
Washington State Criminal Justice Training Commission 
Child Abuse Investigation and Interviewing (5357-6) 

November 14-18, 2011 

Spokane, WA 
STUDENT INSTRUCTIONS 

 

Arrival: 

 

You are requested to report on Monday,  November 14, 2011 to Spokane County Sheriff’s Office 

Training Center, 10319 Appleway Blvd., Spokane, WA. 99206. Class hours are 0815-1700, Mon. 

through Thurs. and 0815-1600 on Friday. 
 

Travel/Meals 

& Lodging: 

Travel, meals and lodging costs and arrangements are the responsibility of the attendee or his/her 

agency.  There will not be any food provided during the training and only one hour will be allowed 

for lunch each day, so please plan accordingly. 
 

Costs: There will be no instructional cost for specialized child interviewers, law enforcement, and 

prosecution attendees (unless you fail to attend and have not cancelled ahead of time).  
 

Attire: Business Casual attire is appropriate for classroom wear. Please no jeans, t-shirts, shorts, 

sweatshirts, or tennis shoes. 

Note-Taking: Note-taking items such as notebook paper, pens, and pencils, will not be made available at the 

training site, and are the responsibility of each attendee. 
 

Smoking: Smoking is permitted only in designated areas outside the building. 
 

Telephone: You should advise your family and agency of how to reach you in the event of an emergency.  Please 

have caller identify the class, Child Abuse Investigation & Interviewing. 

 

EMERGENCY ONLY: (Laura Merchant): 206-744-1637  or  (Patti Toth): 206-369-0174 

 

They will not take personal messages of a non-emergent nature. 
 

Firearms: Firearms will not be used in this course. 
 

Classroom 

Hours, and 

Attendance: 

8:15 am to 5 pm, Monday through Thursday, and 8:15 am to 4:00 pm on Friday. Please arrive early on 

Monday to sign in and receive class materials. Certificates of completion will be awarded for a total 

of 40 hours of training credit to those who successfully complete the class in its entirety. Instructors 

must pre-approve any time out of class.  
 

Cancellation 

Guidelines: 

If for any reason it becomes necessary to cancel this application, please advise by email at 

registrar@cjtc.state.wa.us no later than November 7, 2011 to avoid late cancellation fees. Your 

agency will be billed $50.00 for late cancellation or failure to attend without proper cancellation 

notification. No exception will be made. 
 

Responsibility 

for Injuries: 

Although instructors will at all times maintain a high degree of care for the safety of all persons 

attending the course, it must, be understood that neither the Washington State Criminal Justice 

Training Commission, nor any of the cooperating agencies can or will assume financial responsibility 

for injuries or illness suffered as a result of any training received, nor can or will be responsible for 

any loss to students as a result of damage to their property through fire, theft or other causes.  Each 

attendee must understand that this training is at the attendee's own risk. 
 

mailto:registrar@cjtc.state.wa.us


Class 

Description &  

Special  

Instructions 

This is a 5 day multidisciplinary course focused on improving investigative skills in child sexual 

abuse cases, with emphasis on the investigative interview with the child. It is designed to meet the 

training required by RCW 43.101.224.  

 

All students are expected to complete the pre-class reading assignments which can be 

downloaded from the class description at the CJTC website-there will be a quiz at the beginning 

of the class on Monday morning related to this information. 

 

All students will conduct 2 practice interviews with actors playing the roles of children in suspected 

abuse situations. 

 

A written closed-book essay test will take place at the end of Day 4. 

 

A separate criminal justice track on Day 5 addresses other aspects of the investigation in addition to 

the child interview.  (Additional information is available at www.cjtc.state.wa.us.)   

 


