What is LEOSA?
It is a program that allows the issuing of firearms ID cards to residents of Washington State who are qualified retired/separated law enforcement officers. Retired/separated officers need not have worked in Washington State but must be residents here in order to apply. Military Police in the U.S. Armed Forces that had statutory powers of arrest or apprehension authority are also eligible. Civilian police officers that worked for the Department of Defense are also eligible. Once you earn your LEOSA certification it is valid for one year. To maintain your certification you must renew it each year.
The Federal Law Enforcement Officer Safety Act (LEOSA - 18USC926C) authorizes retired and separated law enforcement officers nationwide to carry concealed weapons throughout the country. To qualify, retired officers must (1) be retired or separated in good standing as a law enforcement officer for reasons other than mental instability; (2) prior to retirement have been authorized by law to engage in or supervise the prevention, detection, investigation or prosecution of, or the incarceration of any person for any violation of law; (3) prior to retirement have had the statutory powers of arrest; (4) have served at least 10 years; (5) not be prohibited by federal law from possessing a firearm; and (6) qualify annually with the weapon they are carrying.
The WA State LEOSA law: http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=36.28A.090
How do I get a LEOSA Certification?
You have four options:
- Select a date from our website schedule to obtain your LEOSA certification through the WSCJTC using our certified instructors. You are not required to obtain your LEOSA through the WSCJTC, it is optional.
- Contact the agency you retired from and ask if they do LEOSA certifications. They will issue the documentation showing you are LEOSA certified.
- Contact your local police department and find out if they conduct LEOSA certifications. **If you choose to use an active law enforcement range master for your handgun test, we will only accept your LEOSA application if the range master has an active WSCJTC Handgun Instructor Level I or II instructor status within the last 3 years. If they do not, we will not process your LEOSA Application.
- Select a certified instructor from our Instructor Directory August 3 2017.pdf and have them administer the handgun qualification (cost may vary). If you choose an instructor not on this list or one who does not have a current handgun instructor Level I or II certification through the WSCJTC your application will not be processed.
If you choose to have your LEOSA certification done through the WSCJTC, you need to send in a LEOSA Application (available below) and the required fee, a copy of your retired agency ID or credential and a passport style photo for the ID card. Select the date from our range schedule that you would like to come to our facility range to qualify. **You must prepay for your LEOSA qualification, we no longer accept fees when you show up to qualify.
Required Ballistic Vest – The WSCJTC is required by Labor & Industries that all persons on the WSCJTC range must have a ballistic vest. If you do not have one WSCJTC cannot provide one for you and you will not be able to do a LEOSA qualification at our facility. You are responsible for all personal protective equipment and ensuring its integrity.
Our currently scheduled WSCJTC Range dates and the occasional off-campus range qualifications, if available; are listed on our Firearms LEOSA Concealed Carry Qualification, Course #5035 page.
Once you pass the qualification you will be issued a basic LEOSA certificate until your ID card is mailed to you. The card is valid for one year. To renew it you are required to send in a new application and fee payable before you come to qualify.
PLEASE NOTE: Per RCW, the WSCJTC can choose to issue a LEOSA card or not. We will issue LEOSA ID card if you use an active Private Security Certified Firearms Instructor from our directory or an active Law Enforcement instructor/Range Master who has had WSCJTC Firearms Handgun Instructor Level I or above training within the past 3 years. If they have not had this specific training we cannot process your LEOSA application packet.
If you are unable to obtain a ballistic vest for a LEOSA qualification at the WSCJTC you can contact a Private Security Certified Firearms Instructor using the directory (with hyperlink above) to set up a LEOSA qualification outside of WSCJTC. Please note, public ranges are starting to require ballistic vests, so verifying equipment requirements with the instructor is the responsibility of the individual.
Uniform stores carry ballistic vests and those include, but are not limited to: LEEDS, Blumenthal’s, Bud’s Police Supply, San Diego Police Supply, etc. WSCJTC does not endorse one specific supplier. That is the responsibility of the individual.
If you qualify at the WSCJTC, the cost is $100 for new applicants and $50 for renewals. If you select a non-WSCJTC Burien campus location the fee is $50 for new applicants and $25 for renewals. You must prepay for your LEOSA qualification, send in your fee with your application. Cash, Check or Money Orders are accepted. If you pay by check, please make checks payable to the WSCJTC. Please Do not bring your fee with you when you qualify, it cannot be accepted and you will not be allowed to participate.
Applications and Forms:
Select which LEOSA Application format you would like to use:
LEOSA Application PDF format.pdf (Application Information Sheet is included) OR
LEOSA Application PDF Fill In format.pdf (Application Information Sheet is included) OR
LEOSA Application Microsoft Word format.doc & WSCJTC LEOSA Application Information Sheet.pdf
(Applications revised 6/7/17) The address to send it to is on the form. Make sure you send in your fee with the application.
LEOSA Range Qualification Test Sheet Bring this form with you to the range.
Former Employer Letter Template Use this letter template only if you do not have an agency ID or credential from your former agency. This document is only intended as an example; your former agency may already have a designated letter for this purpose.
LEOSA Concealed Carry Qualification (Schedule of Dates Available), Course #5035
Frequently Asked Questions:
All of your questions can be answered on our LEOSA Frequently Asked Questions page.
If you still cannot find what you are looking for, feel free to email us at