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ADDITIONAL COURSE INFORMATION 

Dates: May 21-25, 2012 
 

Location:  Washington State Criminal Justice Training Commission,  
19010 1

st
 Ave S, 

Burien, WA 98148 
 

Classroom 
Hours, and 
Attendance: 

8:15 am to 5 pm, Monday through Thursday, and 8:15 am to 4:00 pm on Friday.  
 
Please arrive early on Monday to sign in and receive class materials. Certificates of completion will 
be awarded for a total of 40 hours of training credit to those who successfully complete the class in 
its entirety. Instructors must pre-approve any time out of class.  
 

Class 
Description &  
 

This is a 5 day multidisciplinary course focused on improving investigative skills in child sexual 

abuse cases, with emphasis on the investigative interview with the child. It is designed to meet the 

training required by RCW 43.101.224.  

 
Special  
Instructions: 
 

All students are expected to complete the pre-class reading assignments -there will be a quiz at 

the beginning of the class on Monday morning related to this information. 

 
The pre-class reading materials are listed as: WA State Interview Guide,  Children Interviewing 
Handbook, Interview Card and Disclosure Handbook on the course training page. 
 
All students will conduct 2 practice interviews with actors playing the roles of children in suspected 
abuse situations. 
 
A written closed-book essay test will take place at the end of Day 4. 
 
A separate criminal justice track on Day 5 addresses other aspects of the investigation in addition to 
the child interview.  (Additional information is available at www.cjtc.state.wa.us.) 
 

Travel/Meals 
& Lodging: 

Not provided. 
 

Costs: There will be no instructional cost for specialized child interviewers, law enforcement, and 
prosecution attendees (unless you fail to attend and have not cancelled ahead of time).  
 

Attire: Business Casual attire is appropriate for classroom wear. Please no jeans, t-shirts, shorts, 
sweatshirts, or tennis shoes. 

Note-Taking: Note-taking items such as notebook paper, pens, and pencils, will not be made available at the 
training site, and are the responsibility of each attendee. 
 

Smoking: Smoking is permitted only in designated areas outside the building. 
 

Telephone: 
 
 
 

EMERGENCY ONLY: (Patti Toth): 206-369-0174 or (Jacky Hoang): 206-744-1679 
 

They will not take personal messages of a non-emergent nature. 
 



Firearms: Firearms will not be used in this course. 
 

Cancellation 
Deadline: 

May 14, 2012.  
If for any reason it becomes necessary to cancel this application, please advise by email at 
registrar@cjtc.state.wa.us  to avoid late cancellation fees. Your agency will be billed $50.00 or the 
course fee, whichever is greater, for late cancellation or failure to attend without proper 
cancellation notification. No exception will be made. 
 

Responsibility 
for Injuries: 

Although instructors will at all times maintain a high degree of care for the safety of all persons 
attending the course, it must, be understood that neither the Washington State Criminal Justice 
Training Commission, nor any of the cooperating agencies can or will assume financial responsibility 
for injuries or illness suffered as a result of any training received, nor can or will be responsible for 
any loss to students as a result of damage to their property through fire, theft or other causes.  Each 
attendee must understand that this training is at the attendee's own risk. 
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