Sudden Unexpected Infant Death Investigations (SUIDI), Course #6007

Course Description:

“Sudden and Unexplained Infant Death Scene Investigations" is a three day course for WA State law enforcement investigators, coroners and medical examiners who are responsible for investigating child fatality cases.  The goal of the course is to help investigators become proficient in investigating sudden and unexplained infant death & serious injury scenes and will include learning how to use dolls for reconstruction photos and suspect demonstrations.   Captain Clay Jansson of the Oakland County Sheriff’s Office in Pontiac, Michigan (ret.) and Major Connie Shingledecker of the Manatee County Sheriff's Office in Florida will be two of the featured instructors.  Attendees will receive:

  • An "Investigator's Kit" for child fatality investigations (value over $150) that includes a high-quality patrol bag with special dolls that can be used for reconstruction photos as well as for re-enactments with suspects;
  • The CDC’s Sudden Unexplained Infant Death Investigation (SUIDI) form; and
  • WA State's "CPOD Guidelines for First Responders to Child Fatalities and Serious Physical Injuries"

*** Accepting all WA State law enforcement investigators on a 1st come, 1st serve basis.

*** Death Investigators from Coroner's and Medical Examiner's offices are encouraged to also register.

Prerequisite:   None

Dress Code & Identification:

  • Visitors attending training at WSCJTC are encouraged to wear their agency logo shirt/uniform or agency ID badge while on campus.  If you are not wearing agency identification, you will be asked to check in at the front desk and will be provided with a clip-on visitor's identification card.

Cost: $100

Cancellation/No Show:

  • Deadline: If, for any reason, it becomes necessary to cancel the application, you must notify the Registrar via email This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it 7 Days prior to class.
  • Fee: $100 or course fee, whichever is greater.


  • 3 day course
  • 08:30 am-05:00 pm
  • Dates and locations listed below

***Is this class full or not available???? Please complete the Course Interest Survey. Please Note: This is not a waiting list.  You will not be contacted by WSCJTC unless there is enough interest to generate a class being scheduled.  At that time we will contact everyone that has shown interest so that applications can be submitted.

Application Form:




Course, Program or Policy Questions:

Patricia Toth | This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it



Phone: 206.369.0174

Revised Sep 2016

Session Start & End Date Location Status/Cost/Downloads
6007-1 April 10 -12, 2018 WSCJTC
19010 1st Ave. S,
Burien WA 98148
Open  / $100