What is LEOSA?
The Federal Law Enforcement Officer Safety Act (LEOSA - 18USC926C) authorizes retired and separated law enforcement officers nationwide to carry concealed weapons throughout the country.
Please click here if you would like to view the Washington State LEOSA Law.
To qualify & be eligible for LEOSA in Washington State, applicants must have the following:
- You must be retired or separated in good standing as a law enforcement officer for reasons other than mental instability.
- Prior to retirement, you were authorized by law to engage in or supervise the prevention, detection, investigation or prosecution of, or the incarceration of any person for any violation of the law.
- Prior to retirement, you had statutory powers of arrest.
- You have served at least 10 years as a law enforcement officer.
- You are not be prohibited by federal law from possessing a firearm.
- You do not need to have worked in Washington State, but you must be a current resident & provide proof of your residency (i.e. Washington State Photo ID).
- Military Police in the U.S. Armed Forces that had statutory powers of arrest or apprehension authority, and Civilian Police Officers that worked for the Department of Defense are also eligible.
If you choose to have your LEOSA certification done through the WSCJTC, you need to do the following:
- Decide if you are going to complete your qualification at the WSCJTC Range or with a qualified instructor offsite.
a. Select a date from our website schedule to obtain your LEOSA certification through the WSCJTC using our certified instructors.
b. Contact your local police department and find out if they conduct LEOSA certifications. **If you choose to use an active law enforcement range master for your handgun test, we will only accept your LEOSA application if the range master has an active WSCJTC Handgun Instructor Level I or II instructor status within the last 3 years. If they do not, we will not process your LEOSA Application.
c. Select a certified instructor from our Instructor Directory (Last updated September 14, 2018) and have them administer the handgun qualification (cost may vary). If you choose an instructor not on this list or one who does not have a current handgun instructor Level I or II certification through the WSCJTC your application will not be processed.
- Depending on whether you will be qualifying at the WSCJTC Range or not will determine what application materials you need to mail in as well as the fee.
a. If you are completing your qualification during one of the scheduled dates at WSCJTC, mail in your application with the supporting documents and applicable fee. You will be registered for the course. You must prepay for your LEOSA qualification at WSCJTC, we no longer accept fees when you show up to qualify.
b. If you are completing your qualification offsite, complete your qualification and then mail in your application with the supporting documents, applicable fee, and qualification sheets for your firearms. You may qualify with a maximum of three firearms. For required supporting documents and fees, please see below for further details.
- Once you pass the qualification you will be issued a basic LEOSA certificate until your ID card is mailed to you. The card is valid for one year. To maintain your certification you must renew it each year.
When initially applying for your LEOSA certification through WSCJTC, you must include a copy of the following documents:
- A copy of your Washington State Driver's License or ID Card.
- A front and back copy of your retired ID from your previous Law Enforcement Agency.
- If you do not have a retired ID, we require a formal letter from your previous agency stating that you meet the requirements for LEOSA. You may find a template below
- A passport style photo.
Depending on the type of application you are submitting, there are four different fees.
- For a new applicant completing their qualification at the WSCJTC Range, the fee is $100.
- For a renewal applicant completing their qualification at the WSCJTC Range, the fee is $50.
- For new applicant completing their qualification not at the WSCJTC Range, the fee is $50.
- For a renewal applicant completing their qualification not at the WSCJTC Range, the fee is $25.
Required Ballistic Vest
The WSCJTC is required by Labor & Industries that all persons on the WSCJTC range must have a ballistic vest. If you do not have one WSCJTC cannot provide one for you and you will not be able to do a LEOSA qualification at our facility. You are responsible for all personal protective equipment and ensuring its integrity.
If you are unable to obtain a ballistic vest for a LEOSA qualification at the WSCJTC you can contact a Private Security Certified Firearms Instructor using the directory (with hyperlink above) to set up a LEOSA qualification outside of WSCJTC. Please note, public ranges are starting to require ballistic vests, so verifying equipment requirements with the instructor is the responsibility of the individual.
Uniform stores carry ballistic vests and those include, but are not limited to: LEEDS, Blumenthal’s, Bud’s Police Supply, San Diego Police Supply, etc. WSCJTC does not endorse one specific supplier. That is the responsibility of the individual.
Please use the forms below for your LEOSA Certification. There is now an initial application and renewal application that you may choose from. You may use either application for your qualification at WSCJTC or with a qualified instructor offsite. If you prefer a Microsoft Word version of the form you need, please click here.
Initial LEOSA Application- Use this form if it is your first time applying for LEOSA with WSCJTC.
Initial LEOSA Application
Renewal LEOSA Application- Use this form if you are renewing your LEOSA with WSCJTC.
Renewal LEOSA Application
LEOSA Range Qualification Sheet- Bring this form with you to the range.
LEOSA Range Qualification Test Sheet
Former Employer Letter Template- Use this letter template only if you do not have an agency ID or credential from your former agency. This document is only intended as an example; your former agency may already have a designated letter for this purpose.
Former Employer Letter Template
LEOSA Concealed Carry Qualification (Schedule of Dates Available), Course #5035
Please consult our LEOSA Frequently Asked Questions page if you cannot find an answer to your question.
The agency you are retired from may do their own LEOSA Certification. They will issue the documentation showing you are LEOSA Certified. You are not required to obtain your LEOSA through the WSCJTC, it is optional.
If you were a member of the U.S. Air Force, they conduct their own LEOSA qualifications, please follow this link.
You must prepay for your LEOSA qualification, send in your fee with your application. Cash, Check, or Money Orders are accepted. If you pay by check, please make checks payable to the WSCJTC. Please do not bring your fee with you when you qualify, it cannot be accepted and you will not be allowed to participate.
PLEASE NOTE: Per RCW, the WSCJTC can choose to issue a LEOSA card or not. We will issue LEOSA ID card if you use an active Private Security Certified Firearms Instructor from our directory or an active Law Enforcement instructor/Range Master who has had WSCJTC Firearms Handgun Instructor Level I or above training within the past 3 years. If they have not had this specific training we cannot process your LEOSA application packet.
If you still cannot find what you are looking for, feel free to email us at
Rev. September 2018