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Washington State Criminal Justice Training Commission

Child Abuse Investigation and Interviewing (5357-5)

November 1-5, 2010

Spokane, WA

STUDENT INSTRUCTIONS

Arrival:
You are requested to report on Monday, November 1, 2010 to Spokane County S.O. Training Center: 10319 E. Appleway Blvd., Spokane Valley, WA 99206. Spokane County.  Class hours are 0815-1700, Mon. through Thurs. and 0815-1600 on Friday.



Travel/Meals

& Lodging:
Travel, meals and lodging costs and arrangements are the responsibility of the attendee or his/her agency.  There will not be any food provided during the training and only one hour will be allowed for lunch each day, so please plan accordingly.



Costs:
There will be no instructional cost for specialized child interviewers, law enforcement, and prosecution attendees (unless you fail to attend and have not cancelled ahead of time). 



Attire:
Business Casual attire is appropriate for classroom wear. Please no jeans, t-shirts, shorts, sweatshirts, or tennis shoes.

Note-Taking:
Note-taking items such as notebook paper, pens, and pencils, will not be made available at the training site, and are the responsibility of each attendee.



Smoking:
Smoking is permitted only in designated areas outside the building.



Telephone:
You should advise your family and agency of how to reach you in the event of an emergency.  Please have caller identify the class, Child Abuse Investigation & Interviewing.

EMERGENCY ONLY: (Annette Voeller) 206-941-9277  or (P. Toth’s cell phone): 206-369-0174.

They will not take personal messages of a non-emergent nature.



Firearms:
Firearms will not be used in this course.



Classroom Hours, and Attendance:
8:15 am to 5 pm, Monday through Thursday, and 8:15 am to 4:00 pm on Friday. Please arrive early on Monday to sign in and receive class materials. Certificates of completion will be awarded for a total of 35 hours of training credit to those who successfully complete the class in its entirety. Instructors must pre-approve any time out of class. 



Cancellation

Guidelines:
If for any reason it becomes necessary to cancel this application, please advise by email at registrar@cjtc.state.wa.us no later than October 25, 2010 to avoid late cancellation fees. Your agency will be billed $50.00 for late cancellation or failure to attend without proper cancellation notification. No exception will be made.



Responsibility

for Injuries:
Although instructors will at all times maintain a high degree of care for the safety of all persons attending the course, it must, be understood that neither the Washington State Criminal Justice Training Commission, nor any of the cooperating agencies can or will assume financial responsibility for injuries or illness suffered as a result of any training received, nor can or will be responsible for any loss to students as a result of damage to their property through fire, theft or other causes.  Each attendee must understand that this training is at the attendee's own risk.



Class Description
This is a 5 day multidisciplinary course focused on improving investigative skills in child sexual abuse cases, with emphasis on the investigative interview with the child. It is designed to meet the training required by RCW 43.101.224. All students are expected to complete the pre-class reading assignment, and will conduct practice interviews with actors playing the role of a child in a suspected abuse situation. A separate criminal justice track on Day 5 addresses other aspects of the investigation in addition to the child interview.  (Additional information is available at www.cjtc.state.wa.us.)

