Add WSCJTC to your favorites

Main Directory

A | A
Basic Law Enforcement Academy
Basic Law Enforcement Academy Contact

Academies, Schedules, & Packets

What's New



The Legislature has continued the mandated 25%, plus ammunition, cost share for the Basic Law Enforcement Academy. Agencies will be billed post the first day of class and payment is expected prior to graduation. RCW 43.101.200

FY 2018 BLEA Cost Share


Who can attend the Academy?


Before you can become a police officer, you must complete 720 hours of basic law enforcement academy (BLEA) training within six months of hire to the law enforcement agency you are employing with. All academy recruits must be physically able to actively and fully participate in the defensive drills and other required physical activities in accordance with WAC 139-05-230. The WSCJTC requires you to pass a fitness ability test prior to entry into the academy.

Applicants should contact the agency they want to work for to inquire about minimum requirements; however, most law enforcement agencies require that you:
1. Be a U.S. Citizen.
2. Have a high school diploma or GED.
3. Have a valid Washington State driver’s license.

Keep in mind, we are a state government training facility, we do not employ police officers or sheriff’s deputies. You may want to contact individual law enforcement agencies in the area to request their entry-level requirements. Many agencies advertise openings on our Employment Page. If you have more questions, please view our frequently asked questions page available in PDF, download it now.

We are the only police academy in Washington State; however, there is a separate academy, in Shelton, conducted by the Washington State Patrol.

Division Information

Graduation dates are available by looking at the Academies, Schedules, & Packets section in the next column. Click on the academy name for more information.

Emergency Contact Numbers

Recruits should advise their families and departments how to reach them in the event of an emergency. Please have the caller identify the class, by name and session number that you are attending at the Criminal Justice Training Commission, 206.835.7299/7331. The facility is open 7:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday. During the hours of 5:00 p.m. through 7:00 a.m., and only in the event of an actual emergency, call the King County Sheriff’s Office at 206.344.4080 (an emergency number) advising them whom the caller wishes to contact and the message the caller wishes to leave.

About the Basic Academy


The 720 hour Basic Academy curriculum is designed to provide recruit officers with the basic knowledge and skills necessary for safe, proper, and effective law enforcement service.  Instructional blocks include: Criminal Law and Procedures; Traffic Enforcement; Cultural Awareness; Communication Skills; Emergency Vehicle Operations Course; Firearms; Crisis Intervention; Patrol Procedures; Criminal Investigation; and Defensive Tactics. 
Applicant Registration Information


The Criminal Justice Training Commission Basic Law Enforcement Academy
will not accept Jane Doe or John Doe applications. In order to be processed, the applicants background, psychological, and polygraph must be completed and a conditional offer of employment must have been made. Applications must be received prior to, not on, the posted selection date.

The application will be reviewed on the selection date and the criteria used for class selection will include the following:Mandated/Non-mandated agency status.

    1. Officers or deputies nearing the six-month requirement.

    2. Date of application.

    3. Size of sponsoring agency.

    4. Statements of agency need or hardship.