Add WSCJTC to your favorites

Main Directory


A | A
Print

Applicants must meet the standards established by the Washington State Criminal Justice Training Commission’s Basic Law Enforcement Academy for Covert Carry / Off Duty Proficiency.


Washington State LEOSA Frequently Asked Questions

Required Items you must bring:

  • Handgun(s)
  • Belt or Paddle Holster (Shoulder holsters are NOT allowed)
  • Ammunition (Qualification course requires 25 rounds)
  • Eye and Hearing Protection (You must provide your own)
  • Protective bullet-proof vest (Per WSCJTC policy you must wear a protective vest while on the range. We no longer have loaner vests for you to use. Used vests can be purchased at uniform stores like LEED's, Blumenthal's, Bud's Police Supply, San Diego Police Supply, etc. (The WSCJTC does not endorse one specific supplier). If you are unable to bring a vest you can contact a PS Certified Firearms Instructor and set up a LEOSA qualification outside of the WSCJTC campus at a public range. Please note that many public ranges are starting to require ballistic vests so verify with the instructor if a vest is required.

Also required:

  • You must send in an application and the required fee before you can be scheduled to use the range. If you show up to shoot without having first sent in your application and fee you will not be allowed to participate. If you did not send them in with your application, be sure to bring one passport photo for the ID card and a copy of your retired agency ID to the range.

Who can attend this class?

  • For the purpose of determining eligibility to participate in the WSCJTC’s Firearms Certification process, applicants must meet the requirements of a Qualified Retired Law Enforcement as defined by the Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA), USC 18 926(B) & 926(C)

Standard WSCJTC Dress Code and Identification:

  • Uniform, agency logo clothing or business casual attire is appropriate for attending a WSCJTC class.
  • Visible official ID is recommended (badges/agency IDs) while on campus.
  • Off Campus classes may have dress requirements in the student instructions.

Cost:

  • $100 - For anyone applying for LEOSA for the first time and qualifying at the WSCJTC Range. This must be paid in advance.
  • $50- For anyone Renewing their LEOSA Qualification at the WSCJTC range. This must be paid in advance.
  • Fees must be sent with your application before you will be scheduled to use the range. There are no refunds if the test is failed.
  • Check, Cash or Money Order payable to the Washington State Criminal Justice Training Commission. Fees must be paid in advance before you will be scheduled to use the range. The online payment system is currently offline.

Schedule:

  • Schedule: Check the class information below for exact dates and times
  • Times: 9 am to 11 am is typical but the times my vary depending on range availability
  • Dates: Varies, Check schedule below, dates are scheduled according to range availability

Standard WSCJTC Cancellation Policy:

  • Deadline: If, for any reason, it becomes necessary to cancel the application, you must notify the registrar via email This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it seven (7) days prior to class. You have the option of cancelling your application or moving it to another range date.


Retesting

Applications are given two attempts to achieve a passing score. Those failing to qualify may, after paying the fee again, try again at a future LEOSA Firearms Certification Qualification.

 

 

Forms

Select which LEOSA Application format you would like to use:


LEOSA Range Qualification Sheet

 

 


Course, Program or Policy Questions

Rachelle Wright, Program Manager

206-835-7346 This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it


Darcy Kirley, Program Assistant

206-835-7347

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

 

Session Session
Title
Start & End Date Location Status/Cost/Downloads
5035-3 Firearms LEOSA Concealed Carry Qualification September 02, 2017 WSCJTC - Range
19010 1st Avenue South
Burien WA 98148
Cancelled  / $100  

9 am to 11 am
5035-4 Firearms LEOSA Concealed Carry Qualification October 07, 2017 WSCJTC - Range
19010 1st Avenue South
Burien WA 98148
Open  / $100  

9 am to 11 am
5035-5 Firearms LEOSA Concealed Carry Qualification November 04, 2017 WSCJTC - Range
19010 1st Avenue South
Burien WA 98148
Open  / $100  

9 am to 11 am
5035-25 Firearms LEOSA Concealed Carry Qualification December 09, 2017 WSCJTC - Range
19010 1st Avenue South
Burien WA 98148
Open  / $100  

9 am to 11 am