Add WSCJTC to your favorites
A | A
Print

T1 and T2 Certification 

The Telecommunicator Program offers training for the voluntary Telecommunicator I: Basic Call Receiver (T1) Certification and Telecommunicator II: Basic Law and Fire Dispatcher (T2) Certification.


Both certifications are earned after passing each 40-hour T1 and T2 class with a score of 70% or higher. The certification is valid for 2 years and is renewable with 24 hours of continuing education every two years after the certificate is issued.

Renewing T1 and T2 Certification 

During the time the certificate is valid, the employee must receive a minimum of 24 hours of continuing education or in-service training. The type and level of training is determined by the agency.


Agencies are responsible for maintaining the training records of the certified employee. We maintain the right to audit the agency or employee training records to confirm compliance.


How to Renew T1 and T2 Certification 

To renew an employee’s certification, the agency signs and submits a renewal form by fax (206-835-7959) or by email to This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it . ALL forms (even emailed ones), must have a signature on them.


T1 and T2 Renewal Form (WORD)
T1 and T2 Renewal Form (PDF)
T1 and T2 Renewal Form (Edit WORD)


If you are submitting more than five (5) employees, feel free to fill out one form and attach a list of all of your renewing employees.

Expired T1 and T2 Certification Contact Us if your T1 and T2 certification is expired.

If you’ve met the training requirement for recertification or not, we can discuss your specific situation with you and help you move into compliance.

About Equivalency

Washington State provides equivalency testing for telecommunicators working at a recognized PSAP within the state. The decision to accept or deny equivalency is at the discretion of the communications center director (hiring authority), which accepts any liability.

Before equivalency testing can happen, the student must provide proof of passing a training course that is equivalent to our training. We accept the following criteria for equivalency training:


Training must be provided by (and/or):

  • Another state
  • Training vendor
  • College, university, trade or technical school
  • WA state PSAP agency specific (in-house) academy

Training must include:

  • Designed specifically for public safety communications
  • Must be conducted in a class room setting
  • 40 hours of T1 (Basic Call Receiving) for T1 certification
  • 40 hours of T2 (Basic Law and Fire Dispatch) for T2 certification

In addition:

  • Training must be recent and successfully completed one year or less than the application for equivalency
  • Only telecommunicators hired at a Washington PSAP will be tested for T1 or T2 equivalency
  • This is NOT pre-employment testing or certification. We do not do pre-employment training or testing.
  • The Washington State Telecommunicator Program reserves the right to refuse the request for equivalency.


To Apply EquivalencyContact your training coordinator to fill out an equivalency application and to request a copy of the T1 and/or T2 curricula so it can be used to prepare for the test.  Once tested, we will grade the test and issue a certificate for each passing score.  A score of 70% or higher is required for passing the equivalency test.


Independent requests for equivalency are not accepted.  Anyone applying for equivalency must be employed at a Washington State PSAP and the application must come from the agency.

 

T1 or T2 Equivalency Application (WORD)
 

T1 or T2 Equivalency Application (PDF)
 

You can fax (206-835-7959) or email ( This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it )

 

If you are Washington State PSAP, looking to equivalency test after your in-house academy, please contact our office six (6) weeks in advance to schedule a proctor to come to your agency.   Once the test date is confirmed, all applications for equivalency must be in our office within one (1) week of scheduling.


Retesting

The retesting policy for a failed class varies from class to class.  Please check with on each class page for its specific retesting policy.

Cancelation and No Show PolicyAgencies are billed for any cancelation that is late or under the required amount of time for each class.  The required amount of time before a cancelation varies by class.  No Shows and cancelations are billed at the fees listed here and on each page.


Class:

Required Cancelation Date:

Fees:

In Addition:

T1, T2, T4 and Stress Management

Two (2) weeks before the start of class.

$125.00

Same fee for No Shows.

Communications Center Supervisor

Four (4) weeks before the start of class.

$200.00

Same fee for No Shows. May require the return of materials.

Communications Training Officer (CTO)

Three (3) weeks before the start of class.

$125.00

Same fee for No Shows.

Advanced CTO

Three (3) weeks before the start of class.

$125.00

Same fee for No Shows. May require the return of materials.

All other classes

Refer to the specific class page for details.

Refer to the specific class page for details.

Refer to the specific class page for details.

The Use of Our Curriculum

Our curricula is copyrighted. It reflects learning objectives taken from a statewide job task analysis and input from other professional public safety telecommunications personnel. Agencies that would like to use the existing curricula may make their request by emailing Cory Ahrens, Program Manager at