level III sex offenders on the WASPC-administered statewide registered sex 
offender web site.   
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CREATING CRIMINAL AND CIVIL DEFENSE TO ALLEGATIONS OF UNLAWFUL 
DETENTION OF SUSPECTED DRUG AND ALCOHOL VIOLATORS AT OUTDOOR MUSIC 
FESTIVALS AND RELATED CAMPGROUNDS  
CHAPTER 219 (SHB 2094)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 
 
Adds new sections to chapters 9A.16 and 4.24 RCW to address the need at outdoor music 
festivals (and related campgrounds) to authorize temporary detentions of suspected drug and 
alcohol violators.  The new sections are analogous to longstanding provisions in those chapters 
giving merchants qualified protection against criminal or civil actions related to detaining 
suspected shoplifters.  The new sections add defenses to criminal and civil actions brought by 
reason of a person being temporarily detained (for no more than one hour) at outdoor music 
festivals by a law enforcement officer or by an agent or employee of the outdoor music festival 
to facilitate law enforcement investigation of suspected unlawful possession or consumption of 
alcohol or illegal drugs on the premises.   
 
MANDATED REPORTING OF ABANDONMENT, ABUSE, FINANCIAL EXPLOITATION, OR 
NEGLECT OF VULNERABLE ADULTS 
CHAPTER 230 (ESHB 1904)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 
 
Amends RCW 74.34.035 by adding new provisions relating to mandatory reporting (or not) to 
DSHS and law enforcement of abuse and neglect of “vulnerable adults.”   
 

The House Bill Report for the final bill describes the contents of the new provisions as follows:   
 

When there is reason to suspect that physical assault has occurred or there is 
reasonable cause to believe that an act has caused fear of imminent harm:   

 

 Mandated reports must immediately report to the DSHS; and 
Mandated reporters must immediately report to the appropriate law 
enforcement agency, unless provided exclusions apply.   

 

A mandated reporter is not required to report to a law enforcement agency, 
unless requested by the injured vulnerable adult or his or her legal representative 
or family member, an incident of physical assault between vulnerable adults that 
causes minor bodily injury and does not require more than basic first aid, unless:   

 

The injury appears on the back, face, head, neck, chest, breast, groin, inner 
thigh, buttock, genital, or anal area; 
There is a fracture;  
There is a pattern of physical assault between the same vulnerable adults or 
involving the same vulnerable adults; or 
There is an attempt to choke a vulnerable adult.   

 

UNLAWFUL TRANSACTION OF INSURANCE 
CHAPTER 250 (SSB 5641)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 
(Except section 14, which becomes effective July 1, 2004) 
 

Amends existing provisions in RCW Title 48 and adds new sections to that Title.  Also amends 
sentencing provisions in chapter 9.94A RCW correlating with these insurance law changes.   
 

Civil and criminal penalties and remedies are enhanced for unlawful solicitation of insurance 
business.  The penalties apply to unlicensed persons acting as agents, brokers, solicitors or 
adjusters; failure of agents to make a good faith determination of the validity of an insurance 
company; and unregistered persons selling contracts involving health care services or health 
maintenance organizations.  Penalties include class B felony liability for specified knowing 
violations, and class C felony liability for conspiracy to violate insurance sales laws.  Some 
insurance crimes under the amendments to Title 48 are penalized as gross misdemeanors.  
Criminal penalties are in addition to any other civil or administrative penalties.   
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EXTENDING TASK FORCE AGAINST THE TRAFFICKING OF PERSONS  
CHAPTER 266 (EHB 1090)         Effective Date:  May 14, 2003 

 
The expiration date of the Washington State Task Force Against the Trafficking of Persons is 
extended to June 30, 2004.   

 
MAKING IT UNLAWFUL TO TRAFFIC IN PERSONS 
CHAPTER 267 (SHB 1175)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 

 
Adds a new section to chapter 9A.40 RCW providing as follows:   

 
 (1)(a) A person is guilty of trafficking in the first degree when: 
 (i) Such person: 
 (A) Recruits, harbors, transports, provides, or obtains by any means another 
person knowing that force, fraud, or coercion as defined in RCW 9A.36.070 will 
be used to cause the person to engage in forced labor or involuntary servitude; 
or  
 (B) Benefits financially or by receiving anything of value from participation in a 
venture that has engaged in acts set forth in (a)(i)(A) of this subsection; and 
 (ii) The acts or venture set forth in (a)(i) of this subsection: 
 (A) Involve committing or attempting to commit kidnapping; 
 (B) Involve a finding of sexual motivation under RCW 9.94A.835; or 
 (C) Result in a death. 
 (b) Trafficking in the first degree is a class A felony. 
 (2)(a) A person is guilty of trafficking in the second degree when such person: 
 (i) Recruits, harbors, transports, provides, or obtains by any means another 
person knowing that force, fraud, or coercion as defined in RCW 9A.36.070 will 
be used to cause the person to engage in forced labor or involuntary servitude; 
or  
 (ii) Benefits financially or by receiving anything of value from participation in a 
venture that has engaged in acts set forth in (a)(i) of this subsection.   
 (b) Trafficking in the second degree is a class A felony.   
 

Also amends sentencing laws (chapter 9.94A) and the Criminal Profiteering Act (chapter 9A.82 
RCW) to incorporate these new crimes of trafficking of persons.   

 
REQUIRING INTERNATIONAL MATCHMAKING ORGANIZATIONS TO PROVIDE CERTAIN 
INFORMATION INCLUDING FOUNDED ALLEGATIONS OF CHILD ABUSE AND EXISTING 
NO CONTACT ORDERS 
CHAPTER 268 (SHB 1826)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 

 
Amendments to the non-criminal provisions of RCW 19.220.010 are described in the 
Legislature’s “Final Bill Report” as follows:   

 
International matchmaking organizations doing business in Washington State 
must notify foreign recruits stating that they may have access to background and 
personal (instead of solely marital) information about Washington state resident 
using the matchmaking services.  In addition, international matchmaking 
organizations must make personal (instead of solely marital) history information 
available to foreign recruits that request such information.   
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Personal history information includes the person’s current marital status, the 
number of pervious marriages, annulments, and dissolutions for the person, 
whether any pervious marriages occurred as a result of receiving services from 
an international matchmaking organization; any founded allegations of child 
abuse or neglect; and whether there are any existing antiharassment protection 



orders, domestic violence protection orders, and domestic violence no-contact 
orders against the person.   

 
PROHIBITING INJURY OF POLICE HORSES 
CHAPTER 269 (HB 1108)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 
 
Amends RCW 9A.76.200 by adding a prohibition against harming a police horse to existing 
prohibitions against harming a police dog or accelerant detection dog.   
 
“Police horse” is defined to mean “any horse used or kept for use by a law enforcement officer 
in discharging any legal duty or power of his or her office.”   

 
REQUIRING TRAINING ON INTERACTING WITH DEVELOPMENTALLY DISABLED AND 
MENTALLY ILL INDIVIDUALS 
CHAPTER 270 (SHB 5473)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 

 
Adds a new section to RCW 43.101 which requires the Criminal Justice Training Commission to 
offer training on interacting with persons with developmental disabilities or mental illness, which 
training should include the following topics: 

 
 (a) The cause and nature of mental illnesses and developmental disabilities; 
 (b) How to identify indicators of mental illness and developmental disability and 
how to respond appropriately in a variety of common situations;   
 (c) Conflict resolution and de-escalation techniques for potentially dangerous 
situations involving persons with a developmental disability or mental illness; 
 (d) Appropriate language usage when interacting with persons with a 
developmental disability or mental illness; 
 (e) Alternatives to lethal force when interacting with potentially dangerous 
persons with a developmental disability or mental illness; and 
 (f) Community and state resources available to serve persons with a 
developmental disability or mental illness and how these resources can be best 
used by law enforcement to benefit persons with a developmental disability or 
mental illness in their communities. 
 

SEX OFFENDER DEATH CERTIFICATES MUST BE SUPPLIED TO LAW ENFORCEMENT 
AGENCIES FREE OF CHARGE 
CHAPTER 272 (HB 1727)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 

 
Amends RCW 70.58.107 to require the Washington Department of Health to provide law 
enforcement agencies with certified copies of death certificates of registered sex offenders at no 
cost.   

 
AUTHORIZING DISPOSITION OF GOVERNMENT PROPERTY TO FOREIGN ENTITIES 
CHAPTER 303 (SHB 1494)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 

 
Amends RCW 39.33.010 to authorize state and local governments to transfer personal property, 
except weapons, to a foreign entity.   

 
CRIMINALIZING MINERAL TRESPASS 
CHAPTER 335 (SHB 1380)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 

 
Adds new sections to chapter 78.44 RCW making it a class C felony to commit criminal trespass 
by intentionally doing certain specified acts that interfere with operations and items at a mining 
operation or posted mining claim.  Definitions of certain terms are provided, as are exceptions 
for public servants and others under certain circumstances.   
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CREATING MISDEMEANOR OF “RETAIL FISH SELLER’S FAILURE TO ACCOUNT FOR 
COMMERCIAL HARVEST” 

 
CHAPTER 336 (HB 1972)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 

 
Adds a new section to chapter 77.15 RCW reading in relevant part as follows:   

 
     (1) A retail fish seller is guilty of retail fish seller's failure to account for 
commercial harvest if the retail seller sells fish or shellfish at retail, the fish or 
shellfish were required to be entered on a Washington state fish receiving ticket, 
the seller is not a wholesale fish dealer or fisher selling under a direct retail sale 
endorsement, and the seller fails to maintain sufficient records at the location 
where the fish or shellfish are being sold to determine the following:   
     (a) The name of the wholesale fish dealer or fisher selling under a direct retail 
sale endorsement from whom the fish were purchased;  
     (b) The wholesale fish dealer's license number or the number of the fisher's 
sale under a direct retail sale endorsement; 
     (c) The fish receiving ticket number documenting original receipt, if known; 
     (d) The date of purchase; and  
     (e) The amount of fish or shellfish originally purchased from the wholesale 
dealer or fisher selling under a direct retail sale endorsement.   
     (2) A retail fish seller's failure to account for commercial harvest is a 
misdemeanor.   
 

CREATING A CLASS OF “POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS LITTER” 
CHAPTER 337 (SHB 1409)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 

 
The act creates a new class of “potentially dangerous litter” which is defined in RCW 70.93.030 
as: 

 
[L]itter that is likely to injure a person or cause damage to a vehicle or other 
property.  “Potentially dangerous litter” means: 
 (a) Cigarettes, cigars, or other tobacco products that are capable of starting 
a fire; 
 (b) Glass; 
 (c) A container or other product made predominantly or entirely of glass; 
 (d) A hypodermic needle or other medical instrument designed to cut or 
pierce; 
 (e) Raw human waste, including soiled baby diapers, regardless of whether 
or not the waste is in a container of any sort; and 
 (f) Nails or tacks. 
 

The act also amends RCW 70.93.060 to make “[i]t . . . a class 1 civil infraction as provided in 
RCW 7.80.120 for a person to discard, in violation of this section, ((a cigarette, cigar, or other 
tobacco product that is capable of starting a fire)) potentially dangerous litter in any amount.” 

 
The act also amends RCW 36.32.120 to authorize counties to: 1) declare by ordinance that litter 
and potentially dangerous litter constitute a nuisance, and 2) provide for litter abatement.   

 
REVISING TRAFFIC CODE TO ADDRESS “NEIGHBORHOOD ELECTRIC VEHICLES” AND 
“MOTORIZED FOOT SCOOTERS”   

 
CHAPTER 353 (ESB 5450)       Effective Date: August 1, 2003 

 
Adds new sections to RCW Title 46 and amends several existing sections in Title 46.  The 
Legislature’s “Final Bill Report” summarizes the legislation as follows:   
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NEVs [“Neighborhood electric vehicles”] are defined as four-wheeled motor 
vehicles that are self-propelled and electrically powered that reach a speed 
between 20 and 25 miles per hour and conform to federal regulations. Drivers 
and passengers of NEVs must wear seatbelts and comply with the state’s child 
restraint system requirements.   
 
NEVs may be operated on state highways that have a speed limit of 35 miles per 
hour or less if the person operating the vehicle: (a) is not driving the NEV on a 
state highway route; (b) has a vehicle license for the NEV and displays vehicle 
license number plates; (c) has a valid driver’s license; (d) is insured under a 
motor vehicle liability policy; and (e) does not cross a roadway with a speed limit 
over 35 miles per hour, unless the crossing begins and ends on a roadway with a 
speed limit of 35 miles or less and occurs at an intersection of approximately 90 
degrees. A NEV must not cross an uncontrolled intersection of streets and 
highways that are part of the state highway system (which includes state highway 
routes and interstates), unless that intersection has been authorized by local 
authorities accordingly.   
 
If a person operates a NEV and violates any of the above provisions, he or she is 
guilty of a traffic infraction.   
 
With respect to streets and highways under their jurisdiction and within the 
reasonable exercises of their police power, local authorities may regulate the 
operation of NEVs by resolution or ordinance of the governing body; however, 
such authorities may not: (a) authorize the operation of NEVs on state highway 
routes, interstates, and other limited access facilities; (b) prohibit the operation of  
NEVs on public roadways with a speed limit of 25 Senate Bill Report ESB 5450 - 
1 - miles per hour or less; and (c) prohibit the establishment of any requirement 
for registration and licensing of NEVs.   
 
Motorized foot scooters are defined as: 1) having handlebars and two wheels 
that are no more than ten inches or smaller in diameter; 2) designed to be stood 
or sat upon; and 3) are powered by an internal combustion engine or electric 
motor. Vehicle licensing and registration provisions do not apply to motorized foot 
scooters, and operators are not required to have a drivers’ license. Motorized 
foot scooters may be operated during daylight hours and before sunrise and after 
sunset if they have reflectors approved by the Washington State Patrol. Most 
provisions regulating mopeds do not apply to motorized foot scooters.   
 
Motorized foot-scooters have the same highway access as bicycles and may be 
operated on a multi-purpose trail or in bicycle lanes; however, local jurisdictions 
may restrict access. The Parks and Recreation Commission may regulate the 
use of motorized foot scooters within the boundaries of a park. Motorized 
scooters may not have access to bicycle paths, trails, or bikeways built with 
federal funding.   
 

DECRIMINALIZING FAILURE TO USE REQUIRED TRACTION EQUIPMENT 
CHAPTER 356 (SB 5284)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 
 
Amends 47.36.250 to reclassify failure to use required traction equipment from misdemeanor to 
traffic infraction status.  The maximum fine is $500.00.  Statutory terminology is revised to 
reflect current DOT terminology for road conditions.   
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MAKING IT UNLAWFUL TO SELL VIOLENT VIDEO OR COMPUTER GAMES – I.E., GAMES 
DEPICTING VIOLENCE AGAINST LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS – TO MINORS 
CHAPTER 365 (ESHB 1009)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 

 
Adds a new section to chapter 9.91 RCW which provides: 

 
 (1) A person who sells, rents, or permits to be sold or rented, any video or 
computer game they know to be a violent video or computer game to any minor 
has committed a class 1 civil infraction as provided in RCW 7.80.120. 
 (2) "Minor" means a person under seventeen years of age. 
 (3) "Person" means a retailer engaged in the business of selling or renting 
video or computer games including any individual, partnership, corporation, or 
association who is subject to the tax on retailers under RCW 82.04.250. 
 (4) "Violent video or computer game" means a video or computer game that 
contains realistic or photographic-like depictions of aggressive conflict in which 
the player kills, injures, or otherwise causes physical harm to a human form in 
the game who is depicted, by dress or other recognizable symbols, as a public 
law enforcement officer.   
 

LED EDITORIAL NOTE:  A lawsuit challenging the constitutionality of this law has 
already been filed.   

 
CHANGING PROVISIONS RELATING TO IGNITION INTERLOCK DEVICES 
CHAPTER 366 (SB 5120)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 

 
Amends RCW 46.20.720 and RCW 46.20.311 to, in the worlds of the Legislature’s “Final Bill 
Report,” require as to ignition interlock sentencing statutes that:  

 
[T]he Department of Licensing must impose the restriction instead of the courts.  
The situations when the restriction must be imposed are:  (1) if it is the person's 
first DUI conviction or an alcohol-related deferred prosecution and, in each case, 
the blood alcohol concentration involved was at least .15 or the person refused to 
take a breathalyzer test; (2) a second or subsequent conviction of DUI; or (3) a 
first DUI conviction but the person has a previous alcohol-related deferred 
prosecution or it is an alcohol-related deferred prosecution but the person has a 
previous DUI conviction …   
 
When a person's driver's license has been suspended or revoked due to a DUI 
conviction, and the person is restricted to driving only a vehicle with an ignition 
interlock, the Department of Licensing may not reinstate the person's license 
unless written verification of installment of the required device on a vehicle 
owned and/or operated by the person seeking reinstatement is provided by an 
ignition interlock company doing business in the state of Washington. 
 

PROVIDING ADDITIONAL SENTENCING ALTERNATIVES FOR JUVENILE OFFENDERS 
CHAPTER 378 (ESSB 5903)         Effective Date: July 27, 2003 

 
Amends provisions in chapter 13.40 RCW and adds new sections to the chapter.  The 
Legislature’s “Final Bill Report” summarizes the amendments in part as follows:   

 
Two sentencing alternatives are created:  a suspended disposition alternative, 
and a mental health disposition alternative.   
 
Under the suspended disposition alternative, the court may impose and suspend 
a standard range disposition upon the condition that the offender comply with 
one or more local sanctions.   
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Under the mental health disposition alternative, the court may suspend a 
disposition of 15 to 65 weeks on the condition that the offender comply with a 
court-ordered mental health treatment plan.   
 
A community commitment disposition alternative is created as a pilot project.   
 

CHANGING TIMES AND SUPERVISION STANDARDS FOR RELEASE OF OFFENDERS 
CHAPTER 379 (ESSB 5990)           Effective Date:  July 1, 2003 

 
Among other things, amends various sentencing law provisions in chapter 9.94A RCW 
addressing supervision standards for offenders and release times (including “earned release 
time”) for offenders.   

 
INCREASING TRAFFIC INFRACTION AND OTHER ASSESSMENTS AND PENALTIES 
IMPOSED BY COURTS 
CHAPTER 380 (ESSB 6023)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 

 
Amends RCW 3.62.090 and 46.63.110 to address certain court-imposed assessments and 
penalties.  The Legislature’s “Final Bill Report” describes the changes as follows:   

 
The additional penalty on all traffic infractions is increased from $10 to $20.  Of 
the total $20, $8.50 is distributed entirely to the state PSEA.  The remaining 
amount is distributed 68 percent to local governments and 32 percent to the state 
PSEA.   
 
The first penalty assessment on all fines, forfeitures, and penalties by courts of 
limited jurisdiction is increased from 60 percent to 70 percent.  The existing 
distribution of the 32 percent of the revenue to the state PSEA and 68 percent to 
local governments is retained.   
 

FIRE AND LAW ENFORCEMENT MOBILIZATION 
CHAPTER 405 (SB 5935)         Effective Date:  July 27, 2003 

 
Amends various sections of chapter 38.54 RCW and adds new sections to chapter 43.43 RCW 
addressing fire service and law enforcement mobilization where a coordinated response to 
emergency is required on a regional or statewide basis.  The Legislature’s “Final Bill Report” 
summarizes the legislation as follows:   

 
The duties for fire mobilization are transferred from the Military Department to the 
Washington State Patrol. The Military Department consults with the patrol in 
developing the procedures to facilitate as prompt as possible reimbursement to 
the jurisdictions and state agencies mobilized pursuant to the state fire 
mobilization plan.   
 
A state law enforcement mobilization board is created with the responsibility to 
create a state law enforcement mobilization plan that is consistent with the 
incident command system. The state board consists of one representative from 
each of nine regional law enforcement mobilization committees. The regional 
committees develop regional plans consistent with the incident command 
system, the state plan and any regional plans already in effect. Each regional 
plan must be approved by the state board.   
 
The purpose of the state plan is to achieve reimbursement to the host jurisdiction 
and the law enforcement agencies that are mobilized by command of the Chief of 
the Washington State Patrol in times of emergency.   

 
*********************************** 
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UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT 
 
3 A.M. TRIP FROM HOME TO POLICE STATION IN BOXER SHORTS WAS AN “ARREST;” 
SINCE POLICE LACKED PC TO ARREST, CONFESSION MAY NEED TO BE SUPPRESSED 
 
Kaupp v. Texas, 123 S.Ct. 1843 (2003)   
 
Facts and Proceedings below:  (Excerpted from U.S. Supreme Court opinion)   
 

After a 14-year-old girl disappeared in January 1999, the Harris County Sheriff's 
Department learned she had had a sexual relationship with her 19-year-old half 
brother, who had been in the company of petitioner Robert Kaupp, then 17 years 
old, on the day of the girl's disappearance.  On January 26th, deputy sheriffs 
questioned the brother and Kaupp at headquarters; Kaupp was cooperative and 
was permitted to leave, but the brother failed a polygraph examination (his third 
such failure).  Eventually he confessed that he had fatally stabbed his half sister 
and placed her body in a drainage ditch.  He implicated Kaupp in the crime.   

 
Detectives immediately tried but failed to obtain a warrant to question Kaupp.  
Detective Gregory Pinkins nevertheless decided (in his words) to "get [Kaupp] in 
and confront him with what [the brother] had said."  In the company of two other 
plain clothes detectives and three uniformed officers, Pinkins went to Kaupp's 
house at approximately 3 a.m. on January 27th.  After Kaupp's father let them in, 
Pinkins, with at least two other officers, went to Kaupp's bedroom, awakened him 
with a flashlight, identified himself, and said, " 'we need to go and talk.' "  Kaupp 
said " 'Okay.' "  The two officers then handcuffed Kaupp and led him, shoeless 
and dressed only in boxer shorts and a T-shirt, out of his house and into a patrol 
car.  The state points to nothing in the record indicating Kaupp was told that he 
was free to decline to go with the officers.   

They stopped for 5 or 10 minutes where the victim's body had just been found, in 
anticipation of confronting Kaupp with the brother's confession, and then went on 
to the sheriff's headquarters.  There, they took Kaupp to an interview room, 
removed his handcuffs, and advised him of his rights under Miranda v. Arizona.  
Kaupp first denied any involvement in the victim's disappearance, but 10 or 15 
minutes into the interrogation, told of the brother's confession, he admitted 
having some part in the crime.  He did not, however, acknowledge causing the 
fatal wound or confess to murder, for which he was later indicted.   
 
After moving unsuccessfully to suppress his confession as the fruit of an illegal 
arrest, Kaupp was convicted and sentenced to 55 years' imprisonment.  The 
State Court of Appeals affirmed the conviction by unpublished opinion, 
concluding that no arrest had occurred until after the confession.  The state court 
said that Kaupp consented to go with the officers when he answered " 'Okay' " to 
Pinkins's statement that " 'we need to go and talk.' "  The court saw no contrary 
significance in the subsequent handcuffing and removal to the patrol car, given 
the practice of the sheriff's department in "routinely" using handcuffs for safety 
purposes when transporting individuals, as officers had done with Kaupp only the 
day before.  The court observed that "a reasonable person in [Kaupp's] position 
would not believe that being put in handcuffs was a significant restriction on his 
freedom of movement."  Finally, the state court noted that Kaupp "did not resist 
the use of handcuffs or act in a manner consistent with anything other than full 
cooperation."  Kaupp appealed, but the Court of Criminal Appeals of Texas 
denied discretionary review.   
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ISSUES AND RULINGS:  1) Under all of the circumstances, was the 3 a.m. trip to the police 
station an “arrest”?  (ANSWER:  Yes; nonconsenting transport to the police station is an “arrest”); 
2) In light of the State’s concession that the officers lacked probable cause to arrest Kaupp, must 
the confession be suppressed?  (ANSWER:  It looks likely that suppression will be required, but 
the case is remanded for hearings on whether the confession was tainted by the unlawful arrest)   
 
Result:  Reversal of Texas intermediate appellate court decision; case remanded for hearings on 
the question of whether the taint of defendant’s unlawful arrest was purged by the subsequent 
events at the police station.   
 
ANALYSIS:  (Excerpted from the opinion for the unanimous Supreme Court) 
 
1) Arrest without probable cause 
 

Although certain seizures may be justified on something less than probable 
cause, see, e.g., Terry v. Ohio, 392 U.S. 1 (1968), we have never "sustained 
against Fourth Amendment challenge the involuntary removal of a suspect from 
his home to a police station and his detention there for investigative purposes ... 
absent probable cause or judicial authorization." Hayes v. Florida, 470 U.S. 811 
(1985)  … Such involuntary transport to a police station for questioning is 
"sufficiently like arres[t] to invoke the traditional rule that arrests may 
constitutionally be made only on probable cause."   

 
The state does not claim to have had probable cause here, and a straightforward 
application of the test just mentioned shows beyond cavil that Kaupp was 
arrested within the meaning of the Fourth Amendment, there being evidence of 
every one of the probative circumstances mentioned [in U.S. v. Mendenhall, 446 
U.S. 544 (1980)].  A 17-year-old boy was awakened in his bedroom at three in 
the morning by at least three police officers, one of whom stated "we need to go 
and talk."  He was taken out in handcuffs, without shoes, dressed only in his 
underwear in January, placed in a patrol car, driven to the scene of a crime and 
then to the sheriff's offices, where he was taken into an interrogation room and 
questioned. This evidence points to arrest even more starkly than the facts in 
Dunaway v. New York, 442 U.S. 200 (1979), where the petitioner "was taken 
from a neighbor's home to a police car, transported to a police station, and 
placed in an interrogation room." … There we held it clear that the detention was 
"in important respects indistinguishable from a traditional arrest" and therefore 
required probable cause or judicial authorization to be legal.  The same is, if 
anything, even clearer here. 
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Contrary reasons mentioned by the state courts are no answer to the facts. 
Kaupp's  ‘'Okay'" in response to Pinkins's statement is no showing of consent 
under the circumstances.  Pinkins offered Kaupp no choice, and a group of police 
officers rousing an adolescent out of bed in the middle of the night with the words 
"we need to go and talk" presents no option but "to go."  There is no reason to 
think Kaupp's answer was anything more than "a mere submission to a claim of 
lawful authority."  If reasonable doubt were possible on this point, the ensuing 
events would resolve it: removal from one's house in handcuffs on a January 
night with nothing on but underwear for a trip to a crime scene on the way to an 
interview room at law enforcement headquarters.  Even "an initially consensual 
encounter ... can be transformed into a seizure or detention within the meaning of 
the Fourth Amendment."  … It cannot seriously be suggested that when the 
detectives began to question Kaupp, a reasonable person in his situation would 
have thought he was sitting in the interview room as a matter of choice, free to 
change his mind and go home to bed. 



 

Nor is it significant, as the state court thought, that the sheriff's department 
"routinely" transported individuals, including Kaupp on one prior occasion, while 
handcuffed for safety of the officers, or that Kaupp "did not resist the use of 
handcuffs or act in a manner consistent with anything other than full 
cooperation."  The test is an objective one, and stressing the officers' motivation 
of self-protection does not speak to how their actions would reasonably be 
understood.  As for the lack of resistance, failure to struggle with a cohort of 
deputy sheriffs is not a waiver of Fourth Amendment protection, which does not 
require the perversity of resisting arrest or assaulting a police officer. 

 

2) Taint of unlawful arrest on stationhouse confession 
 

Since Kaupp was arrested before he was questioned, and because the state 
does not even claim that the sheriff's department had probable cause to detain 
him at that point, well-established precedent requires suppression of the 
confession unless that confession was "an act of free will [sufficient] to purge the 
primary taint of the unlawful invasion." … Demonstrating such purgation is, of 
course, a function of circumstantial evidence, with the burden of persuasion on 
the state.  Relevant considerations include observance of Miranda, "[t]he 
temporal proximity of the arrest and the confession, the presence of intervening 
circumstances, and, particularly, the purpose and flagrancy of the official 
misconduct." … 

 

The record before us shows that only one of these considerations, the giving of 
Miranda warnings, supports the state, and we held in [a prior decision] that 
"Miranda warnings, alone and per se, cannot always ... break, for Fourth 
Amendment purposes, the causal connection between the illegality and the 
confession."  
 

All other factors point the opposite way. There is no indication from the record 
that any substantial time passed between Kaupp's removal from his home in 
handcuffs and his confession after only 10 or 15 minutes of interrogation. In the 
interim, he remained in his partially clothed state in the physical custody of a 
number of officers, some of whom, at least, were conscious that they lacked 
probable cause to arrest. In fact, the state has not even alleged "any meaningful 
intervening event" between the illegal arrest and Kaupp's confession.  Unless, on 
remand, the state can point to testimony undisclosed on the record before us, 
and weighty enough to carry the state's burden despite the clear force of the 
evidence shown here, the confession must be suppressed. 
 

The judgment of the State Court of Appeals is vacated, and the case is 
remanded for further proceedings not inconsistent with this opinion. 
 

[Some citations and footnotes omitted] 
 

*********************************** 
 

BRIEF NOTES FROM THE WASHINGTON STATE COURT OF APPEALS 
 

IN CONSPIRACY CASE INVOLVING PAWNSHOP OWNER AND HOME-INVASION 
ROBBERS, COURT ADDRESSES ISSUES OF: (1) KNOWLEDGE ELEMENT OF 
ACCOMPLICE LIABILITY; (2) ADMISSIBILITY OF CO-CONSPIRATOR HEARSAY; (3) 
TOLLING OF STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS FOR PERSONS OUT OF STATE; AND (4) SCOPE 
OF RESTITUTION IN CONSPIRACY CASES -- In State v. King, 113 Wn. App. 243 (Div. I, 
2002), the Court of Appeals the following four issues, among others, in a case involving a 
conspiracy-to-commit-home-invasion-robberies between a pawnshop operator and several 
home-invasion robbers.   
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(1) Knowledge element in accomplice liability instruction  
 
The King Court rules that the trial court erred in instructing the jury on accomplice liability.  The 
jury was instructed that one can be an accomplice if he aids the commission of the crime with 
knowledge that his actions will aid the commission of a crime.  Recent Washington case law 
establishes that a jury must be instructed that the knowledge element of accomplice liability is 
more exacting, requiring defendant’s knowledge at the time of the crime that his actions would 
aid the commission of the crime charged.  The King Court rules, however (under analysis not 
described in this LED entry) that, under the facts of this particular case, the jury could not have 
reached an erroneous verdict based on the incorrect wording of the instruction, and therefore 
the Court does not reverse any of the multiple convictions based on that wording.   
 
(2) Co-conspirator hearsay (which the Rules of Evidence exclude from the “hearsay” 
 definition) 
 
Evidence Rule (ER) 801 defines “hearsay” and declares that certain statements are not hearsay 
even if they would otherwise meet the definition.  One such exception is for a “statement by a 
co-conspirator of a party during the course and in furtherance of the conspiracy.”  ER 
801(d)(2)(ii). The King Court addresses one co-conspirator’s statement to a second co-
conspirator while in the presence of a third co-conspirator.  The second co-conspirator later 
testified for the State.  The first co-conspirator told the second co-conspirator that, while the 
second co-conspirator was away in California, the first and third co-conspirators had committed 
a robbery in which they obtained a lot of cash and jewelry.  This statement was made during the 
course of and in furtherance of the conspiracy, the King Court rules.  The statement, which was 
accompanied by the first co-conspirator’s loan to the second co-conspirator of several hundred 
dollars of robbery proceeds, strongly suggested that the first co-conspirator was assuring the 
second-conspirator that he was still welcome in the conspiracy.  The statement also advised the 
second co-conspirator of the conspiracy's progress and that it was still operating.   
 
The King Court also rules that the out-of-court statement by the first co-conspirator was 
admissible against the third co-conspirator who stood in silence as the first co-conspirator made 
the statement.  The third co-conspirator’s silence under the circumstances was an “adoptive 
admission” of the first co-conspirator’s statement.   
 
The King Court also rejects a challenge under the Sixth Amendment confrontation clause to 
admission of the first co-conspirator’s statement – the Court notes that the rule on admissibility 
of statements of a party made during the course and in furtherance of the conspiracy is a firmly-
rooted exception to the hearsay rule, and thus, the confrontation clause does not require 
additional indicators of reliability.   
 
(3) Tolling of the statute of limitations for persons out of state 
 
The King Court upholds the trial court’s ruling that Washington’s criminal code statute of 
limitations is tolled during the entire time that a person is located outside the state of 
Washington.  RCW 9A.04.080(2).  This rule applies even where law enforcement officers or 
other agents of the State of Washington know where the suspect is located.   
 
(4) Restitution remedy against co-conspirators 
 
The King Court rules that a defendant convicted of conspiracy may be ordered to pay restitution 
for any and all injury or damages resulting from the conspiracy, regardless of whether the injury 
or damages occurred before the defendant joined the conspiracy.   
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Results:  Affirmance of King County Superior Court convictions of Willie James King (one of the 
home-invaders) for conspiracy to commit robbery in the first degree (several counts); reversal 
(on grounds not addressed in this LED entry) of King’s convictions for first degree robbery and 
kidnapping; remand to Superior Court on the latter charges for possible re-trial.   
 
Affirmance of King County Superior Court convictions of David R. Israel (the pawnshop owner) 
for money laundering and conspiracy to commit robbery in the first degree; reversal (on grounds 
not addressed in this LED entry) of Israel’s convictions for two counts of first degree robbery 
and remand of those charges for possible re-trial; reversal (on grounds not addressed in this 
LED entry) and dismissal of Israel’s conviction for kidnapping.   
 

*********************************** 
 

NEXT MONTH 
 
The August 2003 LED will include an entry on the June 5, 2003 Washington Supreme Court 
decision in State v. Khounvichai, where the Supreme Court ruled 7-2 that law enforcement 
officers were not required to give “Ferrier” warnings when asking for consent to enter a 
residence in order merely to talk to a suspect.  The Khounvichai majority opinion states, 
however, that if, once inside based on a non-Ferrier consent to enter and talk to a suspect, 
officers wish to search for evidence or contraband under non-exigent circumstances, they must 
apply for a search warrant, rather than seeking consent to search.   
 

*********************************** 
 
INTERNET ACCESS TO COURT RULES & DECISIONS, TO RCW’S, AND TO WAC RULES 

 
The Washington Office of the Administrator for the Courts maintains a web site with appellate court 
information, including recent court opinions by the Court of Appeals and State Supreme Court.  The 
address is [http://www.courts.wa.gov/].  Decisions issued in the preceding 90 days may be accessed 
by entering search terms, and decisions issued in the preceding 14 days may be more simply 
accessed through a separate link clearly designated. A website at [http://legalwa.org/] includes all 
Washington Court of Appeals opinions, as well as Washington State Supreme Court opinions from 
1939 to the present.  The site also includes links to the full text of the RCW, WAC, and many 
Washington city and county municipal codes (the site is accessible directly at the address above or via 
a link on the Washington Courts’ website).  Washington Rules of Court (including rules for appellate 
courts, superior courts, and courts of limited jurisdiction) are accessible via links on the Courts’ website 
or by going directly to [http://www.courts.wa.gov/rules].   
 
Many United States Supreme Court opinions can be accessed at [http://supct.law.cornell.edu/supct].  
This web site contains all U.S. Supreme Court opinions issued since 1990 and many significant 
opinions of the Court issued before 1990.   
 
Easy access to relatively current Washington state agency administrative rules (including DOL rules 
in Title 308 WAC, WSP equipment rules at Title 204 WAC and State Toxicologist rules at WAC 448-
15), as well as all  RCW's current through January 2003, is at [http://slc.leg.wa.gov/].  Information 
about bills filed in 2003 Washington Legislature is at the same address -- look under “Washington 
State Legislature,” “bill info,” “house bill information/senate bill information,” and use bill numbers to 
access information.  Access to the “Washington State Register” for the most recent WAC 
amendments is at [http://slc.leg.wa.gov/wsr/register.htm].  In addition, a wide range of state 
government information can be accessed at [http://access.wa.gov].  The address for the Criminal 
Justice Training Commission's home page is [http://www.cjtc.state.wa.us], while the address for the 
Attorney General's Office home page is [http://www/wa/ago].   
 

*********************************** 
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The Law Enforcement Digest is co-edited by Senior Counsel John Wasberg and Assistant Attorney 
General Shannon Inglis, both of the Washington Attorney General’s Office.  Questions and comments 
regarding the content of the LED should be directed to Mr. Wasberg at (206) 464-6039; Fax (206) 587-
4290; E Mail [johnw1@atg.wa.gov].  Questions regarding the distribution list or delivery of the LED 
should be directed to [ledemail@cjtc.state.wa.us].  LED editorial commentary and analysis of statutes 
and court decisions express the thinking of the writers and do not necessarily reflect the views of the 
Office of the Attorney General or the CJTC.  The LED is published as a research source only.  The 
LED does not purport to furnish legal advice.  LED’s from January 1992 forward are available via a link 
on the Commission’s Internet Home Page at: [http://www.cjtc.state.wa.us].   
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